We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyndhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Meadows Bed and Breakfast Lyndhurst
Ranked #1 of 22 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed for just one night for a family celebration in Lyndhurst. We couldn't have chosen a better B&B. The welcome was very warm and the contact beforehand re arrival time etc was exemplary. The room was spotlessly clean and the en suite contained bath robes, slippers, toothbrush and toothpaste in case you forget your own in addition to every toiletry you can imagine. The room has everything you could possibly need including hair dryer, notepad, pen, biscuits and chocolates! The breakfast menu, which is completed the evening before, is comprehensive and preceded by a fresh fruit platter. Breakfast is cooked freshly to order and is excellent. Bill and Sheree are superb hosts and extremely knowledgeable about the beautiful area. We certainly intend to return to such an brilliant establishment.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CestrianChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

What can I say; look up supreme hosting and you will find Bill and Shelley! We decided to do a last minute trip to the area and they were more than accommodating our early arrival the following morning. The room and en-suite were spacious and clean and they were ever so helpful with advice and maps of local walking routes and a scenic drive back to London.
Every hotelier on the planet should come here and experience customer service at its best!

Room Tip: The superior room wasn't available but the double room suited our needs just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

A very warm welcome from Bill and Shelley, who are very knowledgeable about the local area. Room spotless, comfortable and tastefully furnished. So much thought has gone in to providing all the many extras, just in case you've forgotten to pack them. Substantial breakfast, freshly cooked to order. The deal came with a free parking disc for most of the car parks in the New Forest and a discount card (Brand New Forest), which provides discount in local shops and restaurants. A lot of effort and consideration has gone into providing a comprehensive service, to make this an experience not often encountered in many other, more expensive establishments.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on the 14th and 15th Feb 2014.
If you're going to do it you might as well do it right! Simply the best!

Room Tip: Superior Room available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed here for three nights just before Christmas when visiting The New Forest. We arrived in high winds and torrential rain to a lovely, warm and very friendly welcome from Bill & Shelley who are both fantastic hosts.
They both made us feel incredibly welcome and were always on hand with ideas for places to visit & things to do.
Being runners, we were keen to explore the area on foot and Bill provided us with extensive options for trail runs, coastal routes and forest paths taking in beautiful little hamlets along the way.
Shelley kindly gave us a parking pass and leaflets for things to do as well as discount for local bars which was greatly appreciated.
The rooms are spacious, comfy and decorated beautifully to a high standard with lots of attention to detail. Spare toothbrushes and shower gels etc were a really nice touch.
Breakfast was fantastic with the most amazing fruit platter - a work of art!
We had a lovely stay and will most definitely be back. Thank you Bill & Shelley for a wonderful stay & for being such great hosts. Anyone visiting this area should make this the place to stay without a doubt.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed here for two nights over the new year, completely agree with all the other great reviews on here. Bill and Shelley were the perfect hosts, so very warm, friendly and helpful and we couldn't fault anything about our stay. Every box ticked, which is rare.

Thank you Bill and Shelley, sure we will be seeing you again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ERPJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed for three nights mid-week in the first week of December on the back of reading positive reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed! Bill and Shelley were fantastic hosts and made us feel very welcome from the moment we got there. We went to the New Forest with no plans specifically - Bill and Shelley suggested lots of things for us to do, printed maps, and gave us a discount card for local bars and a free parking pass. Location-wise the b&b is within easy walking distance of the centre of Lyndhurst (5 minutes walk). The room itself was spacious and very well decorated and comforting, the en suite was huge, and there were lots of nice touches such as a spare toothbrush and bottles of shampoo, etc. Breakfasts were amazing, cooked to order, after a fruit platter and yogurt/toast. We will definitely be staying here again the next time we are in the New Forest - we even received a Christmas card in the post!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCNF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

During the Xmas/New Year break we decided on an impromptu few days away in the New Forest (never visited before) and went with The Meadows based on the reviews on here. We were a bit concerned with the location (in a residential area) but those concerns we soon alleviated. The relative distance to the forest and Lyndhurst itself makes it ideally place.

On arrival we received the warmest of welcomes from the owners Bill & Shelly. Bill gave us maps and advice on where to eat out and where to visit in the forest. He also gave us discount card that could be used with several restaurants/pubs/shops in the area.

The room we stayed in was clean, neutrally and recently decorated and perfectly sized for two. It also came with an en-suit bathroom that was again, clean and recently decorated. There was tea and coffee making facilities (plus good biscuits!) and Bill gave us a flask of fresh milk to brew with (nice touch).

Breakfast was fantastic. To start you could have a selection of cereals, a fresh fruit plate, yoghurts, toast etc... The cooked part is either made up of sausage, bacon, eggs (as you like), mushrooms etc... or eggs + smoked salmon. All made to order and from locally sourced produce. Delicious.

I'd recommend The Meadows to anyone. It's not necessarily down to the good food and clean, homely environment but the hosts Bill & Shelly. They cater to all your needs and have good knowledge of the local area. All the boxes ticked for a great B&B. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
481 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
427 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Rabbit
The White Rabbit
#6 of 8 in Lyndhurst
531 reviews
4.3 mi away
Daisybank Cottage Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meadows Bed and Breakfast Lyndhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadows Bed and Breakfast Lyndhurst

Address: 62 The Meadows, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Price Range: £38 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadows B&B Lyndhurst is located in the beautiful New Forest. Set in the village of Lyndhurst and located at the end of a cul-de-sac, it offers comfort and peace and quiet at affordable rates. It's an ideal B&B for a long or short break where you will be less than 10 minutes stroll to the stunning New Forest and Lyndhurst village, with its numerous restaurants and places to eat and unwind. Our B&B has two superior en-suite rooms. A spacious super king bedded room with lounge area and en-suite shower over bath and a king bedded suite with private adjoining lounge and en-suite walk-in shower. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Meadows Bed And Breakfast Lyndhurst New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing