We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“much improved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
FAWLEY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“much improved”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

this was are second visit to the hotel and was much improved, the food and service was much better and will go back again. the steak was amazing and the venison so was tender. the kids were very welcome to and a good choice of fresh food for the kids to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRAY123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    413
    110
    34
    30
See reviews for
165
815
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canvey Island
Level Contributor
322 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just returned from a weekend break to visit the New Forest. A Christmas gift from the kids, this was expected to be a memorable trip. We were not disappointed, the hotel is located in a great location centre of town with good standard accommodation and a fine restaurant. The breakfasts were first class. Good location for visiting the forest and surrounding towns and attractions.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here for three day Easter break. Took 3 days deal with dinner first night but chose to upgrade to superior room with four poster. Check in didn't start well but it got better. Nice room , not huge but large bed and very nice bathroom with large shower head over bath.staff all very friendly fresh milk and ice for the room were presented with a smile. We ate in the restaurant first night it was ok but unmemorable. Potato rosti was poor and soup underseasoned. What a difference though at breakfast. Super choice of food and plentiful. Special mention to the staff when my wife asked for porridge. They came back and said that they had popped out for ingredients. Porridge was declared delicious. Not sure you'd get that service in large chain. Dinner is served at the front if the hotel in brasserie style oddly breakfast is served in a much nicer room at back of the hotel. Very nice stay would recommend. Also plenty of parking as the hotel is in the centre of Lyndhurst.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear the hotel fronts the A35 and is always busy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brennP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepperton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 night stay over Easter, what a Gem of a Hotel, I can't fault it, our room which was a club double, (although a bit on the small side) had everything we needed,tea and coffee making facilities iron and ironing board, hair dryer and good quality toiletries, the breakfasts were excellent, everything was immaculately clean, and the staff were all very pleasant. I wish all hotels were like this one

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wycombe
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We booked this hotel for a weekend away after spending days trying to find the right place to stay, finally deciding on the crown because of the other reviews and the great location.
When we walked in the smell and warmth was welcoming and i knew straight away we had made a good choice. Check in was good and the staff really helpful letting us in to our room much earlier than the normal check in time.
We had booked a standard double room for 2 nights dinner, bed & breakfast. We were given room 117, which in itself was beautifully decorated and presented BUT it sure is small..... I didn't expect a huge room in a hotel this age but this took the biscuit. Anyone bigger than a size 14 would struggle to go in to the bathroom and turn round to shut the door without having to back in! The main bedroom wasn't much bigger and I think for the money paid the room was certainly over priced, this is why this review gas 4 *& not 5*.
The food in the restaurant was superb on both nights and the steak was exceptional. Breakfast was plentiful and well organised and when we asked for our eggs to be poached thus was done for us happily.
The staff were attentive and polite but not 'in your face' and after all said and done I would stay here again but ask for a bigger room!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fr0gemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Arrived for an overnight stay, pleasant welcome and directed to our room which was tucked away down a passage, with three high level windows which looked at an adjoining roof. Room was small but comfy, with a modern bathroom with shower cubicle and a TV that looked like an after thought, (why not put it on the wall?) But we were not there for the room, only as somewhere to sleep. Sounded as though a bit of modernisation was in progress. With an hotel of this standard I would have expected a better breakfast menu, the buffet reminded me of motorway services.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bojangles381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Me and my partner wanted a nice relaxing weekend away in the New Forest. Unfortunately our first choice of a b&b in another village got booked up, so this was our second choice, but I have to say we were pleasantly surprised. We had a four poster bedroom looking out over the front of the hotel. Whilst it wasn't as grand as some bedrooms I've stayed in, it had a lot of space, nicely decorated, massive bathroom and was spotless. Also, there was barely any noise from the very busy road right below our window.

We ate in the hotel's restaurant on the first night, drinks were a little pricey (but which was to be expected), the food was delicious and the service was of a very high standard. Breakfast was the same over the two mornings we stayed. It is laid out as a buffet style breakfast, which I've seen been done very badly at other places, but this was done very well, food was hot, vast range to choose from and again a high standard of service.

Overall the hotel has a lovely, relaxed atmosphere and the staff are happy to help at all times. We will certainly be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkle_1_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
1.2 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
6.1 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
9.9 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Manor House Hotel

Property: The Crown Manor House Hotel
Address: 9 High Street, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Manor House Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Lyndhurst Village, the capital of the New Forest National Park. Our beautiful 15th century listed hotel has been totally rebuilt over the years from modest beginnings to its current impressive, large black and white timbered building.So why choose to Stay at The Crown Manor House Hotel? We offers guests a relaxing English countryside getaway with real log fires, tranquil gardens, attentive service and fantastic locally sourced food, including a great breakfast, combined with a real sense of tradition. All 50 guest rooms, some of which have four poster beds, are well appointed, individually lovingly designed for the 21st century, sympathetic to our period listed building.With a large free car park and being only 3 miles from the mainline railway station, exploring couldn’t be easier. Lyndhurst is brimming with quaint shops, new forest tea room and fantastic pubs. There are walks on our doorstep on picturesque heathlands and bicycling in ancient woods. You can wear riding boots in the morning, wellington boots at noon and golf spikes in the afternoon. Maybe take a 15 minute drive to the beach with the family or even the Isle of Wight. Special weekend breaks are also available to Peppa Pig world, Exbury Gardens. WiFi is complimentary. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, a romantic getaway or precious time with family, The Crown Manor House Hotel is the perfect place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
The Crown Manor House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing