We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional Stay”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

With my work I spend a very large amount of time lodging away in hotels. I have stayed all over the country and in pretty much every conceivable form of hotel/b&b/etc. The Crown Manor is by far the best hotel I have stayed in. The rooms are exceptional in design and comfort. Every request was met with urgency and politeness. The staff were again, exceptional. All were friendly, courteous and showed genuine personalities. The location in Lyndhurst was very east to access and the nearby shops and café's provided many opportunities to wind away the hours. I have stayed numerous times at the Crown Manor and look forward to returning every time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Landy911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    413
    110
    34
    30
See reviews for
164
815
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We held our wedding at the Crown and would thoroughly recommend, food excellent, rooms were clean and comfortable and the refurbishment has been carried out to a high standard. The whole day ran smoothly from start to finish due to the professionalism of the Wedding Planner, Dana, Manager, Andrew and the attentive and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Rufus Suite highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Booked a double room, bed was tiny and so uncomfortable that my wife and I barely managed more than an hour or two's sleep. I've had better sleep in busy City Centre Travelodges for a fraction of the price. We decided to cut our losses and drive home after one night instead of subjecting ourselves to a second sleepless night. Can't fault the staff or service but a hotel this expensive has no excuse for providing such abysmal beds.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tpd1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison_F_W, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear tpd1982,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, as all feedback is greatly valued.

I am sorry to learn of the issue you experienced with the bed in the room allocated, but would like to assure you that this was a full size double bed. All our mattresses are supplied by Hypnos the only company to provide beds to the Royal Household, and I hope you can appreciate that everyone's opinion of the comfort of a mattress does differ.

I am pleased that you found the team to be professional, and in the event of you bringing this issue to their attention during your stay, they would have arranged an immediate room move.

I hope that you will choose to stay with us on a future occasion, and as such please do not hesitate to contact me so that I can personally look after your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed here in February, having stayed on several occasions in the past. The hotel has recently been renovated, resulting in comfortable bedrooms and public areas, all decorated in colours in keeping with the age and style of the hotel.The bathroom was upgraded and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was plentiful, with a good choice.
The hotel is well located in Lyndhurst, in easy reach of pubs, restaurants and shops, as well as being easy to access the forest and get around the whole of the surrounding area.
We've enjoyed staying here in the past and did more so this time due to the refurbishment and will stay here next time we return to the New Forest.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My husband and I attended a wedding at this hotel this month. I must say that everything was first class. Although this hotel is old, it has been redecorated in a very nice way. The wedding breakfast was very good and very nicely presented. I would recommend this hotel for weddings.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollykins8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful night away here in Feb 2014. Lovely hotel in a fab location. Great value for money. Had dinner in their restaurant which was gorgeous. Service was good, check in and out was simple and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is modern but has nice touches like a lounge with an open fire and a library.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We had booked up to stay at a cottage for the weekend (valentines weekend)however when we arrived the cottage was cold damp and not really suitable, so we decided to phone around at five o clock on valentines day to find something else , we were lucky enough to get the last room in the hotel . We arrived to a warm welcome from reception and was just made to feel welcome and important. We had a small room on the third floor which was immaculate ,en suite, and warm , we cannot thank the staff enough , from the girls in the restaurant to our wine waiter , all of them were polite ,helpful, and just very very accomadating for all our needs.We will recommend this hotel to all our friends and will certainly be returning !!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Any Room !!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
1.2 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
6.1 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
9.9 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Manor House Hotel

Property: The Crown Manor House Hotel
Address: 9 High Street, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Manor House Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Lyndhurst Village, the capital of the New Forest National Park. Our beautiful 15th century listed hotel has been totally rebuilt over the years from modest beginnings to its current impressive, large black and white timbered building.So why choose to Stay at The Crown Manor House Hotel? We offers guests a relaxing English countryside getaway with real log fires, tranquil gardens, attentive service and fantastic locally sourced food, including a great breakfast, combined with a real sense of tradition. All 50 guest rooms, some of which have four poster beds, are well appointed, individually lovingly designed for the 21st century, sympathetic to our period listed building.With a large free car park and being only 3 miles from the mainline railway station, exploring couldn’t be easier. Lyndhurst is brimming with quaint shops, new forest tea room and fantastic pubs. There are walks on our doorstep on picturesque heathlands and bicycling in ancient woods. You can wear riding boots in the morning, wellington boots at noon and golf spikes in the afternoon. Maybe take a 15 minute drive to the beach with the family or even the Isle of Wight. Special weekend breaks are also available to Peppa Pig world, Exbury Gardens. WiFi is complimentary. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, a romantic getaway or precious time with family, The Crown Manor House Hotel is the perfect place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
The Crown Manor House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing