We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast, central location”
Review of Stag Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stag Hotel
Ranked #9 of 22 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, central location”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed at the Stag for one night in May 2014. The room we were allocated was small and overlooked the side of the hotel. We could see the fire escape of the pub next door from our room. The bed was very comfortable with good quality bedding and good pillows. Everything was very clean and well maintained. The water was hot, the towels were good quality and the bathroom was a good size. The pub was on the main road through Lyndhurst. The road was busy during the day but quietened down at night. I would imagine it would be a lot busier in the summer months. The breakfast was very good however, there was no menu to chose from, which seemed strange. We had a full English breakfast. The bacon, eggs etc. were all of a good quality. The pub was very quiet in the evening but we did stay on a Wednesday night. The pub was really nice, traditional, and the pub food looked good though we didn't eat there. If we had been staying for more than one night I would have asked for a alternative room (one a bit bigger and with a better outlook) but as we were only there for one night we didn't bother.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimLeigh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    67
    18
    10
    7
See reviews for
33
85
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Four of us stayed here in May 2014 while visiting from Canada. Lovely pub, excellent rooms, good food and friendly staff. Really enjoyed the area. Lyndhurst is an interesting old town and the area attractions (Sammy Miller motorcycle museum of special note) are well worth a visit. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here over Easter. The initial impression was how friendly all the staff were.
The second impression was the high standard of the room.
The bed was very comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent - cooked to order and good quality ingredients.
We didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment on that.
I am hard to please but I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I took a two day walking break in the New Forest. I regularly stay at another hotel in Lyndhurst, which was full, but a room was available at the Stag (single rooms are rather hard to find in the area). A previous review described the single room as very small and on the top floor, which I was prepared to accept, but a very pleasant and friendly lady on reception upgraded my room to a comfortable double on the first floor, at no extra cost. There is no lift. There was a wide choice (including vegetarian) for dinner; typical pub grub food - nothing special but absolutely acceptable, served in a tasteful restaurant by friendly staff. I only stayed one night but found it very pleasant, and very reasonably priced for the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable. The heating, however, was dreadful. Firstly in the bedroom, we could not adjust the radiators down for the night and had to leave windows open. In the restaurant, it was the opposite. Some radiators didn't work. Others were not turned on, in deep frost in mid-January. We huddled over one that was functioning for our meal.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed for New Year Eve/Day as a quiet and tranquil bolt hole to wind down and relax after a busy Christmas. The choice of hotel was perfect and fitted our brief exactly. The staff were very friendly and attentive, and happy to help us with getting around Lyndhurst and the New Forest walks. Our room was light and clean with fresh bed linen and the bathroom was sparkly clean with plenty of fresh towels, the room also had a great aspect overlooking the High Street, we were concerned we might get traffic noise but need not have worried. Perfect.
We chose to eat in the pub in the evening, the menu was varied, amazing value and freshly cooked. Breakfast was traditional "full English" and very welcome.
Our first visit to the New Forest, but not our last and we will happily re-book at the Stag.

Room Tip: Recommend room no. 7, it's a good sized room and has a large bay window and side window letting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This will be a simple review, as we just wanted somewhere to crash after a Christmas meal in Lyndhurst, so with those basic needs our expectations weren't too high. However, the Stag surprised us and it turned out to be brilliant value. The room was spotless, and I mean spotless, with loads of space, flat screen TV and comfy beds. The heating made things a little warm, but that's nothing to complain about in December! We rolled down at 9.30 for breakfast thinking we'd be too late but were shown to our reserved table in the spacious bar and treated to a choice of cooked breakfast, cereals and juices. Coffee was great too.

For the money we paid, to have a full breakfast included, late access, spacious rooms, lots of parking and central Lyndhurst location was a bargain. Staff were brilliant too and very accommodating. Overall, it was perfect for our needs and great for friendliness and value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank examino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyndhurst hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
806 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Rabbit
The White Rabbit
#6 of 8 in Lyndhurst
486 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Stoney Cross Lyndhurst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stag Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stag Hotel

Property: Stag Hotel
Address: 69 High Street, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stag Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stag Hotel in Lyndhurst offers quality accommodation at affordable prices.If you want a quiet break with relaxed hospitality and friendly, attentive service, The Stag is the perfect location. If you feel more active, it is the ideal centre for walking or cycling the lovely forest trails, or perhaps playing golf at the local course only a stone's throw away, or try horse-riding at one of the many local stables. The Stag offers a variety of comfortable rooms, a warm welcome, tasty food and free parking.All the rooms are ensuite and have been recently refurbished.Much of our food is sourced locally and is always fresh and tasty. There is a cosy bar serving real ales, wine, spirits and snacks and a lovely panelled dining area where you can enjoy sumptuous dinners and hearty breakfasts. The staff make every effort to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and are always on hand to help. Our aim is to ensure your stay with us is comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable.The hotel is conveniently situated within 30 minutes drive from Southampton, Bournemouth and Portsmouth and is only about 3 miles from the M27 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stag Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stag Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing