We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading and not worth the money”
Review of Lime Wood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lime Wood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Misleading and not worth the money”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I booked Limewood over the phone the same day that we were due to arrive as a last minute to finish off a luxurious weekend away with my husband but found it lacked in several areas.
Our room was in the eaves and was small and hot, the thermostat won't go lower than 17 so we slept with the windows open, although it is very difficult to get to the window as there is furniture in front of it and the room is not big enough to accommodate the numerous mismatched pieces, there was also a huge old stain on the carpet as you entered the bathroom. I found it difficult to get ready for dinner as there was no dressing table as such, the funny little heat stained piece blocking the window had no space for personal possessions but they may have thought it would suffice, there is no tea and coffee in the room you have to order it to be brought to you in the morning or they will bring you a tray but to me this is a bother having staff disturbing you when it could simply just be already in the room.
Dinner..............hmmmm a bit pretentious and pricey and presentation was appaulling for a restaurant of this standard plus service is added to your bill, 12.5% whether you liked it or not!
The most misleading thing is upon opening our bedroom door in the morning, there on the floor was a newspaper we did not ask for and a bill. We scanned the bill and it seemed fine although I would have liked to do the tipping myself! and it thanked us for staying there etc, so we then went down to breakfast, we were given menus and saw prices on them but thought this must be for outside guests as we had already had the bill ready for checkout with no mention on it that if you partake in breakfast you will have to pay 2 days later on your credit card!!!
Upon checkout there was again no mention about breakfast, only asking if we had used the mini bar and as we were settling the bill you would have thought this would be a good time to broach the subject?
Limewood is the sort of place that you really want to enjoy and initially you make allowances for the small things but there is something there that you can't put your finger on that stops it from being as memorable or as personal as you arrived hoping it would be.

Room Tip: Don't book a room in the eaves
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jayne57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    822
    220
    116
    53
    28
See reviews for
222
677
14
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Lovely though smallish spa, nice hydrotherapy pool and the staff doing the treatment were very professional and friendly. Be warned though, the reception staff can be incredibly rude. Next time I'll be going to Chewton Glen.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sophdock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The facilities and treatments were great. I had a mother and daughter package with my Mum and we booked an extra facial. The whole place is gorgeous and was lovely and quiet.

The raw lunch was not really my thing but the service was good.

The only criticism is that the chairs we sat in for the pedicure were really uncomfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missmairw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Came here with my wife for a spa day recently, very welcoming staff who looked after us extremely well. This was a Friday afternoon and the spa was surprisingly quiet, seemed like there were only 6 other people there which made the whole experience even better. we both had treatments and spent the rest of the time relaxing by the indoor pool and in the outdoor hot tubs, all very relaxing.
Lunch was included and was taken in the adjacent raw and cured food bar, we picked a small selection of dishes that were very neatly presented, very tasty food in a lovely relaxing location.
When we left we were given some samples of products from the spa, a lovely day and reasonably priced too!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barney70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Very friendly and helpful service in the restaurant. Smart interior. Staff extremely helpful. Beautifully presented food and good wine selection. Very much enjoyed the house smoked meats and fish. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KevandLette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Was only here to have lunch and drive cars...Yes it was tough....

The buffet lunch we had was one of the best Ive had. The staff were very friendly and courteous.

Nearly got into gin tasting session when I moaned about paying a heavy price in London recently for a G and T..

Very classy and understated. Having tried the food, we will be back for a proper meal...(with or without the Porsche).oh and there is also a fantastic farm butcher in the next drive down!!

But having had such a great buffet lunch we wil be back again soon for the real thing.

Room Tip: Go there - for a drink - or lunch - or whatever - its lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelaround71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoney Stanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Location stunning, gym, spa, dining and rooms fab.
There is a roof top herb garden an absolute stunning location set between the roof line of the main accommodation and the spa building and the bar area.
We experienced the restaurant on the first night which was great but on the second night we had booked the chefs table in the kitchen I can't praise the experience enough, best to experience it for yourself than for me to spoil the surprise you have . It's a must do but remember you are in a working kitchen and it is very heated at times but for me unmissable .

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
9.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
2.5 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
5.9 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Wood Hotel

Property: Lime Wood Hotel
Address: Beaulieu Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7FZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lime Wood Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lime Wood, a boutique country house hotel in England, is set in the heart of the New Forest National Park, 1.5 miles from the small town of Lyndhurst and just an hour and a half drive from London. We like to think of ourselves as a luxury country house hotel with a difference. We've used Lime Wood's classical structure as the basis of our design but we've lovingly renovated it with a fresh approach, reviving its architecture and grounds. We've kept the spirit of its past, taken inspiration from its extraordinarily beautiful surroundings and added the odd contemporary twist to bring it to life. The food is by Luke Holder and Angela Hartnett. With its proximity to London, our New Forest boutique hotel really is the ultimate countryside getaway; perfect for weekend breaks, a dash from the city, or an escape from home; whatever your motivations, we can't wait to show you around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS so you can book your Lime Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lime Wood Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing