We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Lime Wood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lime Wood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
dorset
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This was our fourth visit, a two night break to de stress , we had room 3 lovely, the spa was perfect, breakfast perfect, staff delightful polite , the restaurant , amazing, we were pleasantly surprised, it's not publicised but it has just won best new restaurant and best chef this year , it's very unique. Don't just go for dinner , stay get the whole package , it is not cheap at all . We have never been disappointed . Despite numerous famous faces everyone is treated the same . Barney knows every ingredient in every dish ! We will recommend . We have also stayed in pavilion rooms and room 3 , all lush. We ate in raw and cured , bit too healthy for me but very nice. The beds are very comfy. We cannot find one fault.

Room Tip: Room 6 or 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somelikeithotDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    220
    116
    53
    28
See reviews for
222
678
14
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Just had two nights at Limewood - my third visit and loved it just as much as the first time. Our room was on the edge of the forest and it was very quiet. The staff are so friendly and helpful, especially the bar staff in the bar and restaurant. The Spa is wonderful, the hydrotherapy pool a real treat. We had lunch at the Herb cafe in the Spa and it was lovely. The bed and pillows were so comfortable we wanted to ask where we could buy similar pillows. The restaurant was very good. Already want to go back.

Room Tip: Pavilion 3 is gorgeous. Lovely fire for winter evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We booked over the phone for a weekend break. We thought breakfast was included in the rate quoted. Turns out it wasn't. Not including breakfast is a bit ridiculous for a country hotel. Especially one that's charging £500+ per night. Seems to reflect an intention to "milk" guests for as much cash as possible. Approach to pricing rooms/breakfast also reflected in other areas. Coffee to your room in the morning seems a nice gesture. Less so when it appears on your bill as £4+ per cup. Reviews on here are pretty consistent in marking Lime Wood down for value. I think they're right. Similar quality and better value to be had elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Partick1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Lime Wood comes with a sizeabe and enviable reputation for delivering top-notch London cuisine and luxury accomodation 'out-of-town' but with a far more relaxed, less pretentious vibe and all the advantages of some idyllic, unspoilt countryside.

The countryside, spa facilities and friendly but super-efficient staff cannot be faulted. Neither can the rooms which are spacious, decorated with immaculate taste and mix all the mod-cons you might need but with a traditional country house ambience. That's a sophisticated and tricky balancing act and Lime Wood delivers this with some aplomb.

We particularly liked the main bar area which is situated in the middle of the hotel and acts as a focal point for the whole hotel. There's a great selection of drinks, managed by bar staff who are attentive and are just itching to show you what a good cocktail is really about, and a clever mix of seating that allows you to pose or just chill out with a paper and Gin and Tonic.

The only downside to our stay was that the food did not scale the heights we has been promised it would. Let me be clear - everything was fresh and beautifully presented - but the portion sizes even had the non-rugby players amongst us complaining about the amount of food on the plate. Fine dining does not mean heaping the plate with food and just seeking a full belly; but some of the starters looked borderline mean and had everyone reaching for the bread.

The big disappointment was the last night.

The main courses arrived well before the accompanying side dishes. After a polite wait, people simply ate thier meal whilst it was still hot and then picked at the lovely green beans, beautiful potatoes and roasted tomatoes much later on and pretty much as an unxepected third course.

It may seem harsh but I eat at hum-drum pubs which can deliver the entire meal - even if it steak, chips and peas - at the same time. The long delay was not explained by the waiting team and they did not blink an eyelid when all the vegetables were returned largely untouched.

As a biggish, business party I expect we might have presented a challenge to the restaurant but the general impression was that the portions were mean and that it was poor form for a restaurant of this calibre to be unable to produce a single course in a timely manner.

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is an impressive hotel with a grand country feel and friendly staff too.
The restaurant was nice, the steak fabulous and a good local menu with Venison in season.
The rooms and bed luxurious.

The only downfall was the noise from the nearby high street.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I was lucky enough to spend five days here, the first three taking part in the Sumptuous Boot Camp (ladies only) and then two extra days. I would thoroughly recommend the boot camp for those who want to kick start or gear up a fitness regime. The personal trainers were excellent, well informed, willing to go the extra mile and very encouraging. The Spa is fantastic,especially the garden where I had a pilates lesson. The food in Hartnett Holder is first class and the chefs slightly altered their recipes to suit me (less salt and no shellfish) and the service equally good. There were one or two minor niggles in the week but these were soon sorted out. I stayed in a Forest Suite - to be honest I have had better accommodation cheaper and palatial accommodation for not much more but everything else about Lime Wood more than made up for this.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gizmo081964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Probably one of the finest hotels I have been to. I have stayed the night and been for dinner and lunch, all three times being as good as the previous!
I stayed in one of the pavilions, the vaulted ceilings were truly amazing, it felt so roomy!
The food in top notch, lunch and dinner.
The only thing I could complain about was the rather laid back service, which some of my colleagues said was slow...I rather like the laid back approach!
Don't forget to visit the spa, I shan't spoil it by telling you about it...just don't miss it!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiewindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
9.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
2.5 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
5.9 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Wood Hotel

Property: Lime Wood Hotel
Address: Beaulieu Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7FZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lime Wood Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lime Wood, a boutique country house hotel in England, is set in the heart of the New Forest National Park, 1.5 miles from the small town of Lyndhurst and just an hour and a half drive from London. We like to think of ourselves as a luxury country house hotel with a difference. We've used Lime Wood's classical structure as the basis of our design but we've lovingly renovated it with a fresh approach, reviving its architecture and grounds. We've kept the spirit of its past, taken inspiration from its extraordinarily beautiful surroundings and added the odd contemporary twist to bring it to life. The food is by Luke Holder and Angela Hartnett. With its proximity to London, our New Forest boutique hotel really is the ultimate countryside getaway; perfect for weekend breaks, a dash from the city, or an escape from home; whatever your motivations, we can't wait to show you around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS so you can book your Lime Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lime Wood Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing