We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have just come back from a lovely stay at The Crown Manor Hotel and it was very nice. All the staff were pleasant and very polite. The breakfast was very nice and a good selection to please everyone. I did have a slight accident in the slippery bathtub and cut my foot in the fall but other than that all was great and would go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    403
    108
    34
    30
See reviews for
160
782
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Very nice staff, lovely hotel, very clean and wonderfully decorated.
Breakfast was very nice which is included in the price at the hotel (Bed&Breakfast).
Parking facilities great, and working distance into Lyndhurst town.

Highly Recommend, hotel is quite costly but no alternative is cheaper in the New Forest.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Putting aside that I booked a family suite for 4 (written confirmation from their website) and I got a double bedroom with a lot of effort from the lady at the frontdesk to prove me wrong + the slippery bathtube where my wife almost got killed.

Service: not good at all sure the team hasn't been trained for working in a service company.

Hotel decoration: depends on people taste but looks like they kept like the old carpet and painted the walls so it looks new.

Restaurant/food: again not good type of restaurant with no quality in the food but you end up paying 80£ for 2

Overall: the hotel is a factory don't go there for a charming experience.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison_F_W, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Adrien S,

Thank you for your feedback, which has been investigated.

I can confirm that all baths are anti slip, and bath mats are provided.

The Family Room booked via our website can accommodate up to four guests, however, upon checking your confirmation the booking had only been made for one adult, as such the extra bed had not been made up in the room.

I was dissapointed to read your comments regarding the team at the hotel, and other aspects of your stay, as previous reviews have all been very positive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FAWLEY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

this was are second visit to the hotel and was much improved, the food and service was much better and will go back again. the steak was amazing and the venison so was tender. the kids were very welcome to and a good choice of fresh food for the kids to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GRAY123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey Island
Level Contributor
315 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just returned from a weekend break to visit the New Forest. A Christmas gift from the kids, this was expected to be a memorable trip. We were not disappointed, the hotel is located in a great location centre of town with good standard accommodation and a fine restaurant. The breakfasts were first class. Good location for visiting the forest and surrounding towns and attractions.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here for three day Easter break. Took 3 days deal with dinner first night but chose to upgrade to superior room with four poster. Check in didn't start well but it got better. Nice room , not huge but large bed and very nice bathroom with large shower head over bath.staff all very friendly fresh milk and ice for the room were presented with a smile. We ate in the restaurant first night it was ok but unmemorable. Potato rosti was poor and soup underseasoned. What a difference though at breakfast. Super choice of food and plentiful. Special mention to the staff when my wife asked for porridge. They came back and said that they had popped out for ingredients. Porridge was declared delicious. Not sure you'd get that service in large chain. Dinner is served at the front if the hotel in brasserie style oddly breakfast is served in a much nicer room at back of the hotel. Very nice stay would recommend. Also plenty of parking as the hotel is in the centre of Lyndhurst.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear the hotel fronts the A35 and is always busy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brennP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepperton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 night stay over Easter, what a Gem of a Hotel, I can't fault it, our room which was a club double, (although a bit on the small side) had everything we needed,tea and coffee making facilities iron and ironing board, hair dryer and good quality toiletries, the breakfasts were excellent, everything was immaculately clean, and the staff were all very pleasant. I wish all hotels were like this one

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
3.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
6.1 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Manor House Hotel

Property: The Crown Manor House Hotel
Address: 9 High Street, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Manor House Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Lyndhurst Village, the capital of the New Forest National Park. Our beautiful 15th century listed hotel has been totally rebuilt over the years from modest beginnings to its current impressive, large black and white timbered building.So why choose to Stay at The Crown Manor House Hotel? We offers guests a relaxing English countryside getaway with real log fires, tranquil gardens, attentive service and fantastic locally sourced food, including a great breakfast, combined with a real sense of tradition. All 50 guest rooms, some of which have four poster beds, are well appointed, individually lovingly designed for the 21st century, sympathetic to our period listed building.With a large free car park and being only 3 miles from the mainline railway station, exploring couldn’t be easier. Lyndhurst is brimming with quaint shops, new forest tea room and fantastic pubs. There are walks on our doorstep on picturesque heathlands and bicycling in ancient woods. You can wear riding boots in the morning, wellington boots at noon and golf spikes in the afternoon. Maybe take a 15 minute drive to the beach with the family or even the Isle of Wight. Special weekend breaks are also available to Peppa Pig world, Exbury Gardens. WiFi is complimentary. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, a romantic getaway or precious time with family, The Crown Manor House Hotel is the perfect place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, SpeedyBooker.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
The Crown Manor House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing