We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dog friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dog friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Our Daughter booked us 2 nights here as a present, we knew exactly where it was as we have been to Lyndhurst many many times and know how busy it is, so we have no complaints on the traffic... You only have to walk 5 minutes down to the bottom end of the town ( which by the way has some lovely shops ) and you have fabulous walks on open ground with horses and cows roaming, its just beautiful. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, we had a very nice room at the back of the hotel which had obviously been recently decorated very modern and a beautiful modern bathroom. I love watching "4 rooms " on t.v. so of course i had to have a really good poke around looking for a smidge of dust or a stray hair ... I didnt find a thing, the room was absolutely spotless, and while in the lounge I couldnt help but study the beautiful chandeliers looking for a stray cobweb, but no, it was absolutely sparkling, the whole place was spotlessly clean, which very much impressed us. On arrival at the hotel we were handed a bag with doggy biscuits, we have never had that in any other dog friendly hotels that we have stayed in, and we had a choice of eating in the library ( nice large t.v. in there ) or the lounge where the dog was allowed too, which suited us very well. all in all a lovely clean hotel with great staff and we will be going there again .

Room Tip: room at the back if you dont like noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    403
    108
    34
    30
See reviews for
160
784
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We just had our daughter's wedding reception at this hotel. From the moment we first visited, we felt relaxed and were impressed by the wedding co-ordinator Andrew, who didn't try and blag us, but was open and honest and amiable. The hotel did not let us down. The reception room was beautiful and the staff very helpful and friendly. The drinks we chose were really good quality and the food was delicious and plentiful. The rooms were of a good standard and the beds very comfortable. We found this a hotel full of ambience, and we loved being able to use our own bar and the attention given us by the waiting staff. Andrew knew just how to make the day special and was very attentive. I would really recommend this hotel for anyone planning a wedding or looking for a laid back, relaxing, but quality place to stay. Best of all are the breakfast, which was a delicious and plentiful selection. Can't wait to go back to have another one.

Room Tip: If it is a wedding and you aren't expecting to go to bed late, ask for a room on the second floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bitoffluff01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Booked with the peppa pig offer and had an amazing stay we didn't want to leave! Staff were so friendly, helpful and welcoming! Room was a family room and lovely, comfy beds and nice to see a bath as showers are a pain for our 2yr old. Location is good and we also loved Lyndhurst.
Breakfast was gorgeous, so much choice and all fresh & superbly booked/prepared. We ate in the restaurant on the 1st evening and the food was gorgeous and kids choice was great too. Cant wait to go back!.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Booked a 2 night break in a superior double room which was spacious but hardly " boutique " with the decor aimed at the elderly.
The bathroom was spacious and modern though.
The room overlooked the rear patio area which was very peaceful but the hotel is on the high st, which is a one way system and is very busy day and night, so it might be worth booking a room to the rear rather than the front.
The hotel cannot be accessed direct from the high st off the A337.
Breakfast was buffet style and average with a number of items being over cooked.
The main complaint however was with regard to the reception staff on both the evening and daytime, with no pleasantries or smiles and the minimum information given. As this is the first impression you have of the hotel I found it very disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms to the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xbigalx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison_F_W, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear xbigalx,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am pleased that you found our location in the 'heart' of the New Forest, great for your stay, and our Superior Rooms spacious.

As a listed building the hotel has undergone extensive re-furbishment works, sympathetic to it's historic charm, whilst ensuring our guests are provided with modern facilities.

I was dissapointed to read your comments regarding the reception team, and quality of breakfast, as from previous reviews these would seem to be the exception rather than the norm, and I thank you for bringing them to our attention.

I hope very much that you will return on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights over BH weekend August 2013 with my children in a family room.
The room was furnished to a high standard and very clean.
Hotel set in Lyndhurst high st which is very central to visit New Forest and surrounding areas.
I have no complaints. Staff v professional.
Breakfast lots of choice even for fussiest of eaters.
Good value family hotel which has been refurbished to a high standard.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Arrived here today from warners hayling island very busy main road but room large and quiet. Great shower. Just had dinner and really enjoyed food the staff were really attentive and great to see that they would change the menu to suit the customer. So far so good

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chappelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights. We had a lovely stay. Hotel is clean, with friendly staff. Big thank you to our cleaner Martha who kindly put up an extra bed in our room. Decor is beautiful throughout with lovely furniture. There is a garden at the back so you can chill out and a gorgeous lounge with a telly in it. The only moan would be the double bed in the standard room is too small, you can barely move with two of you in it. The morning breakfast wasn't that great, go for the continental not the fry up.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back as noisy at front with traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
3.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
6.1 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
6.7 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
3.1 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Manor House Hotel

Property: The Crown Manor House Hotel
Address: 9 High Street, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Manor House Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Lyndhurst Village, the capital of the New Forest National Park. Our beautiful 15th century listed hotel has been totally rebuilt over the years from modest beginnings to its current impressive, large black and white timbered building.So why choose to Stay at The Crown Manor House Hotel? We offers guests a relaxing English countryside getaway with real log fires, tranquil gardens, attentive service and fantastic locally sourced food, including a great breakfast, combined with a real sense of tradition. All 50 guest rooms, some of which have four poster beds, are well appointed, individually lovingly designed for the 21st century, sympathetic to our period listed building.With a large free car park and being only 3 miles from the mainline railway station, exploring couldn’t be easier. Lyndhurst is brimming with quaint shops, new forest tea room and fantastic pubs. There are walks on our doorstep on picturesque heathlands and bicycling in ancient woods. You can wear riding boots in the morning, wellington boots at noon and golf spikes in the afternoon. Maybe take a 15 minute drive to the beach with the family or even the Isle of Wight. Special weekend breaks are also available to Peppa Pig world, Exbury Gardens. WiFi is complimentary. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, a romantic getaway or precious time with family, The Crown Manor House Hotel is the perfect place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, SpeedyBooker.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Crown Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
The Crown Manor House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing