We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful lunch with impeccable service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lime Wood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lime Wood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch with impeccable service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

This was our third trip to the restaurant and as with our previous visits the level of care and service we received was second to none. The food was beautifully cooked and presented with perfectly sized portions which were full of flavour, we had the house wine which was well priced and great quality.

The dining room was full of life which gave a nice atmosphere.

The complimentary glass of champagne was most welcome, we will certainly come again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stainlesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    216
    114
    53
    28
See reviews for
217
669
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Booked a Forest Hideaway Suite for my wife's Birthday and had a very happy couple of days, enjoying the food, the Spa and amazing service
The room was immaculate with the best bathroom of any hotel we have visited.

Every member of staff we encountered was helpful and responsive

Loved the Restaurant

They made my wife's Birthday very special , and look forward to returning

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamb735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Annual lunch, thought we would try somewhere different. Stunning location. Heard great reviews. Staff friendly and attentive. Menu very disappointing. Nothing we really fancied, nothing festive. Ended up with risotto. Was ok but nothing special. Puddings were a real disappointment. Bland and lacked in presentation. Staff were apologetic and friendly but left feeling very cheated.... .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I'm not sure? We checked in last minute after aborting another hotel because it wasn't what we expected. We have stayed with this Group of Hotels before and have always been happy. We had lunch at Limewood before with 'House & Garden Magazine' which was very disappointing but we wanted to give it another go. With a very warm welcome we were shown to our room in the main house, very large and very nice, although it felt a little cold and unwelcoming. Beautiful bed and immaculately clean interior. We went to the Courtyard area, we couldn't dine in the restaurant as it was fully booked and were greeted by Limewood's biggest asset 'BARNABY' a wonderful friendly and professional member of staff. On first inspection of the menu Holder & Harnett we didn't know what to order, I have never inspected a menu which didn't inspire me. After help we ordered but I have to say we were disappointed, the food was sooo rich and kept repeating on us all night long, very strange combinations of flavours, we have eaten far and wide but weren't impressed. Coffee was delivered on the dot to the room the following morning and breakfast although expensive was okay, luke warm and the dining room was so hot we had to leave, everyone was complaining. We stayed 2 nights but overall it wasn't worth the money in my opinion. The food needs sorting out, it doesn't match the establishment, although the relaxed dress code was embraced. We also didn't sleep well, not sure why? Noise from the Christmas parties downstairs echoeing through the corridors. Being a florist I would also employ somebody that can do more impressive arrangements, the main courtyard arrangement was terrible and as it is the focal point of the room I am sure you can do better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NatraHeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Visited here on Sunday the 8th December for lunch the whole experience was ruined by terrible service.I ordered white wine had to ask on three separate occasions to be topped up,we sat with empty glasses for 10 mins. Why offer to keep the wine chilled away from the table if you do not give the service. We then waited 15 mins to be offered the dessert menu which never arrived till we asked to see it. A quite embarrassing experience all for £160 for two. Mr Antoniou.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank soula_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Business meal, wanted to impress but was left feeling a little embarrassed by the service and some of the dishes. We sat just gone 8, there did not seem to be many staff serving a large table and so orders took a while to be taken, starters arrived for all bar 3 people, it was an embarrassingly long wait for the last person to be served and there were no apologies, my food and others had were luke warm by this stage. main course arrived at 21.45 and again not all served at once so we waited to start. Then dessert and coffee, 3 people had to leave without dessert as the service was so slow their taxi had arrived, 23.30. Some said the food was excellent, others said it was not as good as they had had previously. I am returning in a couple of weeks with another crowd if business customers, I sure hope it will be better!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kayleigh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Visited for the second time for our Anniversary.
Even better this time than last. Accommodation and food were excellent. Breakfast terrific!
We had a "Cosy" room which was lovely with a luxurious and spacious bathroom.
Everyone wished us a happy Anniversary and a complimentary bottle of Champagne was awaiting our arrival.
The staff are charming and helpful.
Cannot praise it highly enough!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank connell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
9.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.5 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
5.9 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Wood Hotel

Property: Lime Wood Hotel
Address: Beaulieu Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7FZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lime Wood Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lime Wood, a boutique country house hotel in England, is set in the heart of the New Forest National Park, 1.5 miles from the small town of Lyndhurst and just an hour and a half drive from London. We like to think of ourselves as a luxury country house hotel with a difference. We've used Lime Wood's classical structure as the basis of our design but we've lovingly renovated it with a fresh approach, reviving its architecture and grounds. We've kept the spirit of its past, taken inspiration from its extraordinarily beautiful surroundings and added the odd contemporary twist to bring it to life. The food is by Luke Holder and Angela Hartnett. With its proximity to London, our New Forest boutique hotel really is the ultimate countryside getaway; perfect for weekend breaks, a dash from the city, or an escape from home; whatever your motivations, we can't wait to show you around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Lime Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lime Wood Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing