We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, relaxing break!”
Review of Forest Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Forest Lodge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“A lovely, relaxing break!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We chose this hotel because we were visiting Beaulieu Motor Museum and didn't want to travel far. It was the right choice! The hotel is lovely ~ great atmosphere, super accommodation, friendly/helpful staff and all round a lovely, relaxing break!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Jayne910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    303
    134
    59
    15
See reviews for
237
389
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We Booked the FL because it was dog friendly, but was delighted to find it offered a lot more than just a pooch's paradise. The staff were very friendly and accommodating even though we were very late checking in, and our first impressions were of a well run and kept Hotel with good public spaces and a comfortable, well stocked bar and lounge, a good G&T always calms the fevered brain after a fraught Ferry crossing. Our family room was spacious, well appointed and spotlessly clean and we had a great nights sleep in the huge queen size bed,The breakfast next morning was excellent, freshly prepared to order and served to table, much better than the ubiquitous buffet style where you seem to spend more time walking back and fore around the dining room than actually eating. If there was one small omission it was the lack of choice if you didn't want a cooked breakfast, some local cheese's and cold meats wouldn't go amiss. Other than that, the dining room is an elegant and well proportioned space which always enhances the eating experience to make this a lovely country hotel ideally situated in the middle of the New Forest to explore some wonderful woodland scenery.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter_fowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We were attending the New Forest Show and needed somewhere to stay that was handy for the showground. This hotel was ideally situated, we found it really easily and parked in their car park right outside. They managed to find us a table in bar to eat a quick (late) supper and our family room (with bunk bed) was perfectly clean and ideal for the price. The following morning we were down at the indoor pool by 7am to have a swim before breakfast, which was refreshing. The breakfast was just what you'd expect - hot menu with buffet - and everything was well cooked and tasty. The staff - particularly the barmaid - were very friendly and we were pleased with our choice.

Room Tip: The family room would have taken two children (bunk bed).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights arriving on the Friday about 6:30. The traffic for Lyndhurst backs up well before the hotel entrance so the last part of the journey was a traffic jam. This was the case every time we came in or out, so if you need to be there for a particular time beware.
We had taken advantage of a special offer to include evening meal on the first night and enjoyed the food very much. But the service, both in the restaurant and at check in, was friendly but disorganised.
Our room was really nice, clean and well furnished, but we thought the public areas a bit lack lustre. However, we did enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purpleTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return to one of our hotels in the New Forest in the near future! The New Forest is very popular, especially in the Summer, and traffic therefore can be a problem at peak times on our smaller forest roads. It is always advisable to leave extra time for your journey! I am delighted you enjoyed the food, and will ensure the general manager is informed of your comments regarding the service so that he can investigate them further. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxbourne
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel perfect location for Peppa Pig world but family room is VERY basic and in need of refit. Bathroom was worse than a Travelodge. If you are having breakfast allow a good 5 hours ;-) Everything took AGES. Unfortunately the hotel is run by 18 year olds paying off their student loans and it's not their fault they just don't have experience running a hotel. So if you can put up with very basic room and slow service the location is super for Peppa Pig and the New Forest.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 19Fordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
I am pleased you found the location of the Forest Lodge Hotel to be ideal for your visit to the New Forest and Peppa Pig World. I am however sorry you found the service to be slow and I will ensure your comments are investigated by our general manager to implement further staff training where required. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We were very happy with the hotel. We have two kids, one 7 and one 2. The hotel catered for both wonderfully. We asked for many things during our stay and it was the "nothing is too much to ask for" attitude that impressed us the most. The room was reasonably spacious and clean (the shower was wonderful). The pool was nice. We ate breakfast at the hotel and the food was good. Definitely a pleasant stay.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ISAD2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Woodham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Good location for a New Forest stay with a fairly short walk into Lyndhurst. Very good restaurant and an enjoyable breakfast selection. Room was fine, functional & clean with helpful staff. Originally found by chance from a Red letter day offer (produced the lowest cost stay) and returned for a second stay this year.

Room Tip: Originally found by chance from a Red letter day offer (produced the lowest cost stay)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
2.8 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
835 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
787 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
686 reviews
6.2 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
348 reviews
6.8 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Lodge Hotel

Property: Forest Lodge Hotel
Address: Romsey Road, Pikes Hill, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7AS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a Georgian Dower House of the Notherwood Estate, the Forest Lodge Hotel blends historical charm and contemporary style with warm hospitality. Located just minutes from Lyndhurst and the beautiful New Forest, our boutique hotel is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, family breaks, wedding celebrations, corporate meetings and events. Family-friendly doesn't just mean the kids, we welcome dogs too. With comfy, well appointed rooms featuring great amenities, we're ideal for swift overnight stays and long, indulgent breaks. Stroll into Lyndhurst and hit the boutiques, explore the beautiful New Forest surroundings, relax in our bars and dine well in the award-winning Glasshouse Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Forest Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
Best Western Forest Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing