We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family break combining Peppa Pig & the 'capital' of the New Forest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forest Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Forest Lodge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family break combining Peppa Pig & the 'capital' of the New Forest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We decided, at the last minute, to book a mini-break combining the New Forest and Peppa Pig world outside of the main school holidays and negotiated a fair late booking rate directly with the hotel.

Forest Lodge Hotel is conveniently situated - literally 10/15 mins drive from the theme park and an oasis of calm for 'grown-ups' after the drone of listening to PP theme music... The hotel is on a side road, that is set back from the main road into Lyndhurst, which means that it's easy to find yet not overlooking traffic. Literally just outside the hotel you can enjoy a vista of open woodland with ponies grazing plus a nearby pub (that serves food) that looked very pleasant (but we weren't staying long enough to sample it's atmosphere/food). We liked the hotel's period features (which do mean that rooms are not laid out in an obvious fashion which, in our opinion, adds to it's character) and it has been rennovated (2 years ago) so the bar, restaurant, toilets and our family room were clean, comfortable and decorated in a contemporary manner (no chinz!).

I think the one thing that we remember from our stay was the service - whilst not of 5 star London standards people were attentive to our needs (tired parents juggling a 4 year old and a baby), considerate and friendly. In particular the barman was flexible - giving us time to choose over the menu, offering advise when asked, willingly assisting us when we needed to move to a warmer area inside rather than dine on the terrace and genuinely demonstrating concern about whether we enjoyed our meal. When we went for an 'after dinner stroll' with the children it wasn't any trouble to be the custodian of our partially full wine glasses either (which we were reunited with..)!

The receptionist on duty on our day of departure was helpful too - providing good tips about where we could park our car to reach good family-friendly cycle routes (Boltons Bench parking area just off the B3056) and recommendations about pubs to visit before the long drive home. Whilst we chose to drive to Bolton Bench this was was an easy walk / cycle ride from the hotel.

The hotel's bar food was of good quality and a fair price especially as we'd recieved a voucher towards the cost (as we'd booked on a DB&B basis). Our family room was spacious, clean and comfortable so no complaints there. The pool was great too - we had sole use and the facilities were clean and tidy. For breakfast a basic buffet was provided (cereals, fruit, milk, juices etc) but hot food & beverage were freshly served to order. Again the food was fresh and, whilst not huge portions, was more than adequate to set you up for the day.

Lyndhust was a great base for a mini break and, whilst clogged with traffic during peak visitor periods, is an attractive town and the peal of church bells added to the atmosphere during our evening stroll. The New Forest Visitor Centre provides a good introduction to the area and is engaging for adults and children alike. Allow 1-2 hours for a visit and it's an easy walk from the hotel. An unexpected added attraction for our 4 year old was the cars he spotted due to the proximity of the Beaulieu National Motor Museum (there was a fair on during the weekend we stayed so lots of classic cars were spotted both in the hotel car park and traveling through Lyndhurst!) and the Ferrari & Maserati garage in Lyndhurst!

We thoroughly enjoyed our mini break and would recommend this hotel - it's everything you would expect of a mid-priced hotel and is very conveniently situated for the New Forest especially is you want to use it as a base to cycle tours and have car enthusiasts within the family!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy100London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this very kind review following your recent visit to the Forest Lodge Hotel. I am delighted to read about your enjoyable stay with us and perhaps next time you could try our Beaulieu Hotel which is even closer to the Beaulieu Motor Museum and will definitely please your little boy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    280
    124
    52
    13
See reviews for
211
363
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

This was a weekend break with our best friends who share the same anniversary as ourselves. We booked Crown Rooms which are apparently the 'best' and cost ££390 for 2 nights. Unfortunately this is not the case. They may have 4 poster beds, but the rooms are only an average size. However, our room was bigger than our friends room. We had a sofa and 2 chairs but there was no table to put a drink on, while our friends only had a chair which had to be moved if they wanted to get to their wardrobe.

Our bathroom was grubby to say the least. On the first evening I spoke to the receptionist to report that the skirting board and wall next to the toilet had urine splattered everywhere. He was apologestic and we agreed it would be cleaned the following morning by the cleaners. This did not happen. I reported it again to reception on Saturday evening and agreed that while we were eating in the Glass House restaurant it would be cleaned. It did not happen. On departure Sunday morning I said how disappointed I was, and was told to contact head office as he was not able to deal with this complaint. I emailed on my return and was offered one free nights stay for one person. NOT GOOD ENOUGH AND I WON'T BE STAYING AGAIN.

We ate at the restaurant which was only 'quite good'. Staff were polite but the service was certainly not the standard you would expect when paying the prices charged. Food was OK but not worth the money. They did not bring the red wine to eat with our main course until I was eating my last mouthful. However, the wine was refunded as a gesture of goodwill. Finally, the coffee machine had broken down and we were unable to have cappacino!

On a positive note, the pub a stone's throw from the hotel served excellent food, I wish we'd gone there instead of the Glass House restaurant.

The New Forest is beautiful and we will definitely visit this area again, but we won't stay at Forest Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyUnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Forest Lodge Hotel. Due to the design and age of the building, all the rooms are different sizes and therefore have different furnishings to suit. I am sorry you had problems with the housekeeping and will ensure your comments are forwarded to the manager for further staff training where required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed here as part of the Peppa Pig package, for 2 nights before making our way on to the Isle of Wight. I spent a long time looking at all the hotels that were included in the Peppa Pig package, and although this was one of the more expensive I'm glad we picked here. Everything was great. Our family room, we have 3 children, was plenty big enough for us all, was clean & tidy, and had everything we could require, including a huge fan which we needed one hot night! The breakfast was perfect too, although not a buffet style for all, it was perfect for us as a family with 3 children, it was so much easier for our breakfast choice to be delivered to the table, rather than trying to juggle several plates for the kiddies. My children had the pancakes with chocolate sauce both mornings, so they would definitely return here. We upgraded to the larger breakfast which was delicious. The babies food was warmed no problem, we really couldn't fault our stay. We would definitely come back here next time we visit Peppa Pig world which was only 10 minutes down the road.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed here last weekend with our 2 year old daughter and were visiting the area primarily to visit Peppa Pig World. This hotel was in a perfect location and also very close to the town, where we also hired bikes to ride in the New Forest to see the wild ponies.
We had a Family room and it was excellent - spacious with large double bed, bunk beds and a travel cot. Good selection of TV channels and tea/coffee/biscuits/toiletries all provided. Extremely clean with fresh towels provided whenever needed and a daily maid service.
We pre-ordered a chocolate cake for our room before arrival as it was mine and my daughter's birthday and the chef certainly didn't disappoint. It was delicious and also during our first evening meal the chef decorated our dessert plate with 'Happy Birthday and Anniversary' as it was also our Wedding Anniversary - a very welcomed personal touch that we really appreciated.
The staff were very helpful with suggestions of what to do in the area. Big thank you to Jean in the Glasshouse Restaurant for looking after us each night! Lovely restaurant with exceptional food. We were made to feel extremely welcome and they catered for our daughter brilliantly too. All food was included in our room rate and the breakfast was equally as good - best scrambled eggs!!
We used the swimming pool twice and basically had it to ourselves - very clean with fresh towels in the changing rooms. Perfect pool for children too.
Overall, we honestly couldnt find any fault with our stay and not only would highly recommend this hotel, but already planning on staying there again in the future.
Thank you very much for such a lovely stay!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingskerswell
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed here for three nights this weekend. The room was very good, clean and comfy. The staff in reception were very helpful. The only disappointment was the breakfast, I expected it to be a buffet breakfast, the fruit juice, cereal etc was buffet style but the cooked breakfast wasn't. We had the basic breakfast which was bacon, sausage, egg & tomato. you could pay extra and have a bigger breakfast which included mushrooms, fried bread etc. On the last morning the person serving us forgot to take our order for breakfast and after 30 mins we had to go and tell him. Apart from that it was a lovely stay and we would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit the New Forest.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Forest Lodge Hotel. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable visit, despite the problems experienced with your breakfast. I do hope this won't put you off staying with us again in the near future! Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

On 31st March 2012, we celebrated our wedding at Forest Lodge. Our day was faultless from beginning to end. The staff are superb and so helpful and accommodating. Right from our first visit we knew this was the venue for our wedding. The wedding co-ordinator and manager met us many times and were happy to talk over plans several times to calm my nerves, they never made me feel like I was being a nuisance!! They wanted to make our day perfect and special.

The size and setting was perfect for our wedding of 70 day guests and our guests of all ages enjoyed the day, they still rave about it 6 months later!!

The food was out of this world, and everything was served quickly, fresh and hot. They accommodated dietary requirements perfectly, providing delicious alternatives.
The bar is very reasonably priced and the staff were fantastic throughout the day and evening.

The garden is beautiful and perfect for photos. The inside is beautifully decorated and perfect for photos indoors too.
The rooms are spacious, clean and modern and very comfortable.

I have recommended this hotel to other couples who are planning their wedding. It is a wonderful venue, amazing staff and very reasonable. Although they have their set wedding packages, they were very happy to make changes to meet our wishes and make our day personal.

We can't wait to go back for our one year anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for allowing us to host your special day! I am delighted to read your comments about how smoothly all the planning went and that the big day was such a success! I do hope you'll return for your 1 year Anniversary! Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We had an enjoyable 4 night stay at the Best Western Forest Lodge. Staff were extremely friendly (especially the bar staff) and were very accommodating to our 9 month old baby, our room was spacious and clean, and location was perfect for exploring the New Forest. Only slight issue was the cold temperature of the indoor swimming pool. Would definitely recommend this hotel, especially for families.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit at the Forest Lodge Hotel. I am delighted to read that you were well taken care of by the staff and hope you will return for another break very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
3.6 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
6.2 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Lodge Hotel

Property: Forest Lodge Hotel
Address: Romsey Road, Pikes Hill, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7AS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a Georgian Dower House of the Notherwood Estate, the Forest Lodge Hotel blends historical charm and contemporary style with warm hospitality. Located just minutes from Lyndhurst and the beautiful New Forest, our boutique hotel is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, family breaks, wedding celebrations, corporate meetings and events. Family-friendly doesn't just mean the kids, we welcome dogs too. With comfy, well appointed rooms featuring great amenities, we're ideal for swift overnight stays and long, indulgent breaks. Stroll into Lyndhurst and hit the boutiques, explore the beautiful New Forest surroundings, relax in our bars and dine well in the award-winning Glasshouse Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Forest Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
Best Western Forest Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing