We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and tidy - a tad expensive”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyndhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Meadows Bed and Breakfast Lyndhurst
Ranked #1 of 22 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed for one night and it was very clean and the owners keen to please. The room was tastefully decorated and we even had tooth brushes if we needed them, as well as instructions on how to flush the toilet. I was chased up for a review weeks after we stayed which has never happened before, surely it is my prerogative to leave a review or not? We had an enjoyable stay and would recommend this B&B to anyone staying in the area as the location is excellent. The breakfast was very good and we had a lot of choices. We were even waved away as we left!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickh777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billwayland, Owner at The Meadows Bed and Breakfast Lyndhurst, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

We would like to thank this reviewer for their kind comments about our B and B in general, our level of service, location of the B and B, that they would recommend us and we are glad that they had an enjoyable stay

We follow up with guests by email asking for reviews as we are encouraged to do this by Tripadvisor. However, we fully understand that people lead busy lives and do not want to be pestered after their relaxing short break. So we limit our follow ups only to those who have said they will do a review and have not done so and then we write only once a short while after their stay. In the case of this reviewer they said they would do a review and we wrote 2 weeks after their stay and it was a gentle request for the review they said that they would do. As the reviewer said it is his prerogative to do a review or not and had he not done a review we would have respected that choice. We never write a second time.

We were quite surprised at the headline “a tad expensive”. Our prices are clearly displayed on our website and are made clear upon each enquiry before guest’s book. We also make absolutely sure that our prices are in line or better than other B and B’s in Lyndhurst and in fact at the time of writing this response we offer 10% off a 2 night stay or 1 night free for a 3 night stay, making a weekend 3 night stay, for the room our reviewer took to be £53.33 per night, including breakfast, 2 sharing, that’s just £26.67 per person. As this reviewer has said, they stayed for only night which was on a weekend but found the rate they paid “a tad expensive”. We take 1 night stays whenever we can but unfortunately there are fixed costs we incur, laundry, changeover costs etc. and of course we must recoup these costs over only 1 night which makes it a dearer option than a 2 or 3 night stay. This reviewer knew fully the price of their 1 night stay before they booked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed with my husband, son, daughter and their partners, so took up all three rooms. We were made to feel very welcome, and nothing was too much trouble. Our superior room was very comfortable and beautifully equipped, and the breakfast plentiful, delicious, and cooked to order. The little touches like leaving a plant and card in our room when Bill and Shelley knew it was my birthday, and the suggestion of a particularly scenic route to take one day all added to the experience. I'm not sure what it would have been like to stay with strangers in the other rooms, but taking up all the accommodation and sitting as a family at the breakfast table was lovely and relaxed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashfordfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Initially concerned about location but turned out to be ten minutes walk from Main Street. Excellent b&b, spotlessly clean rooms and en-suite. Great breakfast. Bill and Shelley have excellent knowledge of New Forest. Plenty of parking available. Also great link to cruise ship docks at Southampton, just a 25 min run at 10am on a Saturday. Both Bill and Shelley are superb and very welcoming hosts. Also close to national car museum.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnew46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

A bit oddly located in the "traffic triangle" that is Lyndhurst Town Centre. Otherwise all fine. Good rooms and location. The Breakfast was good, but lacking something. Bill and Shelley were fun and friendly hosts, but tended to be hovering around too often. A bit like Helicopter hosts on occasion.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gko13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billwayland, Owner at The Meadows Bed and Breakfast Lyndhurst, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Lyndhurst is in the heart of the New Forest National Park and The Meadows B and B is in the heart of Lyndhurst, in a quiet cul-de-sac and away from the traffic noise of the one-way system and is within a few minutes strolling distance of the village centre with its many excellent restaurants and both woodland and moorland forest. As our reviewer says, “a good location”.

We thank our reviewer for the kind comments about our rooms, we believe that he/she was in a party of 4 and saw one of our Double En-suite large walk-in Shower Rooms and our Superior Room that has a full bathroom, a seating area and has recently been upgraded with a Super King bed and as our reviewer says, they are “good rooms”.

We already offer an extensive menu and have received many reviews complementing our breakfast and we do say, both on guest arrival and on our website, if there are any special dietary requirements then please ask. Since from this review we are not told, what was “lacking” we are unable to respond but we thank him/her for “the Breakfast is good”.

We take pride in doing everything we can to ensure that our guests needs and expectations are met in every way possible, ensuring that our rooms are equipped with those little extras that make their stay more comfortable, having at hand advice on how to make their New Forest experience that much more enjoyable and at breakfast we aim to be attentive and responsive, so we make no apologies if at times we appear to be “helicopter hosts”, it’s just us making sure that all our guests needs and expectations are met.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The Meadows is definitely the best B & B I've ever been to. The owners, Shelley and Bill, gave us the warmest of welcomes. They were very friendly and helpful, showing us the best walks around the area, even going as far as lending us a pair of walking boots!
The breakfast was divine - you won't find a better full English anywhere else! Delicious!
All in all, an amazing two day experience in the New Forest, in no small part due to the wonderful meadows!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The Meadows B&B made our stay in the New Forest even more enjoyable, as it felt like a home away from home. Shelley and Bill went above and beyond to welcome us, give us tips and suggestions so that we could make the most of our two night stay in Lyndhurst. Our room was immaculately clean, the breakfast was divine and all of the personal touches makes this B&B a pleasure to experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary-Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

BETTER THAN ALL THE REST !!!! don't bother looking elsewhere - this is THE place to stay in the New Forest. Words do not really do this lovely B & B justice. Shelley and Bill are wonderful - genuinely friendly and helpful. Rooms are immaculate and extremely comfy with lots of quality extras. Breakfast - best we have ever had - fresh (imaginative) fruit platter, perfectly cooked English or very tasty smoked salmon, didn't have room for either cereals or toast (maybe next time). Shelley and Bill make very good "tourist information guides" as are full of local knowledge and can provide maps, leaflets, suggestions for restaurants, etc. I know that it is a cliché : but you feel that you "arrive as guests and leave as friends" - but in this instance it is true !!! If you book into this B & B you will certainly be extremely happy and in the words of one famous chef : you will be "SORTED"

Room Tip: All of the three rooms are extremely quiet and comfortable and a real delight to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN04LEEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,089 reviews
6.4 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
470 reviews
0.6 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
847 reviews
6.1 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meadows Bed and Breakfast Lyndhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadows Bed and Breakfast Lyndhurst

Address: 62 The Meadows, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Price Range: £38 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadows B&B Lyndhurst is located in the beautiful New Forest. Set in the village of Lyndhurst and located at the end of a cul-de-sac, it offers comfort and peace and quiet at affordable rates. It's an ideal B&B for a long or short break where you will be less than 10 minutes stroll to the stunning New Forest and Lyndhurst village, with its numerous restaurants and places to eat and unwind. Our B&B has two superior en-suite rooms. A spacious super king bedded room with lounge area and en-suite shower over bath and a king bedded suite with private adjoining lounge and en-suite walk-in shower. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Meadows Bed And Breakfast Lyndhurst New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing