We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Sunday Lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lime Wood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lime Wood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

Wonderful Sunday lunch in a glorious country house hotel in the New Forest. If your party is 4 or more they will do an individual roast for your table - brought out on a big serving board and carved at the table. We had stunning roast pork and crackling with all the trimmings. The Scullery is a more informal dining room - perfect for our group with a beautiful atmosphere (there is a more formal dining room which would be better for a romantic dinner). Service was fantastic - we just wished we were staying there! We didn't go heavy on the wine as most of us were driving, but the bill was very reasonable considering the quality of the lunch - the roast is £17 per head.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    214
    114
    51
    28
See reviews for
213
658
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

We decided on the Lime Wood as we were looking to have a relaxing spa and "food" break all in the one stop. I must say the Lime wood totally delivered.

We have just got married last Thursday and we are not going on Honeymoon until the new year so this was to be our celebratory night away.

We arrived at 3pm and check-in was not until 4pm, which we were aware of, so we made use to the Herb Spa. Lovely spa with plenty of towels. Robes and flip-flops available. All areas were very clean, well maintained and beautifuly decorated.

On check- in we were offered a little tour of the areas so we knew where to head for dinner, breakfast etc. Our room had been upgraded to a "Generous" room and very generous it was too! Again very clean, a lovely sumptious bed in the middle of the room with a bath tub also in the middle of the room. Huge windows looking over the beautiful grounds. There is nothing about the room you can fault.

When requesting an iron this came within minutes.Which is big plus i can't bear waiting for items like this.

In our room we had been left a fruit platter and half bottle of chilled champers to help celebrate our "Anniversary" so although wrong celebration ...special touch. The card was also written and personally signed by Kenneth the Hotel Manager.

We had a drink at the bar before dinner, we were introduced to the Restaurant manager, Daniel. Professional manner but not as "warm" as other staff.

The menu was very seasonal, offering Game, Goose, Partridge to name a few. All courses, i have to admit, were delicious and not at all average. I enjoyed every bite and so did my husband. Mattias served us our wine and offered us a choice on dessert wine to complement our choice of sweets.

The wine menu is very heavily French and does not offer any New World wines.

This hotel offers plenty of different seating areas all over the ground floor, a well stocked boot room (Hunter wellies in every colour, shape, and size) a well stocked library and some board games.

Breakfast was good too, although, not as impressive as dinner. The poached eggs were a little underdone and too much hollaindaise on the Eggs Benedict. But my husband thought the full English was among the best he has ever had, and the cold meat selection tasted superb. And I believe this was smoked on site.

My only critic to offer the hotel was the Staff do not wear name badges and do not offer their name unless asked so makes it a little impersonal. Also at check-in as the staff do not wear a traditional uniform you are sometimes a little unsure of who is a house guest and who is staff.

They do know your name but rarely use it which is just a little touch I think is missing.

The hotel is by no means cheap but I do believe you get what you pay for here.

Some of the staff are young but mostly very enthusiastic so i guess if were being picky you could say they lacked finesse. I found the staff very eager to help and nothing was too much trouble.

All in all we were very impressed and we will back...just as soon as we can get a babysitter again ;0)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELBUNNY12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

A very nice spot for a chill out few days. Excellent spa and 2 good restaurants on site. Pleasant staff who at times felt a little inexperianced. Only let down was the fact our room was outside the main hotel and whilst this adds too privacy on a cold day/night it was a little unpleasant walking back and forward to the spa and hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

Visiting Limewood for a birthday celebration afternoon tea,I had requested a side lounge room as opposed to the atrium conservatory and it was just right!Squidgy sofas,log fire,a very cosy and cossetting experience.All staff were very attentive but unobtrusive,it was a truly faultless afternoon.Homemade (and the best ever) scones,superb strawberry preserve (again made by Limewood kitchens)dainty selection of sandwiches and the patisserie served alongside were up with the very best from The Ritz,Dorchester etc.Needless to say our guests were suitably impressed with the whole experience and another visit is imminent!

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank samanthahollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

I really liked this hotel. It is a great choice for a few days of sybaritic relaxation in a beautiful bit of English countryside. It has an informal atmosphere (reception staff in jeans) and the team have successfully managed to make it feel more like a country house than a hotel. The bedrooms are extremely comfortable and the spa is outstanding - it would not be out of place in a top end Asian resort hotel. There are great walks around there in the New Forest and lots of other outdoor activities. The food in the scullery was particularly good and in our view rather better than the restaurant (which had steeper prices but less good service and a rather hushed atmosphere). Try it - its lots of fun.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Can't fault this spectacular hotel. Service is very polite and personal. The food for breakfast, in the scullery and the main Dining Room is all very very good ( in particular the Scullery was good value for what we got). The rooms are quite small but very smart and bathrooms are excellent. The spa is very very impressive, excellent pools.
Only downside to the whole thing was a very below average massage at the spa for 80+ GBP.
Would definitely recommend this place, a fantastic luxury break.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank APSLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

It's so refreshing to find a luxury, boutique hotel that has perfected its personality and knows exactly who it is and what it's trying to achieve. Think Claridges service, food and refined luxury meet country house chic and comforts - and what a great location in the middle of the new forest! We've stayed at so many country house hotels that haven't quite got it right. Either too try hard on the design/contemporary feel or too stuffy/old with miserable staff - Lime Wood definitely has the right balance and it shows, from the room and hotel design (especially furniture) to the right artwork and decor, ambient music and service. It all feels effortless, which really allows you to relax and enjoy being looked after. Unlike some of the reviews we were impressed by the levels of service. For a change its great to see English staff (well-dressed) who seemed genuinely passionate and delighted to look after you - we've travelled a lot and this is easily a match to SE Asia hotel service levels. We're already planning our return with friends for another relaxing pampering and feed at the kitchen table. Oh and a word of warning, they have an exceptional wine list - just ensure you don't get too carried away with it!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyWithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
9.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
2.5 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Wood Hotel

Property: Lime Wood Hotel
Address: Beaulieu Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7FZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lime Wood Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lime Wood, a boutique country house hotel in England, is set in the heart of the New Forest National Park, 1.5 miles from the small town of Lyndhurst and just an hour and a half drive from London. We like to think of ourselves as a luxury country house hotel with a difference. We've used Lime Wood's classical structure as the basis of our design but we've lovingly renovated it with a fresh approach, reviving its architecture and grounds. We've kept the spirit of its past, taken inspiration from its extraordinarily beautiful surroundings and added the odd contemporary twist to bring it to life. The food is by Luke Holder and Angela Hartnett. With its proximity to London, our New Forest boutique hotel really is the ultimate countryside getaway; perfect for weekend breaks, a dash from the city, or an escape from home; whatever your motivations, we can't wait to show you around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Lime Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lime Wood Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing