We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's divinely complex but needs some tweaking”
Review of Lime Wood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lime Wood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It's divinely complex but needs some tweaking”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

A mere 90 miles south of London and you're in the New Forrest of clear starry skies, fresh air, wild horses, giant California Redwoods nearby, and a fantastic spa, with hydropool, amazing gym, and spa cafe, and gorgeous views from every angle of every beautiful room, suite, pavillion, breakfast scullery, courtyard, library, dining room and patio. And the beds, the service...wow. So here's the test: what haven't I mentioned? The food. This is where I soon forget LIme Wood is part of the Relais & Chateau group of hotels. The menu tries too hard to be all things to all people who like to eat everything all at once. So say you like Italian food (I like Italian food) - do you want parmesan cheese or mozzarella or marscapone on everything? Does everything have to have cheese on it to try to be Italian? Or let's say you like fish and scallops. Do you want it to taste like vinegar? This is my first scathing food review on tripadvisor, and a wake up call to Hartnett and Holder: Please stop experimenting on the customers. Your food does not have to be clever or complimented. How about authentically delicious without gimmickery? Smoked and fermented has never been a way through to good digestion. Your gnocci with wild game ragout was pretty good as was your Milanese risotto. But the menu is an argument waiting for a simpler outcome among pastas, meat and fish: delicious. But as the hotel is so busy, so hard to get into, booked so far ahead in advance, you probably won't take any notice. Good luck to you.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlondeByChoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    226
    121
    55
    29
See reviews for
239
696
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Had a fabulous Christmas meal here one evening in December. A little tricky to find the place on a dark winter's evening but definitely worth the drive. The decor is lovely, staff and service relaxed, friendly and efficient. Food sublime! Can't wait to return...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetravelx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed here over Christmas with my husband for 3 nights. What a lovely place - we had the generous room with the bathtub in the middle. Pictures do not do this place justice, it is amazing. The rooms are lovely and the bar as well. The spa is particularly amazing, one of the best I have ever been to and much better than it looks on their website. Great indoor pool, plus outdoor plunge pool, sauna and steam room etc, which we mostly had to ourselves every time we went in there.
Service was just formal enough for the setting without being old school. They lost it a bit during Boxing Day brunch in the pantry, but in the restaurant was always fantastic. Great wine knowledge and great food, we particularly enjoyed the side dishes, some of which were a bit unusual.
Definitely going here again during the summer, so that we can take full advantage of all the outdoor spaces and things to do without freezing to death!
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are most convenient. Room 3 is the generous one with the freestanding tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerryad876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here for our anniversary. I can't praise this hotel and its staff enough. It a classy, plush hotel but we a warm and extremely friendly atmosphere that is not intimidating in any way. From the moment you arrive you are made to feel that you are the only guest at the hotel. The rooms are extremely clean, modern but homely. The grounds are tranquil and lovely to walk around and the communal areas within the hotel well designed. As for the food YUM! highly recommended, we had the taster menu with the sommelier recommending which wine to go with each course, we were not disappointed. The added bonus was the staff, efficient, respectable, knew their "stuff" and we had a great laugh with them.
I would go back here again and again if I could afford to. Favourite hotel experience ever.

Room Tip: We had the room shown in their brochure, if you can afford it go for this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed in a Generous room in the Coach House for 2 nights just after Christmas, for our 10th Wedding anniversary.
We were greeted by very friendly staff, who took our luggage from our car to the room and then parked our car for us (a nice touch). Our room was absolutely stunning with lovely quirky touches and a 'congratulations' bottle of champagne from the hotel director. The room was really warm so unfortunately we didn't get to use the fire but it looked lovely.
Our meal at Harnett & Holder was delicious from start to finish. My only criticism would be that the tables were too close together, it was hard to have a conversation without the tables either side hearing your every word.
The next day we had room service breakfast which arrived bang on time and was all still hot.
We enjoyed (using the lovely wellies from the boot room) a lovely stroll around the grounds and through the woods.
Most of our Saturday was spent at The Herb House spa where we had a heavenly Together In the Forest couples spa treatment. It was the most relaxed I think I have ever felt !! The spa it's self is stunning with outdoor hot tub and roof gardens. It is all very clean and the staff are very friendly. We had a couple of smoothies in the Raw cafe which were really yummy.
Dinner on our second night was at The Pig in nearby Brockenhurst (part of the same company I believe), again the setting was beautiful and the hotel very quirky. Unfortunately the same issue arose in that the tables were too close together. The piggy bits were delicious and overall the food was very good but a little heavy and rich for our liking.
We had a really amazing experience at Limewood and will definitely be returning with our children in tow.
Book it now, you won't regret it :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed here with work Christmas outing and it is an amazing place. Huge rooms, very well appointed. Nice communal areas. Small bar but seemed to cope. Also a well equipped spa and pool complex. No idea how expensive but if money is not an issue, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tc_chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This was our third trip to the restaurant and as with our previous visits the level of care and service we received was second to none. The food was beautifully cooked and presented with perfectly sized portions which were full of flavour, we had the house wine which was well priced and great quality.

The dining room was full of life which gave a nice atmosphere.

The complimentary glass of champagne was most welcome, we will certainly come again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stainlesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
1.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,720 reviews
6.8 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,175 reviews
2.5 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,615 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Wood Hotel

Property: Lime Wood Hotel
Address: Beaulieu Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7FZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lime Wood Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lime Wood, a boutique country house hotel in England, is set in the heart of the New Forest National Park, 1.5 miles from the small town of Lyndhurst and just an hour and a half drive from London. We like to think of ourselves as a luxury country house hotel with a difference. We've used Lime Wood's classical structure as the basis of our design but we've lovingly renovated it with a fresh approach, reviving its architecture and grounds. We've kept the spirit of its past, taken inspiration from its extraordinarily beautiful surroundings and added the odd contemporary twist to bring it to life. The food is by Luke Holder and Angela Hartnett. With its proximity to London, our New Forest boutique hotel really is the ultimate countryside getaway; perfect for weekend breaks, a dash from the city, or an escape from home; whatever your motivations, we can't wait to show you around. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lime Wood Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing