We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lime Wood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lime Wood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Very friendly and helpful service in the restaurant. Smart interior. Staff extremely helpful. Beautifully presented food and good wine selection. Very much enjoyed the house smoked meats and fish. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KevandLette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    216
    114
    53
    28
See reviews for
217
669
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Was only here to have lunch and drive cars...Yes it was tough....

The buffet lunch we had was one of the best Ive had. The staff were very friendly and courteous.

Nearly got into gin tasting session when I moaned about paying a heavy price in London recently for a G and T..

Very classy and understated. Having tried the food, we will be back for a proper meal...(with or without the Porsche).oh and there is also a fantastic farm butcher in the next drive down!!

But having had such a great buffet lunch we wil be back again soon for the real thing.

Room Tip: Go there - for a drink - or lunch - or whatever - its lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelaround71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoney Stanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Location stunning, gym, spa, dining and rooms fab.
There is a roof top herb garden an absolute stunning location set between the roof line of the main accommodation and the spa building and the bar area.
We experienced the restaurant on the first night which was great but on the second night we had booked the chefs table in the kitchen I can't praise the experience enough, best to experience it for yourself than for me to spoil the surprise you have . It's a must do but remember you are in a working kitchen and it is very heated at times but for me unmissable .

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

A lovely hotel, staff very pleasant and I would definitely go back. Spa was fantastic especially a therapist called Sophie who was just sensational. She was utterly amazing and worth going back just to see her! I had quite a few treatments and all were extremely good. Restaurant food was good but service a touch too quick I had my meal 2/3 courses all in an hour!! Spa restaurant food was also very good. So all in all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Spent 2 nights here and was blown away by some aspects and left wanting in other ways. The room we had was superb. Lovely 4 poster bed with quality bed linen, roll top bath etc etc. Just what you would expect from this type of boutique hotel. The front of house staff seemed a little inexperienced and young, but handled checking in and out well. It was difficult to know the hierarchy of staff.

The restaurant staff were great and the food was first class. We ate both nights, once in the courtyard (slightly uncomfortable easting whilst sitting on a sofa) and once in the main restaurant. Almost identical menu in each but no a problem for me as i could have eaten anything, and anything I did eat was really superb. Food and wine are really very good here.

The spa was the big let down for me. Although possibly the best spa I have ever been to for quality, cleanliness and facilities, it was just not relaxing due to several children, including babies, in the pool and spa areas. No chance to lie by the pool soaking up the sunday papers, because it sounded more like a public pool. I have children of my own but just wouldn't bring them to a hotel like this. It is supposed to be a real getaway and personally, perhaps controversially, I think it is real shame they allow children and babies in the spa and the restaurants.

Overall a very relaxing weekend. The hotel felt full and was very busy, and this took the 'exclusivity' feel of it away. Having said that, I will definitely be back to sample the food, rooms and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Pavillion 2 was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

First I must say that Lime Wood is everything it says on the label - a really first class country house hotel of the modern genre with an excellent hydrospa with accommodation and food of the highest order.
However the real point of this review is to report that I experienced an accident at poolside which necessitated a trip to the A and E dept of the local hospital. The Spa management could not have handled the incident more professionally and I owe a debt of thanks to them. It is at times like this
that class shines through.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stonehenge123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Had Lunch on the terrace - simple table d'hote menu but excellent quality the lemon tart was especially good. Good ambiance and good value we plan to go back for a dinner in the restaurant for my wife's birthday.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
9.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.5 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
5.9 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Wood Hotel

Property: Lime Wood Hotel
Address: Beaulieu Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7FZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lime Wood Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lime Wood, a boutique country house hotel in England, is set in the heart of the New Forest National Park, 1.5 miles from the small town of Lyndhurst and just an hour and a half drive from London. We like to think of ourselves as a luxury country house hotel with a difference. We've used Lime Wood's classical structure as the basis of our design but we've lovingly renovated it with a fresh approach, reviving its architecture and grounds. We've kept the spirit of its past, taken inspiration from its extraordinarily beautiful surroundings and added the odd contemporary twist to bring it to life. The food is by Luke Holder and Angela Hartnett. With its proximity to London, our New Forest boutique hotel really is the ultimate countryside getaway; perfect for weekend breaks, a dash from the city, or an escape from home; whatever your motivations, we can't wait to show you around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Lime Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lime Wood Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing