We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SIMPLY THE BEST !!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Meadows Bed and Breakfast Lyndhurst

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyndhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Meadows Bed and Breakfast Lyndhurst
Ranked #1 of 23 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“SIMPLY THE BEST !!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

BETTER THAN ALL THE REST !!!! don't bother looking elsewhere - this is THE place to stay in the New Forest. Words do not really do this lovely B & B justice. Shelley and Bill are wonderful - genuinely friendly and helpful. Rooms are immaculate and extremely comfy with lots of quality extras. Breakfast - best we have ever had - fresh (imaginative) fruit platter, perfectly cooked English or very tasty smoked salmon, didn't have room for either cereals or toast (maybe next time). Shelley and Bill make very good "tourist information guides" as are full of local knowledge and can provide maps, leaflets, suggestions for restaurants, etc. I know that it is a cliché : but you feel that you "arrive as guests and leave as friends" - but in this instance it is true !!! If you book into this B & B you will certainly be extremely happy and in the words of one famous chef : you will be "SORTED"

Room Tip: All of the three rooms are extremely quiet and comfortable and a real delight to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN04LEEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    17
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
283
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caledon, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

You could not ask for more at this superb B&B! Bill and Shelley are excellent hosts and are the friendliest couple. Our room was beautiful, spacious and so well appointed, the fresh fruit was a lovely added touch. We had never been to the New Forest and Bill and Shelley provided us with loads of suggestions, maps and great places to eat. Breakfast was delicious and made to order. An absolutely fabulous place to stay, we highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in the New Forest!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed here for one night for an impromptu visit to the New Forest and from the get go, Shelley and Bill could not have been more helpful and friendly. As we had limited time, Bill told us about a walk we could do, which was just perfect and they both recommended the Oak as a place for dinner. We are so glad we took their recommendation - we had the best country gastropub meal that evening and they also lent us their yellow discount card off to get money off. Do make a booking as it was very busy when we went on a Wed evening.

What I also loved the most is that our room in the B&B was just so comfortable and welcoming. I loved the decor and how the room was kitted out. Everything has been thought of and the ensuite is just amazing too. There's tea/coffee making facilities and lovely biscuits... all the best touches. Bed was so comfy and we slept like babies!

Breakfast is brill and be warned, they are BIG portions! :) Home-cooked, delicious food made with love with a good selection. I like how we are able to choose what we want the evening before so everything is cooked fresh in the morning.

But of course, the best thing about the B&B are the hosts Bill and Shelley - they are a wonderful couple, very easygoing and friendly and are doing a fabulous job running this place. You can ask them absolutely anything and nothing is too much for them to help with.

Thank you so much for making our stay at the New Forest so amazing!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meichan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The rooms were lovely (with lots of unexpected extras) and the breakfasts were excellent. Bill and Shelley clearly enjoy having people to stay. They couldn't have been more helpful. They provide guests with a local discount card (which we used in the pub on our first night) and a ticket which allows free parking in the local car parks. On our first night Bill even drove us to the pub we'd booked for our evening meal and when we left after our 2-night stay they waved us off as though we were family or friends.

Room Tip: All rooms equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HartleyMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

read the reviews, which were all very good
But until you stay here you cant believe how friendly and helpful Bill and Shelley make you feel
They really are a lovely couple, nothing is too much trouble, we had a lovely welcome. The room was lovely, with nice towels and dressing gowns/ slippers. you only have to ask a question about visiting a certain place Bill would either give you a booklet or go and print off info from the internet. He was very helpful with information about walks/ cycle rides etc.
The Breakfast selection was really nice the cooked breakfast was cooked fresh to your liking.
We would highly recommend The Meadows. we have told everyone they must go there.
We hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

great location great breakfast lovely room with special touches i.e. bathrobes and slippers plus the usual tea coffee and biscuits but also help yourself to fresh milk from the fridge in the dining room but the biggest plus is SHELLEY AND BILL themselves you feel like you arrive as guests and leave as friends can't recommend highly enough have told family and friends about this little gem already and will definitely visit again. pam and stewart from kent

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pamgrant2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

These good reviews are all accurate. The Meadows is superb. Bill and Shelley feel like friends after only one night's stay. Nothing was too much trouble, and we would heartily recommend them. We watched a good DVD lent to us, and we also used their New forest card to enjoy a good discount off a local pub. And after checking out Bill still let us keep our car in the driveway so that we could ride our bikes through the forest, finally using the facilities before leaving.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh_Grear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meadows Bed and Breakfast Lyndhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadows Bed and Breakfast Lyndhurst

Property: The Meadows Bed and Breakfast Lyndhurst
Address: 62 The Meadows, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadows B&B Lyndhurst is located in the beautiful New Forest. Set in the village of Lyndhurst and located at the end of a cul-de-sac, it offers comfort and peace and quiet at affordable rates. It's an ideal B&B for a long or short break where you will be less than 10 minutes stroll to the stunning New Forest and Lyndhurst village, with its numerous restaurants and places to eat and unwind. Our B&B has two superior en-suite rooms. A spacious super king bedded room with lounge area and en-suite shower over bath and a king bedded suite with private adjoining lounge and en-suite walk-in shower. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Meadows Bed And Breakfast Lyndhurst New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing