We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just superb...”
Review of Lime Wood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lime Wood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Sandbach, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just superb...”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We spent bank holiday weekend with my daughter and her boyfriend at this amazing property staying in Forrest 1 cottage.The service was outstanding...very personalised and unobtrusive,the hotel is beautifully decorated and restaurant excellent.The spa could not have been better ,,,excellent treatments and so nice not to get the product seek after a relaxing treatment.
The staff are some of the best i have come across and i work extensively in luxury hospitality around the world
A hidden gem in a beautiful part of UK...also The little sister pub The Pig is great for a pub meal...fantastic atmosphere and great food.
We will be back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    228
    121
    55
    29
See reviews for
242
700
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A stunning lunch and a wonderful afternoon! Four of us had lunch and the food, wine and service were first class. Angela Hartnett came out and chatted to us and not one detail could have been improved upon. We are regulars at Limewood but it keeps getting better and better. Nothing was too trouble for the team so big thanks to Dani, Sergio, James and of course Angela.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Wow what can I say by far the best spa experience I have ever had Definitely a competitor to careys manor senspa.
The food is all raw and made specially for you, a free glass of champagne to accompany your meal if it's a special occasion and the facial I had was a highly professional treatment, my therapist was brilliant, and considering I am also a beauty therapist I'm quite hard to please...
All in all a worth while visit. Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annabelsims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Lime Wood has one of the best spa's I have had the pleasure of relaxing in. The room we stayed in was a nice suite with the main bathroom and bedroom on the 1st floor and the lounge and second bathroom on the ground floor. As we had a small child with us, we used room service for dinner and breakfast, and these were delivered in sweet little baskets. The dinner I feel would have benefited from being served in the hotel, but was still good. Breakfast was perfect. In the morning before breakfast was delivered, they dropped off my paper and delivered by daughters milk on a silver platter. You couldn’t ask for a nicer place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baughurst, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We went to the restaurant at the Lime Wood Hotel and can't praise it enough.

A little difficult to find but worth the effort when you do. The setting is stunning and everything is of the highest standard.

We were greeted at the door and shown to the bar where menus were delivered.

The restaurant was superbly decorated. Staff were helpful and efficient. The meal it self was very good and all four of us enjoyed our choices.

One small point - having spent the best part of £300 on a meal for four it was disappointing that we were not thanked as we left the restaurant nor were we bade farewell as we exited the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWC2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We pushed the boat out and booked in for 4 x nights to stay here having been massive fans of the sister hotel "the pig " it's not cheap at £620 per night but I must say worth every penny.
The service was top draw and we had amazing stay couldn't fault the place a real gem just wish I had more money to stay longer and more often.
My only bad comment is that the spa and pool was closed for 2x days during our stay due to Technical issues but I aware this happens and staff said it was first time since they opened.
We only ate in the restaurant twice but found the food to be very nice indeed the staff were lovely the whole time we stayed this place might not offer great value for money, but the old saying that "you get what you pay for" is very true here this hotel is quality from top to bottom. Hope to return next year.

Room Tip: Log cabin is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Limewoods Herb House Spa has done it again - What a fantastic Spa day!

My mother and I arrived at the Herb House to be greeted by extremely polite staff who were very informative about the spa and the facilities. We were then taken to the Spa's restaurant area for a light bite and a smoothie which was delicious.

After this we were shown downstairs. In our lockets we had lovely robes, slippers and water bottles. The spa itself was as always (in my experience) not crowded and quite. (perfect for relaxing)

My mother and I spent time enjoying the wonderful spa facilities and looking out to the beautiful forest and main house views. As it was a glorious sunny day we relaxed by the outside pool reading. We were later collected for a facial and the therapists took us to have facials together in a really lovely airy treatment room that looked over the forest.

The therapists were fantastic and I felt extremely relaxed after my treatment.

After our lovely spa experience my mother and I received some lovely gift bags from the Herb House Spa (what a great little touch)

The spa itself is extremely clean and there are a number of staff working extremely hard picking up towels etc (they were very attentive at there jobs)

After the Spa my mother and I went for some herbal tea in the main hotel which again is lovely the staff are very attentive and asked very politely about our spa day and made polite conversation.

Rarely in the UK do you find hotels that really deliver on true 5 star service - But Limewood in my experience always does. I would recommend this hotel without a doubt (I have also stayed here as have my family members - all whom have had a delightful time)

Fantastic hotel and Spa in a fantastic location.

Room Tip: The sun downer package is great if you fancy a half a day spa package with a treatment 4pm to 8pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georginatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
1.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,724 reviews
6.8 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,178 reviews
2.5 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,616 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Wood Hotel

Property: Lime Wood Hotel
Address: Beaulieu Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7FZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lime Wood Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lime Wood, a boutique country house hotel in England, is set in the heart of the New Forest National Park, 1.5 miles from the small town of Lyndhurst and just an hour and a half drive from London. We like to think of ourselves as a luxury country house hotel with a difference. We've used Lime Wood's classical structure as the basis of our design but we've lovingly renovated it with a fresh approach, reviving its architecture and grounds. We've kept the spirit of its past, taken inspiration from its extraordinarily beautiful surroundings and added the odd contemporary twist to bring it to life. The food is by Luke Holder and Angela Hartnett. With its proximity to London, our New Forest boutique hotel really is the ultimate countryside getaway; perfect for weekend breaks, a dash from the city, or an escape from home; whatever your motivations, we can't wait to show you around. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lime Wood Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing