We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated Hotel - Excellence Experience”
Review of Forest Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Forest Lodge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at the Forest Lodge for a weekend in March 2012 and found the hotel to be an absolute credit to the New Forest Group with excellent accommodation (we stayed in a Verderer room), food and service.

The dining experience was without doubt exceptional, with first class food and service. The Restaurant Manager (Jean Bui) is superb, providing a first class service and excellent recommendation for wine to accompany your meal.

The Duty Manager, Kieran Okey ensured a professional service front of house and all the staff we encountered including the cleaning staff were polite, friendly and professional.

I have read negative comments on this site and cannot agree with them - many appear to be from people with children, however as we travelled as a couple we are unable to comment on this aspect. We found this hotel to be sophisticated and of a very high standard and would have not hesitation in recommending it. It is not a 'cheap' hotel but we found the prices equalled the quality and service so clearly it proves that you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrandMrsSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at the Forest Lodge Hotel! Thank you for your kind comments regarding Jean & Kieran and all the staff in general! We do hope you will return for another visit soon! Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 883 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

Not cheap but very nice. The service is fantastic. Food is great and the hotel was very clean and fresh. The pool is small but very clean and was very relaxing. The location is great as its only a few minutes walk to the main town where there are quite a few restaurants and pubs if you want a change of scenery. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrtn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Forest Lodge Hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the food, service and the hotels facilities and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Have just come back from a 2 night stay and had a great time, we booked with the special offer of 2 nights for the price of 1 with dinner included, (great ofer)

We had a four poster crown room, which we did change as we was room 31, which is near the pool, but had the most creaky floorboards I have ever heard, and quite noisy with people walking past, so we changed to room 26 which was fab, four poster with a corner bath.Reception changed easy, and no bother at all.

We ate dinner here both nights as was included in the offer, and both of us said it was some of the best food we had ever had, but very expensive, but as it was included in our offer, we didnt have to pay, but so glad we did as food was FANTASTIC, Lamb was to die for, as was the special tai curry. Drinks wasnt expensive either. Service was good, not rushed over dinner which is good.

Breakfast was good, but would like to see more frest fruit, and a bit more choice on the help your self part, other then that, the cooked breakfast was yummy.

Pool we had to ourselves, pool was warm and a perfect size, sauna was ok, but never seemed hot enough, but still nice to sit in there, but does need to be hotter. Changing rooms have a shower and towles in there, so no need to bring your own, or from the room.

Overall a great hotel, and will be back, Lyndhurst lovely, and went on some lovely walk's. Should be 4 star as well, so much more then a 3 star hotel.

If you want to stay in a mondern hotel, close to town, with great rooms, great food, and a pool, then this would be a great choice, we will be back again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the pool, room 26 was fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tottenhamSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We used our Tesco vouchers to pay for two of our three nights here, lovely hotel for a long weekend.
Plus points:
- food choice at breakfast good, loved the salmon option, plus gluten free bread available
- dinner: food superb, worth the extra money for a treat
- location, close to town centre but quiet as away from the road
- room clean and tidy
- room comfy
- service from all staff we encountered great

Negative points (all small, dont let them put you off a great hotel):
- had missed our "offer" discount for dinner as offered when booking, took a while to sort out on departure, however Dan on reception very helpful. Thank goodness I took the emails confirming it
- smell as walked by toilet with baby change unit in was awful. The bins were in desperate need of emptying.
- room a little warm even with radiator off for 3 days
- TV signal dropped in and out at times

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avaughanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable long weekend at the Forest Lodge Hotel! We are sorry that you experienced a problem with your dinner offer, but pleased that Dan was able to sort it all out for you! We hope you will come back to stay again soon! Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We spent 2 nights at The Forest Lodge as a group of 4 ladies. The rooms were a little small but adequate as we didn't spend much time in them. The beds were very comfortable and we were in a quiet area of the hotel so all slept well.

We had dinner booked for both nights and the food was good, although a little tepid on our first night - much better temperature on the second. The choice was limited but the food was well presented and the prices were reasonable. The service was friendly and attentive.

Breakfast was OK, but we would have liked more choice of fresh fruit and pastries. Only halved grapefruits and whole apples/pears were offered which was a bit disappointing. The cooked breakfast was excellent (especially the vegetarian breakfast).

The pool area was lovely and not well used.

The hotel is really well situated as it is in walking distance of Lyndhurst and close driving distance of Brockenhurst, Beaulieu and Lymington. There are some superb walks nearby.

We were blessed with fabulous weather - unseasonably hot - so we had a wonderful time. All the members of staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saraWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted that you and your friends had an enjoyable time at the Forest Lodge Hotel and that the weather was kind to you! We have noted your comments about the meals and availability of fruit at breakfast and will pass this information on to the hotel. We hope you will return to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I normally find it easy to write a review but this one is tough. The hotel ticked all the boxes and would normally have received a top review but my stay was influenced by the fact that my room was very depressing.

The hotel is in a great location, looks good and the staff were exceptionally well trained and friendly. The food was excellent - my breakfast porridge was the best I`ve had for years- and the room facilites everything one would expect.

However my room was one of the smallest doubles I`ve been in for ages. The window was small and looked onto the flat roof of the restaurant and the room was furnished in dark wood and dark curtains. The corridor outside was amazingly noisy with creaky floors and there was little sound proofing between floors and rooms. The radiator didn`t work but an electric heater had been provided. Four huge decorative cushions on the bed had to be taken off and the only place to put them was on the chairs. The shower was the type that makes you want to stay under it all day, yet my overall impressions were overshadowed by staying in a room in which I didn`t want to linger.

Judging by the other reviews I probably got a rogue room but the point of a review is to tell it as you find it and I certainly wouldn`t return if offered the same room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased to hear you enjoy your stay, but are sorry you were disappointed with your room. All our rooms are different and I'm sorry you found yours depressing. We hope you will come back and stay with us again, next time in a different room!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed for one night with my husband's company for a Christmas function and was really impressed by hotel. Although we were bed & breakfast you could pay extra for a larger meal. The swimming pool was lovely and we had it to ourselves. Lyndhurst was within walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KennedysHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
920 reviews
3.6 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
445 reviews
6.6 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
744 reviews
2.1 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Lodge Hotel

Address: Romsey Road, Pikes Hill, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7AS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range: £106 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a Georgian Dower House of the Notherwood Estate, the Forest Lodge Hotel blends historical charm and contemporary style with warm hospitality. Located just minutes from Lyndhurst and the beautiful New Forest, our boutique hotel is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, family breaks, wedding celebrations, corporate meetings and events. Family-friendly doesn't just mean the kids, we welcome dogs too. With comfy, well appointed rooms featuring great amenities, we're ideal for swift overnight stays and long, indulgent breaks. Stroll into Lyndhurst and hit the boutiques, explore the beautiful New Forest surroundings, relax in our bars and dine well in the award-winning Glasshouse Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Forest Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
Best Western Forest Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing