We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Emily S

Every hotel should have Piotr! Superb two night break

Review of Lime Wood Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Apr 2024
This is our second time staying at Lime Wood hotel - the first for two nights after our wedding. We went back to celebrate our anniversary and if anything the experience was even better than last time. All staff take the time to introduce themselves, have a chat to you and truly go out of their way to help and make your stay effortless. Even more impressively - my husband had not been well at all one month earlier - so much so that we thought we would have to cancel our trip. Having explained the situation, their manager Piotr was truly the most thoughtful and “human” manager I’ve ever come across. He went out of his way to help us move our stay, was exceptionally understanding and made a difficult situation significantly easier. This was 100% carried forward into our stay, where Piotr and the team made sure that, despite the inconvenience to the hotel, our trip was seamless and if anything even more special. The spa facilities are wonderful, with some crowding but to be expected when it is a main draw for the hotel! Yoga and other gym classes were included in our stay and my classes were thoroughly enjoyable. The food continues to be an enjoyable addition to an already superb stay. After this experience and the hotel’s understanding we will certainly be back many more times to come - and can only say thank you to Piotr and the team!
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £100
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £105
1.0 miles from Lime Wood Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £124
  • Agoda.com
    £101
  • Hotels.com
    £124
1.2 miles from Lime Wood Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
1.0 miles from Lime Wood Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
1.3 miles from Lime Wood Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£122
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £117
  • Hotels.com
    £122
1.1 miles from Lime Wood Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel rear terrace
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £107
  • Hotels.com
    £119
  • Priceline
1.2 miles from Lime Wood Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £116
  • Hotels.com
    £129
  • Expedia.com
    £129
1.4 miles from Lime Wood Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outside
Booking.com
£86
  • Tripadvisor
    £81
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    £81
1.3 miles from Lime Wood Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Travelodge
    £40
  • Vio.com
  • Trip.com
4.3 miles from Lime Wood Hotel
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    £149
  • ZenHotels.com
4.7 miles from Lime Wood Hotel
View more hotels in Lyndhurst
Reviews (1,896)
Filter reviews
1,896 results
Traveller rating
1,286
302
181
80
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,286
302
181
80
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews herb house afternoon tea angela hartnett hydro pool courtyard bar chewton glen hartnett holder generous room country house steam room new forest sandwiches spa facilities coach house risotto take home changing rooms
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,896 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2024

We have just had a wonderful one night stay at Lime Wood. The staff were, without exception, outstanding. The room was perfect, with a wonderful drinks/coffee bar that was properly stocked, a great bathroom with plenty of bamford products to enjoy, a supremely comfortable bed and every little detail, such as plug placement (so often annoying) and labelling of switches by the bed, well thought out.
Despite only staying one night, we were able to make full use of the lovely spa and take a walk in the forest (tip: use the hotel provided wellies). The spa was wonderfully calming, never felt busy, and the changing rooms were excellent.
Staff were also super accommodating at fitting us in for dinner, even though our hotel booking was very last minute and our meals were very good. The madeleines for pudding were sublime!
We hope to return!

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I3192SJjulies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 April 2024 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay and what a place this is.
From the moment you arrive and drive up the long driveway, parked at the main house and was greeted almost immediately by a smiling member of the staff.
We were a little early but was told it's never too early.
By the time we had been given a tour, our room was ready.
Stunning room with views of the garden.
Went for a swim and a sauna at the Spa.
We hadn't booked dinner for the first evening, so we had some delicious dishes of the bar menu.
The bar manager Fab, and his amazing team looked after us very well, great Cocktails.
The following morning we took a walk into Lyndhust, about a 20 min walk past the new forest ponies.
We had spa treatments booked for that afternoon, and they were amazing, so relaxing ( think I fell asleep)😴
That evening we ate in the main restaurant and everything was fantastic.
I can't recommend Lime Wood highly enough.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank palaceboy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 April 2024 via mobile

From the moment you step out of the car, surrounded by the smells of nature and the smokey log burner drifting by you know you’re in for a something special.

This is more than just a hotel, it’s an immersive experience. The staff greet you like a long lost family member coming to stay in their huge country mansion. Your every need is catered for.

The food is exceptional. Every snack, meal and drink tastes delightful. Sure, you’ll end up paying a relatively high price tag but what get feels absolutely worth it and the spa is lovely.

All your sensed feel rejuvenated after a weekend stay.

Thank you limewood, we’ll be back!

Room tip: Enjoy every moment
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mjsbmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2024

Went for lunch as a belated birthday treat. The food was amazing and the dining room is nice and spacious. The hotel was clearly busy (it was the start of Easter) but service from all the team was exemplary. Everyone was really friendly and helpful (and not at all stuffy - I don't need someone to top up my glass after each sip!!).

As we live in Brockenhurst we are spoilt for choice but I'd say the food and atmosphere at Lime Wood is the best.

Special thanks and shout out to Harriet who was lovely!

Definitely need to take another day off and come for lunch again!

Room tip: The desserts (baked alaska and poached banana with chocolate) - we each had half were to die for.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2024 via mobile

Outstanding staff, superb attention to detail, extremely comfortable.
All round excellent.
The room, particularly the king size bed was the highest quality.
The location, grounds, spa area and bars are fabulous.
The restaurant is very charming, the food simply prepared and expertly served,
Of course, this hotel is expensive: but it’s worth every penny!

Room tip: Choose a room in the main house at the front
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Belv1dere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews