We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (944)
Filter reviews
944 results
Traveller rating
349
354
146
75
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
349
354
146
75
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolglasshouse restaurantcellar barred letterbunk bedsglass housefamily roompeppa pig worldlovely hotelbooked this hotelbreakfast and dinnertravel cotpaultons parkwaterloo armsfour posterduty managerboth nights
Filter
Updating list...
657 - 662 of 944 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Situated on the outskirts of Lyndhurst, the hotel is roughly an eight minute walk from the town centre, and ideally situated for visiting the New Forest.
Our room (25), which was situated on the first floor, was fairly small but with high ceilings. However, the room was certainly not the cleanest we had ever stayed in. There were numerous dust/cobwebs hanging from the ceilings, and both the window frames and between the radiators were caked in dust. The net curtains were torn, and did not look very clean. Even in the Glasshouse restaurant the net curtains were stained with food splashes, and the floor was not particularly clean. Some of the floorboards were fairly creaky, but not really a problem.
In addition to this our window overlooked the outside decked area of the bar, which was fairly noisy one evening following a wedding reception.
There was a complimentary refreshment tray containing tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits, but no bottled water.
The breakfast was fairly mediocre with some items undercooked. There was fairly limited choice, and the cooked breakfast seemed fairly small in comparison to similar establishments.
I dislike writing negative reviews about hotels, but hope that in doing so the negative issues are put right for future quests.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molesey19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that there were problems with cleanliness in your room, I will ensure your comments are forwarded to the general manager for further action. With regards to the net curtains in your room, these have now been replaced. I am sorry that you did not find enough choice on the breakfast menu, in addition to the English breakfast or Smoked Salmon on toast, there is an ample buffet for you to enjoy. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here for one night. Overall our experience was really good, the staff were really lovely and really helpful, especially the receptionist. It's in a good location, just a short walk to Lyndhurst, with good views and plenty of parking. The downstairs of the hotel was well decorated, nice but not what I would describe as luxurious. The bedroom itself is where I felt it was let down a little, it was nice enough but very basic looking and in need of a bit of a revamp in my opinion, the furniture felt a bit like a worn travel lodge and I expected a bit more luxury for the price. It was clean though, and had everything you would expect inside, except perhaps the ability to control the temperature. There is a pool which I guess makes the price a bit more understandable but we didn't get a chance to use it with our stay being so short. The breakfast in the morning was very good with a good choice on the menu (although some croissants or similar would have been good), we had the English breakfast made with local produce and it was lovely.
I would stay here again if I could get a better price for the room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had chosen this hotel mainly on location, but were very pleasantly surprised by the rooms, the food and, last but certainly not least, its staff.
We had a beautiful room on the first floor, overlooking a rather small garden bordered by big, beautiful trees. In the evening and morning we had a real bird concert!
Despite the rather busy road (A337 less than 100 yards away) the hotel is surprisingly quiet.
The restaurant was great, we thoroughly enjoyed our meals there!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are very pleasant.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel is in Lyndhurst, off the main road with plenty of parking. On arrival the welcome and friendliness of the staff was amazing, and almost unnerving. However, it was genuine. We had dogs who were very welcome. The room had a view of the garden/ car park. It was very quiet despite a wedding the weekend we were there. Staff gave very good advice on where to go, what to see and were really helpful.
Breakfast was good, reasonable choice, with ample seating.
The only reason this is not excellent as facilities were taken over by the wedding guests and therefore, having a drink at the bar or late afternoon tea was not really possible. Would recommend this hotel with or without dogs and Lyndhurst was a good base to see the New Forest.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank roaming13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews