We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful start to honeymoon”
Review of Lime Wood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lime Wood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Spent the first night of our honeymoon fortnight here.Were treated to a free bottle of champagne&room
upgrade.Room with free standing bath was stunning,bath enormous.Managed to visit the exceptional spa twice and it was never overcrowded.Treatments were wonderful.
Had a fantastic dinner at Hartnet and Holder in the evening too where service was fantastic.
Only minor improvement would be to have dogs kept on leads in outdoor seating areas right by the hotel as I am terrified of them and didn't feel able to sit out there with one running about!
The service was brilliant and we will always remember this very special night at another stunning relais and chateux property.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGLondon1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

852 - 858 of 1,345 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just had a lovely one night package stay with lunch, dinner, breakfast and lots of spa. Both had a wonderful time.

Staff all very good and made us feel welcome. The place is a credit to them all. Food outstanding and the room (which we were upgraded to) was beautiful.

We have been all over the world and would both rate the Spa as one of our all time favourites. Nice treatment but the variety of things in the whole spa was outstanding, and all very spacious and clean.

Hotels require constant attention to keep them looking new and in a good state of repair so if that is maintained then this place is sure to stand the test of time.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sdhiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed her 24 June for 2 nights

Arrived early afternoon, sat outside and ate off the grazing menu
The portions were just right as we were saving our appetites for the evening meal.

We ate in the restaurant both nights, the food and service were excellent.


My favourite feelings about this hotel was the way the service in general was attentive when required and unobtrusive the rest of the time. Yes it's expensive but the details that have gone in creating special surroundings means it is a great place to just relax and unwind.
There were a few children staying but all were well behaved .

We ate breakfast in the courtyard, where there is a retractable glass roof giving a light airy area.
The bedroom was comfortable, the en suite with large bath and extra separate shower was large and light.

The spa is amazing and as the weather was good we were able to relax on the herb garden roof.

I can recommend a weekend away her. Leave the wellingtons etc at home, they are provided if you need them drive up to the door, where someone parks your car then just relax, walk in the forest, swim and eat well. We will be back. It's not inexpensive but as you can guess I loved it

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joules20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We went here for lunch and had an amazing high tea (after 3pm though). It's very well presented and staff were helpful and friendly but not the most attentive.
Definitely a must if in the area, we are now thinking about getting married there!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jarty969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very cool place. Excellent friendly service. Great rooms too. If you've kids then get the little cottage place near the front gate. Bunk beds that looked like they were carved out of a giant oak tree.

Bring your dog too, well cared/catered for, though a bit cheely charging you a bit extra.

Most memorable part was the chef's table. Really great theatre, brilliant food and relaxed fun. Sommelier and chef having a bit of a mild barny with each other was real great (chef had given an extra course and sommelier hadn't had a chance to match the wine).

Be careful not to be rude about the chef though (we weren't) but his hearing is better than a bat's. He commented on what we were talking about the food and he was a long way from us. One occasion we heard him shout an order for a medium-rare steak for a dog (not mine!). He didn't look especially impressed but apparently not that uncommon!

Downside - Just the price! It rather stings the wallet.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank BigBobW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Lime Wood is really a very special stylish hotel, for the UK at any rate. Beautiful location, impressive drive into the estate, and a grand house awaits when you arrive.


Staff young, friendly and attentive. Bags taken to the room, car parked for you.

All the public rooms and bedrooms beautifully and very tastefully furnished.

3 pools, a small plunge pool with sun loungers outside, adjacent to a decent sized indoor pool. And a lovely hydrotherapy pool with sauna and steam room. All accommodated in the three storey Herb House, with several treatment rooms, a spa shop, gym, large changing rooms. And at the top a delightful herb garden with additional loungers, a lovely place to relax and read. Not to mention the cafe with healthy spa food, excellent cappuccino, & plenty of daily papers

No cost seems to have been spared. Really luxurious plumped up cushions on the loungers. Towels in the spa, as many as you want. Even flip flops and bathrobes placed for you in the changing room lockers.


Dinner was good but not brilliant. A couple of items were off the menu. There was no vegetarian set menu, so the choice was very limited. The main dish was agnolotti with pappa al pomodoro - basically a type of ravioli with tomato sauce. Not bad but not inspirational either. My husband enjoyed his (non veggie) meal.

Breakfast was good, a casual affair served in the 'scullery'. Good selection of hot food to order, and good quality cold buffet items.

I feel the hotel would benefit from a manager with experience of the top end market. The hotel is pricey and generally lives up to expectations, but the staff whilst friendly and generally efficient, lack the professionalism and confidence which one would expect.

Lime Wood is a perfect place to escape from the city and chill out. And even though the hotel was full it wasn't crowded. Lyndhurst is a good 30mn walk away (attractive little town, but shops & cafes a bit touristy), and the hotel can advise on lovely forest walks. It's lovely to see horses and cows strolling free in the New Forest, crossing the road, or congregating on the verges.













Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Bird3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I attended the "Herb House" for a spa day. I am not a spa person, but I did the dutiful thing. Being a foodie I was going to be disappointed with the healthy options provided for lunch, but in fairness what i chose tickled my meat and potato palette. Lovely spa, great service, and attention to detail. A very relaxing day, but at a cost!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Nic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
9.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,936 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,787 reviews
5.4 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,225 reviews
5.9 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Wood Hotel

Address: Beaulieu Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7FZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range: £344 - £946 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lime Wood Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lime Wood, a boutique country house hotel in England, is set in the heart of the New Forest National Park, 1.5 miles from the small town of Lyndhurst and just an hour and a half drive from London. We like to think of ourselves as a luxury country house hotel with a difference. We've used Lime Wood's classical structure as the basis of our design but we've lovingly renovated it with a fresh approach, reviving its architecture and grounds. We've kept the spirit of its past, taken inspiration from its extraordinarily beautiful surroundings and added the odd contemporary twist to bring it to life. The food is by Luke Holder and Angela Hartnett. With its proximity to London, our New Forest boutique hotel really is the ultimate countryside getaway; perfect for weekend breaks, a dash from the city, or an escape from home; whatever your motivations, we can't wait to show you around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, MrandMrsSmith and getaroom.com so you can book your Lime Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lime Wood Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing