We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, cosy and in the heart of the forest”
Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage
Back garden Lounge Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Cottage
Back garden
Lounge Area
Dining Area
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3 with twin beds and 1 Cot
Bathroom 2 (Shower, bidet, sink & Toilet)
Bathroom 2 ( bath, sink & Toilet)
View from Lounge Window
New Forest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Lyndhurst, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
benriddel...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, cosy and in the heart of the forest”
Reviewed 10 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Perfectly situated cottage with easy access to pubs, bikes and a whole lot of beauty.
Chris is very helpful and the whole thing was very easy to organise.
Highly recommended!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing. A cosy and delightful cottage in the heart of the New Forest.”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This year myself and 7 friends wanted a nice relaxing week away over new year in the New Forest. We got lucky with Swan Green Cottages. Character features throughout and cosy and comfortable, especially with the beautiful open fire roaring away. The was plenty of space for all 8 and two small dogs. The perfect location if country walks are your thing or a day trip to the Isle of Wight. If you're over 6ft like me you may want to duck occasionally though ;-)


We couldn't ask for more. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimjam28
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely homely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 26 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the cottage for a weekend for two families with young children. The cottage is really beautiful and in a great location on the edge of the new forest.
The cottage has a lovely front and back gardens and ample parking (although the front drive is quite narrow to access)
The cottage is really well equipped for children with a cot, high chair and child gate. The stairs in the property is quite steep and you do need to watch the children on them but this did not cause a problem for us. The separate TV room and main room with the dinning table & open fire gave enough space for the children to play and relax.
Lyndhurst was a short walk away which was great for shopping, restaurants & pubs. Even better is having the Swan inn at the end of the road, which is a great pub and does a great Sunday roast.
Overall we loved staying in a traditional thatched cottage and had plenty of room for 2 families for the weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamir52
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location to stay and explore.”
Reviewed 8 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely 16th century large thatched cottage full of atmosphere an charm.
Large open fire made for a really relaxing evening.
Plenty of living room for our group of seven.
Good location to set of and explore the coast to Stonehenge.
Owners were very helpful in sorting out a couple of minor issues we encountered.
Stairs can be a bit of a challenge.
Will come back again, this time in the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Near by Forest good central location.
Liked least: Need to be aware of the traffic around the area as it can be very busy,especially the evenings
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon b
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ideal new forest location”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing value for a thatched cottage that sleeps so many. We were away for a weekend with my Dad and his 6 sons, this accommodation was perfectly located for our needs. Visited the Swan Inn (over the road) and the New Forest Inn (walk over the hill) both of which are great.
Walkable to Lyndhurst and well equipped for a large group including a perfect sized table for eating and games.
Wifi included.

The property is an absolute treasure.
Would love to come back in the summer and utilise the gardens.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and quaitness
Liked least: Mattresses, but they are personal arenty they
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill S
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming cosy cottage with wonderful views”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

For this return visit we took our Australian cousin - and our dog! - as we've always loved it. Our cousin was fascinated to stay in an authentic thatched English cottage and thought it was lovely. As usual, the accommodation lived up to our expectations and she got used to ducking her head on the staircase(she's tall). The cottage is clean, cosy and warm within walking distance of the beautiful village of Lyndhurst, and our cousin loved seeing the ponies on the green opposite, on the edge of the forest. It was good to have the 2 bathrooms and off-road parking for the car. Nice to have 2 good pubs within walking distance, though kitchen is well-stocked with everything, including a dishwasher. We really look forward to returning and there are now numerous photos of the cottage in Australia!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Old world charm and cosiness
Liked least: driving over the cattle grid up the road
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baghera22...
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for families”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at the cottage with my husband and 2 daughters. I appreciated the cottage a lot because it was welcoming, cozy and very clean. I have a 7 year old and 1 year old child and found a lovely room with a cot, toys, books and games for kids of all ages. It made me feel as I was at home. The cottage brings you back in time as it's furnished and perfectly preserved as it would be in 1600 still offering modern comfort. The area offers a lot to do for active families and non.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cottage
Liked least: buzy road during holiday period
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing