We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place to stay”
Review of Forest Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Forest Lodge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We spent 2 nights at The Forest Lodge as a group of 4 ladies. The rooms were a little small but adequate as we didn't spend much time in them. The beds were very comfortable and we were in a quiet area of the hotel so all slept well.

We had dinner booked for both nights and the food was good, although a little tepid on our first night - much better temperature on the second. The choice was limited but the food was well presented and the prices were reasonable. The service was friendly and attentive.

Breakfast was OK, but we would have liked more choice of fresh fruit and pastries. Only halved grapefruits and whole apples/pears were offered which was a bit disappointing. The cooked breakfast was excellent (especially the vegetarian breakfast).

The pool area was lovely and not well used.

The hotel is really well situated as it is in walking distance of Lyndhurst and close driving distance of Brockenhurst, Beaulieu and Lymington. There are some superb walks nearby.

We were blessed with fabulous weather - unseasonably hot - so we had a wonderful time. All the members of staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saraWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted that you and your friends had an enjoyable time at the Forest Lodge Hotel and that the weather was kind to you! We have noted your comments about the meals and availability of fruit at breakfast and will pass this information on to the hotel. We hope you will return to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

775 - 781 of 884 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

I normally find it easy to write a review but this one is tough. The hotel ticked all the boxes and would normally have received a top review but my stay was influenced by the fact that my room was very depressing.

The hotel is in a great location, looks good and the staff were exceptionally well trained and friendly. The food was excellent - my breakfast porridge was the best I`ve had for years- and the room facilites everything one would expect.

However my room was one of the smallest doubles I`ve been in for ages. The window was small and looked onto the flat roof of the restaurant and the room was furnished in dark wood and dark curtains. The corridor outside was amazingly noisy with creaky floors and there was little sound proofing between floors and rooms. The radiator didn`t work but an electric heater had been provided. Four huge decorative cushions on the bed had to be taken off and the only place to put them was on the chairs. The shower was the type that makes you want to stay under it all day, yet my overall impressions were overshadowed by staying in a room in which I didn`t want to linger.

Judging by the other reviews I probably got a rogue room but the point of a review is to tell it as you find it and I certainly wouldn`t return if offered the same room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased to hear you enjoy your stay, but are sorry you were disappointed with your room. All our rooms are different and I'm sorry you found yours depressing. We hope you will come back and stay with us again, next time in a different room!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed for one night with my husband's company for a Christmas function and was really impressed by hotel. Although we were bed & breakfast you could pay extra for a larger meal. The swimming pool was lovely and we had it to ourselves. Lyndhurst was within walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KennedysHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We booked ourselves a short stay during half term, taking 2 of our children with us, and hoped that the impressions we got off the internet were accurate.

They certainly were - situated within touching distance of the New Forest, the hotel is ideally placed for walks and also for visits to the coast, where we spent one day walking from Boscombe pier to Bournemouth, into town and back.

The hotel itself was lovely - the room was spacious and clean, and the kids appreciated the indoor swimming pool. The food was a delight - the meals (breakfast and dinner) were excellent quality, and the service provided second to none.

We do like this part of the world, and will no doubt want to revisit at some stage. As and when we do, I'd have no qualms about stopping here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blue-Moonies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. We are delighted you and your children had an enjoyable stay at the Forest Lodge Hotel and hope you will visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Have just spent 2 nights at the Forest Lodge. We needed a relaxing break and that is exactly what we had.

The hotel looks lovely and clean from the outside and has plenty of parking and not miles away from the entrance either.

Check in was fast and friendly and our room - a four poster room - was modern, clean and had everything we needed. The bed wasn't the most comfortable for us but we are used to memory foam so could be that it was just a 'normal' spring mattress. A bulb had blown on the bedside lamp but a quick call to reception had it replaced with no problems.

The bathroom was clean with toiletries included, the only downside was the shower, the shower was not high enough to stand under it and if you tried to move the riser, the shower hose was too short! If we were staying longer than 2 nights, this wouldn't have been acceptable, however, we could put up with amusing showers during our stay.

The walls aren't the thickest and we could hear our neighbours but were lucky that they were fairly quiet so not a big deal.

Breakfast was included in our deal and there was plenty with the cooked breakfast and the cereals etc on offer to keep us satisfied. Service was efficient although when busy on the Sunday, it did take a few minutes before we were noticed but not the end of the world.

We didn't eat at the hotel in the evenings as there are plenty of pubs and restaurants within a 5 minute walk. We did however, have a nightcap in the bar on both nights and the barman was extremely friendly and helpful.

We were hoping to use the pool after a day's hiking on the Saturday, however, it was full of children jumping and screaming when we wanted to use it so we decided not to - not our idea of relaxing!

If we were to visit the New Forest again, we would certainly stay at the Forest Lodge again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keentravellerworcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

We are delighted that you had a relaxing break at the Forest Lodge Hotel! Our apologies that you found the shower hose to be frustrating - we will certainly have this issue looked into as soon as possible. We hope you will return for another visit in the near future! Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

a weekend away from London - a cosy but stylish bedroom - pull down bunk beds were a novelty for the kids. Great food at breakfast and dinner and the staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful. We thought the hotel offered fantastic value

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hayhillbillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Forest Lodge Hotel and hope you will return in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Booked a pre-valentines weekend using tesco vouchers and stayed in an Agaster room. First impression was excellent with a lovely atmosphere and friendly staff. Snow all around was an added treat. Location is perfect with just a short stroll to the high street and entrance to the New forest. Our room was lovely, although we discovered a problem with no running hot water. The staff couldnt do enough for us and we were upgraded to a four poster deluxe room. What a lovely room with massive shower and all the added extras. Dinner in the glass house restaurant was amazing and well worth the price. The pool is lovely and although the men's shower didnt work, that was a minor blemish on what was a wonderful weekend in the New Forest. Cant recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Thank you for your kind review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your pre-valentines weekend with us! We are sorry about the running water but very pleased you were well looked after by our staff! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Forest Lodge Hotel in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
922 reviews
3.6 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
446 reviews
6.6 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
744 reviews
2.1 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Lodge Hotel

Address: Romsey Road, Pikes Hill, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7AS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range: £107 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a Georgian Dower House of the Notherwood Estate, the Forest Lodge Hotel blends historical charm and contemporary style with warm hospitality. Located just minutes from Lyndhurst and the beautiful New Forest, our boutique hotel is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, family breaks, wedding celebrations, corporate meetings and events. Family-friendly doesn't just mean the kids, we welcome dogs too. With comfy, well appointed rooms featuring great amenities, we're ideal for swift overnight stays and long, indulgent breaks. Stroll into Lyndhurst and hit the boutiques, explore the beautiful New Forest surroundings, relax in our bars and dine well in the award-winning Glasshouse Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Forest Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
Best Western Forest Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing