We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (984)
Filter reviews
984 results
Traveller rating
373
364
150
76
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
373
364
150
76
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool glasshouse restaurant cellar bar glass house bunk beds family room peppa pig world lovely hotel booked this hotel breakfast and dinner paultons park four poster both nights short stroll cooked breakfast very pleasant stay town centre
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 984 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2018

Very efficient,very friendly and helpful, they booked us a table for dinner Friday night in the Glass house, Very good service and great food, all in all a great experience and i would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room tip: no lift so if impaired ask for a ground floor room, but only 2 floors anyway.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickD84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura G, Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Dear MickD84,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and for the recommendation. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

Just returned home following an excellent afternoon tea. Service was excellent and friendly. The sandwiches and cake were delicious and very well presented. We have never tasted better scones!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank billbadger570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura G, Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Dear billbadger570,

Thank you so much for the lovely review and the recommendation. I am pleased you enjoyed your afternoon tea and I hope we can welcome you back to Forest Lodge again soon.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Booked in here for one night on a very attractive Dinner/B & B offer. The hotel is part of a small chain of four hotels dotted in and around the New Forest. The Forest Lodge Hotel is situated a short 5 – 10 minute walk into Lyndhurst and makes a perfect spot for exploring the nearby towns of Beaulieu and Lymington. We were warmly greeted on arrival and the receptionist “warned” us that there was a wedding reception taking place and suggested a slightly earlier table for dinner to avoid any delays in the kitchen – very thoughtful of her. We took advantage of the indoor swimming pool - decent size and nice and bright with windows along two of the sides – and the sauna. Our package gave us a £50 allowance towards dinner and anything over this just gets added to your bill when you check out. The food generally speaking was excellent with generous portions. My cheese soufflé starter though was not as light as I had hoped but the tempura battered fish with triple cooked chips was excellent. My pudding was a panna cotta and again no complaints on that front. My wife was equally complimentary about her lamb starter and coq-a vin main and sticky toffee pudding dessert. Breakfast the following morning was a mixture of a continental style buffet and in a nice touch your cooked breakfast was done to order – nice! This was a very enjoyable stay at a very nicely run hotel and we will certainly keep an eye out for deals at their sister hotels as it offered excellent value for money. One final thing to say is that dogs are allowed to stay for £10 a night.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colehillc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura G, Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Dear colehill c,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad that you and your wife enjoyed your time with us and it was a pleasure reading such a lovely review. I do hope that if you are visiting the New Forest again that you will return.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

We have stayed in the Forest Lodge Hotel many times now, it is our go to hotel in The New Forest. We have celebrated various birthdays and wedding anniversaries here and never been disappointed, indeed the staff have always made us feel like the most important of people! We are always made welcome, nothing is too much trouble, its convenient to access Lyndhurst and the forest. We don't always eat in the restaurant but when we have the food is good and the service friendly. I am sure there are grander hotels in which to stay but, we just like this one! Would we recommend the hotel? Yes. Will we be going back? Most certainly!!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank drummer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura G, Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Dear drummer56,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us and I am pleased to read that this was a return visit! I am also happy that you will be coming back to stay with us again. Please feel free to contact us if you need any help with the booking and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

we recently stated at forest lodge for our wedding we arrived on the afternoon before booked into the bridal suite , the room itself is big enough to get hair and make up done by professionals and not feel cramped id say the only thing that was disappointing were small details like the table chair leather has worn away and they had missed a few areas of dust but to be fair these things are minor (i always bring detol wipes no matter where we go) .
The hotel set up the main room for our ceremony which looked lovely we had charlotte as wedding events manager who did everything i asked ,once we were married we had some photos around the grounds guests had use of the bar and then the wedding meal followed they did an excellent job with the decor and food was really good .

we had a evening Do with a dj which we arranged it all went smoothly ,hotel provided the buffet which again went down a treat .

i think this hotel is great for weddings as its good location .

hopefully it will get some money spent on the minor things but to be honest these things didn't effect our stay but as its not cheap maybe should be looked into .

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank hayley282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura G, Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Dear hayley282,

Thank you for reviewing your wedding with us and I am glad that you had such a lovely wedding day. You have given some great constructive feedback that we will be looking into but I am happy that overall your wedding day and stay with us lived up to expectation.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews