We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place To Camp”
Review of Acres Down Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyndhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Acres Down Farm
Burghfield Bridge
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Great Place To Camp”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I have stayed here a number of times, and always enjoy it.
The camp site is basic, with a couple of showers at £1, toilets, hot & cold water, and not a lot else. And that is just the way I like it.
This camp site is on a working farm, and breakfast is available in the farmhouse, if booked the night before, this is a little pricey for what you get, but if it saves me taking a cooking stove etc. then I am in favour of this breakfast.
There is also a farm shop which provides some provisions, and is well maintained and stocked.
The site is off the main road, with access to open countryside (The New Forest) and its walkways and cycleways right outside the gate.
The cost of this site compares very favourably to many others in and around the new Forest.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gotravelagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    18
    7
    8
    41
See reviews for
37
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wickham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My family and i had a wonderful stay here. Such a pretty setting, plenty of walks in the stunning area. Camp site was well kept, clean and tidy. The cream teas were wonderful. Lashings of cream, homemade jam and lots of scomes. We had a feast. Will be returning next year.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Ended up here on a Sunday for a cream tea. Well if this is the best in the New forest I'm glad we didn't go anywhere else. The owners of this dump have obviously never been to Devon or Cornwall to see how a proper cream tea should be served. Sloppy jam, too runny to stay on the minute scone, no clotted cream but some fluffed up tasteless cream. The pot of tea was ok though, and plenty of it, unlike the scones. Also no provision for young children, ie soft drinks. The owners manners could do with a look at too, she gave very short thrift to any constructive comments, a case of if you don't like it, go somewhere else. I suggest you do.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

If you want to be ripped off, then this is the site for you! (Charged £10 per pup tent plus £15 for camper-van which totaled £35 for one night with extremely basic facilities)

If you want to be spoken to by site owners in an officious and unfriendly way, then definitely stay here. The site owner's daughter overlooks the field from her house in anticipation of transgressions committed by unsuspecting campers, then eagerly stomps over to point out camper's mistakes in the most unfriendly and inhospitable manner. (Yes, this really happened to us)

This is undoubtedly a beautiful site but the grim atmosphere provided by the owners meant that we could not wait to leave in the morning.

I have been camping for many years, however this is the first time I have felt aggrieved enough to write a review of a campsite.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzieheywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Perfect Weather, Location and Great Value. We have stayed at this campsite before but quite a few years ago and were very impressed with the new improvments that have been made to the site. The VERY RUSTIC toilets have been replaced with a small but well managed toilet block with plenty of hot water, toilet roll & soap. There is also a lovely well stocked farm shop on site now which proved to be very handy replacing all the things i forget to pack!
It looks like the same family are running the place and they were all friendly and helpful.

It is a basic site just toilets and a standing pipe for water so if you need lots of facilities when you camp this probably wouldn't be the place for you. Also a car is a must as there isn't any public transport nearby the nearest train station is 6 miles away. We paid £14 per night for our 6 man tent which compared to other campsite in this area is great value.

The location is perfect you are situated down a quiet country lane with miles of forest all around you. We brought our bikes and spent most of the time exploring the woods, building dens and tree houses with the kids and then finished the day with a yummy barbecue.
They still serve the delicious cream teas in the pretty farmhouse garden - 2 homemade scones with jam & cream followed by massive slice of homemade cake with tea or coffee £4-60 each fantastic value!!!!

Well Done Acres Down Farm ;-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We came across this little site completely by accident many years ago, and enjoy being there so much that it has become an annual pilgrimage almost.
The site is quite basic, but it doesn't purport to be anything flash and all the facilities are kept very clean. It is in a particularly beautiful part of the forest, and we find this little farm setting just the perfect place to relax and get away from it all. The owners are very friendly and helpful when asked, but leave you to get on with it otherwise.
I have recommended this site to many friends, who have since paid it a visit and have also returned time and time again.
The breakfasts are very pleasant, the cream teas are to die for and the helpings of both are very generous.
I have read some of the previous reviews and am very surprised at how negative they are. In my opinion the family are very pleasant, jovial and hard working and keep themselves to themselves. It is worth bearing in mind that this is a working farm, and if you don't like the odd bit of cow dung, or cannot respect the farmers land and basic sensible rules such as shutting gates, perhaps you should just get yourselves off to one of the larger, commercial and more expensive campsites that litter the forest.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky222013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Having read reviews on here and visiting here arranged by others I was wondering.......
We arrived mid afternoon and were met by a lovely jovial lady who greeted us warmly and explained about the site.
Found the site consisted of two fields, one quite flat and the second on a slight slope but both well drained and dry.
Facilities basic but adequate. Plenty of hot water and clean.
OK the toilets and showers are limited (2 showers and two gents toilets, didn't check ladies!) but didn't have to wait at all.
Lovely location and nice people. Wondered where the rude and grumpy people mentioned in other reviews were?
We will certainly be back and recommend this site to friends.
If you want power hook-ups and rip-off prices go to 'camping in the forest' sites.
Come here for peace, quiet and relaxation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hersheba2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.0 mi away
Sandy Balls Holiday Village
Sandy Balls Holiday Village
#2 of 14 in Fordingbridge
328 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cypress Log Cabins
Cypress Log Cabins
#1 of 14 in Fordingbridge
276 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stag Hotel
Stag Hotel
#10 of 22 in Lyndhurst
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acres Down Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acres Down Farm

Property: Acres Down Farm
Address: Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7GE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Lyndhurst
Also Known As:
Acres Down Farm Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing