We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Superb hotel, great staff and fantastic spa facilities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lime Wood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lime Wood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Superb hotel, great staff and fantastic spa facilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

My girlfriend treated me to a night here for my birthday. The whole experience was nothing short of superb.

Where do I start!

The staff were first rate, well presented, polite and efficient.

The room we stayed in (called 'Generous Room' in the main house) was large, spacious and had beautiful views over the countryside.

The room had a massive standalone bath that filled up really quickly from excellent water pressure. We also had a large and spacious shower room, serviced by a massive ceiling mounted head that gave a shower few would get at home. This was the norm in the spa too.

The bed was massive and you could sink into the thick soft quilt that lay over it. Our room had the most wonderful subtle scent, often the case in spa hotels, but non the less a very nice addition to the experience of the room.

Nice touches to the room were iPod / iPhone speakers including a mini iPod, a safe, mini bar (including snacks) and satellite TV. The room also had a good free wifi signal which was useful as mobile phone reception in the New Forest is limited, at best.

We had excellent food in the Scullery restaurant complemented by an excellent wine menu.

The bar area was exceptionally comfortable, cosy, relaxing and clean, complemented by a very good barman.

The Herb House Spa. Well, if you like spa facilities (like we do) then you'll love Lime Wood. A huge indoor hydro pool that has many different jet / jacuzzi features that can be turned on or off as you need them. The water temperature of the hydro pool I'm guessing was about 32-34C - a very comfortable warm temperature. The hydro pool looks out to the forest. The sauna was large, spacious and kept at 90C. Perfect :-) A large window from the sauna also looked out to the forest.

We had a massage in the couples private treatment room. The deep tissue massage was one of the best I've had. My girlfriend loved her treatment too. After the massage and in the same room we relaxed in a private hot bath that overlooked the forest.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we're already looking at dates later in Spring to return. If you like spa hotels then I think you'll love Lime Wood.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonDavid123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    206
    111
    50
    27
See reviews for
203
634
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aston-le-Walls, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

I booked this for my anniversary as a treat for both of us!

We booked Pavilion 1, which is a standalone 2 floor building overlooking the main building and the woods. It was stunning. 2 floors to ourselves, with a the most amazing bedroom with roll top bath and fire with en suite bathroom.

Everything here has been decorated and designed extremely well. They really have considered their guests and you have an ipad and ipod, as well as Free View on both TV's. The shower was very powerful and bathroom fittings top quality.

The four poster bed was very comfortable looking straight into the woods and directly at the roll-top bath. Under floor heating throughout, makes for a cosy stay with the fires as well. Our pavilion also had 2 bunk beds downstairs if you had kids. We were very secluded from everyone else and that meant we had one of the most relaxing breaks ever.

The Spa is a huge bonus to the hotel and was top quality. There are a few hours of the day when kids can use the pool and for those without it is best to avoid those times. The hydro pool is immense and I have never been been to one with that many different pumps to soothe away the stresses. There is of course a steam and sauna room as well as heated marble seats in the hydro area, as well as loungers around the pool.

They have an outdoor pool which once you have braved the walk outside is very relaxing in the cold. The gym is very well equipped with all the top technology to make it as pleasant as it could be. Free water everywhere throughout the hotel and spa is a nice touch. Raw and Cured the onsite bar / cafe at the spa is just what you need. Delicious shakes and smoothies and a mixture of light lunches and snacks, mainly home produced. All good value.

We had the ultimate treatment, which lasted about 3 hours and involved the mud bath and a 90 minute massage each. We were very well looked after and felt blissful afterwards.

Like their sister restaurant The Pig, so much of the food is home grown or locally sourced. The smokery is a huge benefit and I don't think I have ever had smoke salmon like it.

There are 2 dining rooms, being The Scullery and The Dining Room. The former has some classics of toad in the hole, macaroni cheese etc.. mixed with other good staples. The dining room has 3 choices, being the tasting menu, sharing menu for two or a la carte. The food was good, but not as high class as the service and ambience / spa. The breakfast is a feast though of smoked meats, yoghurt's, breads and a mean full English.

The staff were amazing throughout. After day one everyone seemed to remember us and our names and made us feel very welcome and well looked after.

Set in the beautiful New Forest you have walks and bike rides on hand. Free wellies, bikes and maps make this very easy for you.

I would go back straight away.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbk76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Just spent two magic nights at Lime Wood and I can thoroughly recommend this impressive hotel if you want a really relaxing treat. The bedrooms are beautifully appointed, and the staff friendly and well trained. We ate in The Scullery which is relaxed, and the food was outstanding for both evenings and breakfasts. My husband used the pool and spa and was really impressed. We walked around the New Forest using complimentary Hunter Wellies and the peace and tranquillity was palpable.
Go on, treat yourselves, you won't regret the experience!!

Room Tip: All rooma are amazing. We stayed in The Eves and it was really impressive as the cheapist alternativ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampshirelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We visited Limewood during our stay at The Pig Hotel, Limewood's sister hotel down the road in Brockenhurst. We booked 2 day passes for The Herb House Spa for Sunday 29th January. We arrived at 1.30pm, the spa was very quiet - suspect most guests were at lunch. A young, friendly and helpful assistant met us and showed us around. Nothing was too much trouble and all the staff we encountered were a credit - going about their duties with attention to details and a smile. After changing in the luxurious changing rooms - huge sofas, large lockers, fluffy robes, slippers, water, monsoon like showers and even copper soaking tubs - we entered the spa. 3 pools to choose from - a lap pool surrounded by comfy loungers, a hydrotherapy pool with a variety of hydro experiences and an outdoor pool, which was so warm we almost forgot it was January! All areas of the spa were spotlessly clean. Plenty of treatment rooms, a hand and foot room, mud room and 2 dimly lit quiet rooms with beds which were perfect for just relaxing. This spa really is at the top of it's game - spacious steam room and a huge light sauna with a stunning picture window which makes you feel you are sat in the heart of the forest. We had lunch in the Raw bar - 2 grazing platters with local cheese, home cured ham, dips, raw & dried vegetables with flat breads. English wines, blended juices using fresh ingredients and herbal teas - perfect for the feel good factor and health gurus. On the roof is a herb garden - although too cold in January, this would be a heavenly place to sit in better weather. After a very relaxing day we headed back to the car park via the spa shop - all thier spa products are for sale, we opted for a Daylesford candle as a thank you to Grandma who was at home looking after the children! We hope to revisit Herb House very soon, next time we might even stay at Limewood.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Beautiful rooms, stunning grounds - I could not think of a better way to spend a weekend than walking around the gardens, eating a delightful breakfast, reclining in a magnificent bath and curling up in a bed that gave me one of the best nights sleep I've ever had. Truly, a stunning experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaddyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Lime Wood: relaxation, recuperation, service, spa, comfortable and cosy. Limewood is Chewton Glen without the formality.
This was our second visit and we were welcomed with an upgrade to the best suite in the hotel.
As always, the staff were fantastic - warm and relaxed, with the right level of attentiveness vs. privacy.
The Head Barman of Max's Bar is fantastic - all energy and focus! - coupled with the opulence and relaxation of the spa this is THE place to come and unwind.
Luxurious furnishings, open log fires, thoughtful spa staff and the healthy Herb House menu cannot fail to disappoint.
Running maps, wellies, walks and cycle routes add to the thoughtful plans of the hotel.
Would we go back for a third visit? We're planning already....

Room Tip: Choose a Forest suite for an open log fire or hideaway in the main house for a mezzanine bedroom wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PandEKew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Our good friends had their wedding reception at Lime Wood. This entailed a large number of us being there from Lunch time on Sunday, until Lunch time on Tuesday the day after the wedding. We had a large party size and several activities taking place in preparation for the big day. The staff were very welcoming and helped with whatever they could.
During the day, the service was great and the food (for mass catering) was fantastic. The rooms were comfortable and well styled. Its really is the little touches that give Lime Wood the homely feel. The spa facilities were excellent and everything you would expect from a 5* hotel.
As a Wedding reception venue, it was wonderful. With exclusive use, everyone in the party felt comfortable and the staff gave excellent service. It really felt like a home from home with plenty of room.
If you're lucky enough to have the opportunity to go the Lime Wood, i would well recommend it - Even if you have to save up for a while!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lm1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
9.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.2 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Pig
The Pig
#6 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Wood Hotel

Property: Lime Wood Hotel
Address: Beaulieu Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7FZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lime Wood Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lime Wood, a boutique country house hotel in England, is set in the heart of the New Forest National Park, 1.5 miles from the small town of Lyndhurst and just an hour and a half drive from London. We like to think of ourselves as a luxury country house hotel with a difference. We've used Lime Wood's classical structure as the basis of our design but we've lovingly renovated it with a fresh approach, reviving its architecture and grounds. We've kept the spirit of its past, taken inspiration from its extraordinarily beautiful surroundings and added the odd contemporary twist to bring it to life. The food is by Luke Holder and Angela Hartnett. With its proximity to London, our New Forest boutique hotel really is the ultimate countryside getaway; perfect for weekend breaks, a dash from the city, or an escape from home; whatever your motivations, we can't wait to show you around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Lime Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lime Wood Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing