We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent pub & grub”
Review of Fox & Hounds

Fox & Hounds
Ranked #6 of 50 Restaurants in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A picturesque pub in the lovely town of Lyndhurst, The Fox & Hounds is a historic coaching inn, recently refurbished to a stunning standard. Stop in for cask ales, craft beers and delicious fresh food from some of Hampshire's finest producers.
Kingston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent pub & grub”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Met up with sister & her family here as a convenient midway point prior to a stroll round the new forest. Good beer, decent pub grub - they do a "pie of the month", currently venison in a red wine sauce - 3 of us had it, said it was good - wife had a starter portion of mussels off the specials board - she said it was excellent (and a very decently sized portion for a starter), I had a rump steak - nicely cooked as requested, possibly a bit lacking in flavour but par for the course for a pub. I should have had the pie, which was either home made or locally sourced - it looked very good. Several rounds of drinks plus lunch for 5 came in at ~£80, reasonable value I thought.

We had our muddy dog with us and ate inside, no problem.

Pub/toilets etc very clean, friendly staff - not very atmospheric but a solidly good pub - I would go there again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monopodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    292
    82
    41
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“What a find! Not your normal pub grub!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Went last w/e w/o a booking only because the restaurants elsewhere were too busy. What a surprise. Food was really good & much better than many restaurants. I had the pie while my wife had a veggy option. My sons had the burger & the Ham eggs option. Prices were low so we were not holding out for good quality. So imagine our surprise when the meals were really good!
Great quality, served well& quickly. Staff were very good too giving me a sample of one of the beers I didn't recognise & the manager made a point of asking how the meal had been. Well done guys!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Biff61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely pub meal”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Visited on a quiet Sunday evening, ordered the Beef roast and the Pork belly. Both were very nice traditional pub meals!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JackandKristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
174 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Nice food varied menu”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Met friends here for lunch. The staff are friendly and the service was good.We all had various sandwiches which are served with chips and we all enjoyed them, though they weren't particularly cheap - £6
My main criticism would be that the pub smelt very strongly of toilet cleaner. Maybe this was a one off as no other reviewers have commented on this. It was a bit off putting though!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAXINEOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had the 2 meals for 12 GBP deal which was good value. Friendly staff and good selection of beers. Pub is conveniently situated in town centre. Decent atmosphere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fox & Hounds also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest
Lyndhurst, New Forest
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest
Fordingbridge, New Forest
 

Been to Fox & Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing