We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would we return? Yes we would!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forest Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Forest Lodge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Would we return? Yes we would!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at Forest Lodge for a wedding the weekend of 25th / 26th July.
Reception was excellent with a pleasant and speedy check in. Our room was clean and on the whole was fine although I personally found the bed uncomfortable (my husband didn't) but the pillows need renewing as they were very lumpy. The room was incredibly hot ( it was a boiling weekend to be fair) and although a fan was provided the hotel really needs to look at getting air con.
We ate in the restaurant on the first evening. The food and service was second to none - in fact the restaurant is the best thing about the hotel - we were very impressed with the standard, variety and professional service.
Breakfast on both mornings was equally as good, with enough variety to suit everyone although less than what we are used to in other hotels.
Sadly the bar let the hotel down. They were unorganized, lacked customer service and were not stocked up. Bearing in mind we were at a wedding and therefore they knew they were going to be busy they ran out of draught lager early on, had no lime, ran out of bottled cider........
maybe the restaurant staff could teach the bar staff a thing or two!
The hotel management were excellent. They supported the wedding impeccably and the wedding itself was lovely, the ceremony room was decorated really tastefully.
I used the pool both mornings. It's fine for a swim - maybe a jacuzzi would enhance it further.
All in all we enjoyed our stay. I did think it was rather expensive for what you got but I guess thats the price of staying in the New Forest. Would we return? Yes we would!

Room Tip: We think all rooms are ok. We saw a four poster and we had a standard double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    281
    124
    53
    13
See reviews for
212
365
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

My wife and I were visiting from Australia, and staying with my wife's sister and her family in London. My sister in law and her husband booked 2 nights at this hotel and the four of us had the most enjoyable stay. The staff were more than very accommodating, the hotel comfortable, and we enjoyed a nice breakfast and dinner. A very memorable time for us. Sincere thanks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I am sitting on there outdoor decking now writing this review. I have waited 40 mins now for a half pint of coke overlooking the car park. We have a dark family room for 4. The kids have a fold up bunk bed which is surprisingly unsafe and unsteady. There is no room for all of us. The swimming pool is diddy compared to the picture on the website and the changing facilities are poor. Staff are slightly friendly but not to welcoming. The second we drove in my kids were saying 'are you joking this is so run down'. I hope this helps you decide on your visit. Good luck! Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HFamilyWestSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate guest feedback as it helps us to monitor and improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We chose this hotel because we were visiting Beaulieu Motor Museum and didn't want to travel far. It was the right choice! The hotel is lovely ~ great atmosphere, super accommodation, friendly/helpful staff and all round a lovely, relaxing break!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Jayne910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We Booked the FL because it was dog friendly, but was delighted to find it offered a lot more than just a pooch's paradise. The staff were very friendly and accommodating even though we were very late checking in, and our first impressions were of a well run and kept Hotel with good public spaces and a comfortable, well stocked bar and lounge, a good G&T always calms the fevered brain after a fraught Ferry crossing. Our family room was spacious, well appointed and spotlessly clean and we had a great nights sleep in the huge queen size bed,The breakfast next morning was excellent, freshly prepared to order and served to table, much better than the ubiquitous buffet style where you seem to spend more time walking back and fore around the dining room than actually eating. If there was one small omission it was the lack of choice if you didn't want a cooked breakfast, some local cheese's and cold meats wouldn't go amiss. Other than that, the dining room is an elegant and well proportioned space which always enhances the eating experience to make this a lovely country hotel ideally situated in the middle of the New Forest to explore some wonderful woodland scenery.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter_fowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We were attending the New Forest Show and needed somewhere to stay that was handy for the showground. This hotel was ideally situated, we found it really easily and parked in their car park right outside. They managed to find us a table in bar to eat a quick (late) supper and our family room (with bunk bed) was perfectly clean and ideal for the price. The following morning we were down at the indoor pool by 7am to have a swim before breakfast, which was refreshing. The breakfast was just what you'd expect - hot menu with buffet - and everything was well cooked and tasty. The staff - particularly the barmaid - were very friendly and we were pleased with our choice.

Room Tip: The family room would have taken two children (bunk bed).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights arriving on the Friday about 6:30. The traffic for Lyndhurst backs up well before the hotel entrance so the last part of the journey was a traffic jam. This was the case every time we came in or out, so if you need to be there for a particular time beware.
We had taken advantage of a special offer to include evening meal on the first night and enjoyed the food very much. But the service, both in the restaurant and at check in, was friendly but disorganised.
Our room was really nice, clean and well furnished, but we thought the public areas a bit lack lustre. However, we did enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purpleTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return to one of our hotels in the New Forest in the near future! The New Forest is very popular, especially in the Summer, and traffic therefore can be a problem at peak times on our smaller forest roads. It is always advisable to leave extra time for your journey! I am delighted you enjoyed the food, and will ensure the general manager is informed of your comments regarding the service so that he can investigate them further. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
3.6 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
6.6 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Lodge Hotel

Property: Forest Lodge Hotel
Address: Romsey Road, Pikes Hill, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7AS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a Georgian Dower House of the Notherwood Estate, the Forest Lodge Hotel blends historical charm and contemporary style with warm hospitality. Located just minutes from Lyndhurst and the beautiful New Forest, our boutique hotel is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, family breaks, wedding celebrations, corporate meetings and events. Family-friendly doesn't just mean the kids, we welcome dogs too. With comfy, well appointed rooms featuring great amenities, we're ideal for swift overnight stays and long, indulgent breaks. Stroll into Lyndhurst and hit the boutiques, explore the beautiful New Forest surroundings, relax in our bars and dine well in the award-winning Glasshouse Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Forest Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
Best Western Forest Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing