We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly & Comfortable Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Friendly & Comfortable Hotel”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The room was clean with comfortable bed. Staff were extremely friendly & helpful. Breakfast, lunch & evening meals were very good indeed. Service was excellent. In fact we had all our evening meals in the hotel.

Room Tip: We preferred the superior room on the 1st floor but at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    413
    110
    34
    30
See reviews for
165
815
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Tastefully refurbished throughout with a good blend of modern and period.Staff friendly,helpful and professional,excellent breakfast.Good value and a great location close to all facilities,ideal for Beaulieu and Limewood(a great dining experience-but not cheap).Room was compact but great decor and lovely bathroom-all new.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank remshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My husband booked the hotel as a surprise. We were met at reception by friendly staff who booked us in. They explained that contractors had cut through a main pipe in the kitchen and therefore they would only be able to supply a limited breakfast choice from outside caterers. Unfortunately we would have to make other arrangements for dinner that evening as the restaurant was closed. We were given a letter that explained the problems and a list of restaurants that they were more than willing to book for us.

We had the Scarlet Suite that been recently refurbished. There was plenty of room and it was situated at the back of the building overlooking the car park. The bathroom was spotless. My only critic on the room was that the lighting could have been better as it seemed a little dark ( I forgot to mention this on my feedback form) also the walls leading down to the bedroom part needed a good wipe over. The tea and coffee was a welcome surprise and the bath towels were a good size and lovely and soft. The bed itself was comfortable and we actually slept in as it was so quiet!

In the evening after going out to one of the restaurants they recommended we sat in the bar. We had a complimentary drink of a small glass of wine or beer and I do mean small! Nevertheless we had a lovely time in the bar although it was very quiet. This was down to the fact that they couldn't serve food we were told. Breakfast the next morning was a good selection, cooked breakfast was limited but under the circumstances they did very well. We were offered a second pot of tea and nothing was too much trouble.
Overall I say very well done. We enjoyed our stay and would go back again despite the hiccup with the kitchen. What a lovely friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Scarlet Suite - was a lovely suite and it was quiet even though we overlooked the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buttons57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

When we arrived at the hotel early evening we were informed that the hotel's kitchen had power problems and our reservation for the restaurant had to be cancelled. They also informed us that there would probably be no cooked breakfast. We then had a panic to book a restaurant to eat in so late in the day. A phone call would have been appreciated. At breakfast the following morning they have bought in some cooked food but overall it was disappointing. We didn't bother on Sunday. The superior room was sufficient and clean. We appreciated the hotel couldn't help the unexpected problems in the kitchen but think they should have warned us or at least deducted the cost of breakfast off of our room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec200045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My husband booked this a a birthday treat for me. We love walking in the New Forest so this hotel was in a prime location. He could not get on of the larger luxury rooms, so a normal double had to suffice. 30 minutes before we set off from home (two hour drive ahead) we received a phone call saying there were problems in the kitchen starting on Friday so could not provide evening meal (part of the package), a list of restaurants in the town was emailed to us and a reservation made in our name. We had a lovely day shopping in Southampton then on to the hotel. No one at reception had to press a bell for attention, booked in by a gentleman who again reiterated the kitchen problems, but breakfast would not be a problem. The room was small as was the bed, but very clean and nicely decorated as was the bathroom. The room was very noisy being on the front facing the church with the A35 flowing passed below. However when double glazing closed this was not a problem. Went for drink in bar no one there had to press bell for attention!! We went to the local Italian and returned to a comfortable nights sleep. The breakfast was a poor buffet style apparently shipped in due to the kitchen problems. Checked out by very friendly and cheery lady called Lisa. Whilst I had a lovely week-end, the hotel was lovely there was not even the offer of a complimentary drink let alone bottle of wine because of the inconvenience and short notice of the change.......we were charged of course B&B rate........but a little extra customer service would have gone a long way............"just saying".

Room Tip: Might be an idea for a room at the back, busy traffic and church bells at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liver070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We booked to stay for just one night as we were attending a wedding. Everything about hotel was so brilliant we wished that we were staying longer. It's clean, beautifully decorated and the customer service is five star. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baileyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clydebank, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night whilst visiting family nearby. Staff were very helpful and we were granted an early check in after an overnight flight. Our road facing room on the second floor was small but clean. The buffet breakfast was good. Noise from outside traffic and adjacent rooms was the only negative but this is typical for an older hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
1.2 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
6.1 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
9.9 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Manor House Hotel

Property: The Crown Manor House Hotel
Address: 9 High Street, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Manor House Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Lyndhurst Village, the capital of the New Forest National Park. Our beautiful 15th century listed hotel has been totally rebuilt over the years from modest beginnings to its current impressive, large black and white timbered building.So why choose to Stay at The Crown Manor House Hotel? We offers guests a relaxing English countryside getaway with real log fires, tranquil gardens, attentive service and fantastic locally sourced food, including a great breakfast, combined with a real sense of tradition. All 50 guest rooms, some of which have four poster beds, are well appointed, individually lovingly designed for the 21st century, sympathetic to our period listed building.With a large free car park and being only 3 miles from the mainline railway station, exploring couldn’t be easier. Lyndhurst is brimming with quaint shops, new forest tea room and fantastic pubs. There are walks on our doorstep on picturesque heathlands and bicycling in ancient woods. You can wear riding boots in the morning, wellington boots at noon and golf spikes in the afternoon. Maybe take a 15 minute drive to the beach with the family or even the Isle of Wight. Special weekend breaks are also available to Peppa Pig world, Exbury Gardens. WiFi is complimentary. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, a romantic getaway or precious time with family, The Crown Manor House Hotel is the perfect place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
The Crown Manor House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing