We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing break”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

From the moment we arrived at check in until the sad moment we had to check out again three days later, nothing was too much trouble for the staff at the Crown Manor House. Room was spacious, the bed was the most comfortable I've slept on in ages, and the service was absolutely wonderful. Breakfast was hot and plentiful, and the one evening we ate in the restaurant couldn't be faulted. Lyndhurst is a very pretty little village, and although not particularly full of exciting things to do is an ideal base to explore the area.

Room Tip: We were in room 212 which is a 4 poster room at the front of the hotel. Although there is some nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girliebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    413
    110
    34
    30
See reviews for
165
815
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel , excellent service from all the staff, our room was lovely and warm and clean to a very high standard, we had dinner at the grill and it was very good and great price too , breakfast in the morning was buffet style and very tasty , will be returning again as we really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritaw8169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

After a hectic Christmas and New Years The Crown Manor delivered the perfect weekend retreat. The rooms were tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable, we have not slept that long in weeks. The staff were friendly and service excellent and when walking in from the pouring rain it was just bliss to get warm by the open fire. The hotel is well located in the quiet high st near a couple of lovely restaurants and only a short walk in to the open country side.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Upon arrival, it became apparent that the reservations team had mistakenly booked us in for the previous night. The Manager (Andrew) arrived at Reception to sort out our problem, he understood the problem and very quickly rectified the mistake. The room we were allocated was very clean and had good facilities and decorated to an excellent standard. The evening meal and breakfast was also excellent.
We would like to thank Andrew and the staff at the Crown Manor for an very welcoming and relaxing stay.
We will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Sorry as it was our first stay difficult to say....we had room 303 which was very pleasent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevekvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, Kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Came back today from having a night away at the crown hotel.
Fantastic hotel, great value and friendly staff. On a lovely village high street, where you can walk to plenty of tea shops, shops and pubs - everything in walking distance.
We had dinner in the hotel restaurant, which was lovely and once again the staff very friendly.
Hotel rooms are clean, modern, a little small but that didn't matter as we were only there 1 night.
Would love to return in the summer with our children and explore the local areas.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 214 which was at the back and quieter from looking out onto the high street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here for New Year with our pet dog so did not go to the Gala dinner. The Hotel was really comfortable very dog friendly and we had a lovely stay. We last came here some 15 ish years ago and before that a further 5 years. Lovely part of the country, Lyndhurst a bit more touristy than we remember, but still a great centre for the forest. As we were not allowed to take the dog in the dining area we had to take breakfast in the lounge, I think we got the better deal with this, loads of room and in front of a log fire!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Our party of 14 stayed for the festive 2day break and couldn't have wanted anything more. It is always hard to please everyone but nobody had any complaints and the staff were all so helpful, polite and happy in their work. Adam, Jose and Rachel looked after us so well at the party, and then joined in with us for the dancing. Rachel will have to learn some new Scottish dances for next time. Sebastian catered for us all during the day and a jolly good time was had by all. We definitely recommend people to try The Crown. Thank you all again. The Diamonds

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
1.2 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
6.1 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
9.9 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Manor House Hotel

Property: The Crown Manor House Hotel
Address: 9 High Street, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Manor House Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Lyndhurst Village, the capital of the New Forest National Park. Our beautiful 15th century listed hotel has been totally rebuilt over the years from modest beginnings to its current impressive, large black and white timbered building.So why choose to Stay at The Crown Manor House Hotel? We offers guests a relaxing English countryside getaway with real log fires, tranquil gardens, attentive service and fantastic locally sourced food, including a great breakfast, combined with a real sense of tradition. All 50 guest rooms, some of which have four poster beds, are well appointed, individually lovingly designed for the 21st century, sympathetic to our period listed building.With a large free car park and being only 3 miles from the mainline railway station, exploring couldn’t be easier. Lyndhurst is brimming with quaint shops, new forest tea room and fantastic pubs. There are walks on our doorstep on picturesque heathlands and bicycling in ancient woods. You can wear riding boots in the morning, wellington boots at noon and golf spikes in the afternoon. Maybe take a 15 minute drive to the beach with the family or even the Isle of Wight. Special weekend breaks are also available to Peppa Pig world, Exbury Gardens. WiFi is complimentary. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, a romantic getaway or precious time with family, The Crown Manor House Hotel is the perfect place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
The Crown Manor House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing