We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic everytime!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lime Wood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lime Wood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic everytime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

I have been here a few times and thought it was about time to write a review! Lovely, superb and delicious! Food is always great with new things on the menu. Wine is lovely and the wine sommelier always knows her stuff! Staff are friendly and always willing to help. Would definitely recommend and can not wait to come back! Five stars all round!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tweets12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    214
    114
    51
    28
See reviews for
213
658
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Simply the most stunning hotel in the New Forest. I have visited twice for afternoon tea and also dined at the Kitchen Table, each time the food and service is exquisite. Afternoon tea this Friday did not disappoint. Celebrating my nieces 18th, we sat inside but had the warm breeze from the gardens which made it very relaxed and fresh. Stunning food, accommodating dietary requests as well made it a special treat for my niece. The handmade scones and cakes were amazing, in particular the white chocolate raspberry tea cakes, best thing I have tasted - apart from the homemade pasta we had whilst dining in the kitchen last time. I could talk for hours about this place, my favourite hotel and restaurant - cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Spent the first night of our honeymoon fortnight here.Were treated to a free bottle of champagne&room
upgrade.Room with free standing bath was stunning,bath enormous.Managed to visit the exceptional spa twice and it was never overcrowded.Treatments were wonderful.
Had a fantastic dinner at Hartnet and Holder in the evening too where service was fantastic.
Only minor improvement would be to have dogs kept on leads in outdoor seating areas right by the hotel as I am terrified of them and didn't feel able to sit out there with one running about!
The service was brilliant and we will always remember this very special night at another stunning relais and chateux property.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SGLondon1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Just had a lovely one night package stay with lunch, dinner, breakfast and lots of spa. Both had a wonderful time.

Staff all very good and made us feel welcome. The place is a credit to them all. Food outstanding and the room (which we were upgraded to) was beautiful.

We have been all over the world and would both rate the Spa as one of our all time favourites. Nice treatment but the variety of things in the whole spa was outstanding, and all very spacious and clean.

Hotels require constant attention to keep them looking new and in a good state of repair so if that is maintained then this place is sure to stand the test of time.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sdhiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed her 24 June for 2 nights

Arrived early afternoon, sat outside and ate off the grazing menu
The portions were just right as we were saving our appetites for the evening meal.

We ate in the restaurant both nights, the food and service were excellent.


My favourite feelings about this hotel was the way the service in general was attentive when required and unobtrusive the rest of the time. Yes it's expensive but the details that have gone in creating special surroundings means it is a great place to just relax and unwind.
There were a few children staying but all were well behaved .

We ate breakfast in the courtyard, where there is a retractable glass roof giving a light airy area.
The bedroom was comfortable, the en suite with large bath and extra separate shower was large and light.

The spa is amazing and as the weather was good we were able to relax on the herb garden roof.

I can recommend a weekend away her. Leave the wellingtons etc at home, they are provided if you need them drive up to the door, where someone parks your car then just relax, walk in the forest, swim and eat well. We will be back. It's not inexpensive but as you can guess I loved it

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joules20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We went here for lunch and had an amazing high tea (after 3pm though). It's very well presented and staff were helpful and friendly but not the most attentive.
Definitely a must if in the area, we are now thinking about getting married there!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarty969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very cool place. Excellent friendly service. Great rooms too. If you've kids then get the little cottage place near the front gate. Bunk beds that looked like they were carved out of a giant oak tree.

Bring your dog too, well cared/catered for, though a bit cheely charging you a bit extra.

Most memorable part was the chef's table. Really great theatre, brilliant food and relaxed fun. Sommelier and chef having a bit of a mild barny with each other was real great (chef had given an extra course and sommelier hadn't had a chance to match the wine).

Be careful not to be rude about the chef though (we weren't) but his hearing is better than a bat's. He commented on what we were talking about the food and he was a long way from us. One occasion we heard him shout an order for a medium-rare steak for a dog (not mine!). He didn't look especially impressed but apparently not that uncommon!

Downside - Just the price! It rather stings the wallet.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigBobW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
9.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
2.5 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Wood Hotel

Property: Lime Wood Hotel
Address: Beaulieu Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7FZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lime Wood Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lime Wood, a boutique country house hotel in England, is set in the heart of the New Forest National Park, 1.5 miles from the small town of Lyndhurst and just an hour and a half drive from London. We like to think of ourselves as a luxury country house hotel with a difference. We've used Lime Wood's classical structure as the basis of our design but we've lovingly renovated it with a fresh approach, reviving its architecture and grounds. We've kept the spirit of its past, taken inspiration from its extraordinarily beautiful surroundings and added the odd contemporary twist to bring it to life. The food is by Luke Holder and Angela Hartnett. With its proximity to London, our New Forest boutique hotel really is the ultimate countryside getaway; perfect for weekend breaks, a dash from the city, or an escape from home; whatever your motivations, we can't wait to show you around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Lime Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lime Wood Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing