We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (958)
Filter reviews
958 results
Traveller rating
352
361
148
76
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
352
361
148
76
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool glasshouse restaurant cellar bar red letter glass house bunk beds family room peppa pig world lovely hotel booked this hotel breakfast and dinner paultons park waterloo arms duty manager four poster both nights short stroll
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 958 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2018

We only booked for one night and were happily satisfied with the room and the cleanliness of the Hotel. We used the swimming pool twice and both times we had it, and the sauna to ourselves, this was a surprise as it`s a great hotel pool. It has a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere as a good hotel should have, and the staff members whom we met could not be faulted, special mention for Michelle on reception.
Thanks.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank holidayanimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura G, Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Dear holidayanimal,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for leaving such a lovely review. I will pass your comments onto Michelle and make sure she gets the recognition that she deserves.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

The hotel was not what we expected. We stayed from Friday to Sunday but we were not told when we booked the room that there would be a wedding on the Saturday. Nothing wrong with a wedding but had they mentioned it we would not have booked. The hotel should have had the rooms booked for the wedding alone. It was chaos for us other guests, we all payed good money but didn't get the service because the hotel was understaffed and focused on the wedding.
The rooms in the hotel were standard, quite clean and comfortable, no complaints.
The food was not up to standard and could have been a lot better. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel but we hear did complaints from those who did that it was quite chaotic and the staff couldn't manage.
We will not return to this hotel, nothing to do with the staff but a fault with the management.

Room tip: Have breakfast out in Lyndhurst, plenty of choice.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highlander1746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura G, Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Dear Highlander1746,

My sincerest apologies that you were not made aware of the wedding on site during your visit. We have implemented a procedure in which we email all guests letting them know if there is an event on site during their stay but I am sorry that this was bought in after you stayed with us. If you do choose to stay again please feel free to ask at time of booking or call the hotel directly if there is any concern that your stay may be effected.
Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

We got married here 8 years ago and come to stay twice a year but slowly things are changing
The food isn’t as good as it was and the menu a A5 sheet resembles a cheap cafe
We attended a family wedding reception after for the third time recommending this place to family who have all also held events here
This hotel is beautiful full of history and set in a lovely part of the forest
We arrived to find one very flustered man behind the bar with people five deep trying to get served
It took us 20 mins to get served and after complaining to reception at the lack of staff after an hour finally another person arrived to help
Why oh why was the second bar not opened to relieve the burden
Our first drinks order due to the language barrier with the Romanian barman has to be changed twice and the final straw was ordering an apple juice to be given a bottle of apple juice out of the fridge that had been opened and half drunk already
Why are staff storing drinks in the fridge
Then to find no orange juice or selected bottled beers,when questioned on how would you serve orange for breakfast in the morning if you have none to serve now
To get no reply.
Two hours later when a senior manager was found we questioned this and from the bar below bottled beers and orange were brought up so it appears the staff had lied about not having these products
Add to this family issues over a roombooked months ago that had been given out to someone else so the wrong room was given ie a twin instead of a double and not a four poster room and this fast became a shambles
We left disappointed and so much so maybe we won’t be returning in the future or recommending this hotel to others
Such a shame as this hotel holds so many great memories and we estimate our family over the last 8 years have spent beyond 50k here

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank saintlee1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura G, Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Dear saintlee1970,

I would like to apologise about the issues that you encountered when you came to stay with us. As you have said this is not the usual standard of service that you have been used to or would expect and I am disappointed that on your last visit it was not up to standard.
Please be aware that since your last visit we have invested a lot of time into training our staff and have implemented changes that have improved the guest experience. I do hope that you choose to return so you can see Forest Lodge at its best and you can make some more great memories with us.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

The room was very comfortable and included a towelling bathrobe in which to go to the superb indoor swimming pool. All staff did their best to help us enjoy our stay and we did. As one of our party had a dog, we ate in the bar not the restaurant so that the dog did not have to be left alone. This worked well and we enjoyed the food - particularly the breakfast sausages. The Night Manager was very attentive on the first night when we had difficulty getting into our room and sorted out everything very well. All the staff were courteous and professional and welcoming, thus ensuring that we had a really relaxing and enjoyable break. Thank you!

Room tip: Rooms overlooking the square at the back have the best view
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cordelia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura G, Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Dear Cordelia M,

Thank you so much for your lovely review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back to Forest Lodge again in the future.

Many Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

Very efficient,very friendly and helpful, they booked us a table for dinner Friday night in the Glass house, Very good service and great food, all in all a great experience and i would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room tip: no lift so if impaired ask for a ground floor room, but only 2 floors anyway.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickD84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura G, Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Dear MickD84,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and for the recommendation. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews