We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Just got back from a 3 night stay in the Crown Manor House Hotel. We decided to go for the best room in the hotel as we had never stayed in a hotel in England other than a Premier Inn and we not disappointed! We stayed in the King Rufus Suite, had lots of space with an added bonus of a living room. The bathroom with his rainfall shower was so lovely, very modern but still kept to the theme of the old building. Nice and quiet aswell had no noise at all in the room we stayed in. Great view of the garden. Bed was lovely and big and slept well!

The staff were very pleasent and welcoming! Susie was especially nice, she greeted us when we came down for breakfast and served us for a drink at the bar and her customer service was outstanding! We also asked to check out an our late and a gentleman said this was ok with no extra charge (if you wanted to stay longer then 12pm then there would be a charge of about £25).

The breakfast was nice, nothing fancy but was exactly what we needed, i like to choose from buffets personally so this suited me fine. My only wish was that breakfast was served until 10am instead of 9.30 as i like a lay in. Did not try the hote Bar&grill didn't fancy the menu, but it still looked nice. Plenty of places to eat near the hotel, loved the chinese restraunt across the street.

Hotel was quiet during the time we went (15th - 18th June) great time of year to go! We went to Portsmouth to see the ships and Monkey world, both about an hour away.

I would stay here again in the King Rufus Suite!

Room Tip: King Rufus Suite, no one above you, nice and quiet at the back of the hotel, heard no noise from tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clair1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

952 - 958 of 1,381 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a great weekend at The Crown.We stayed in a Club Double room as it was a last minute booking.The room was was small but ideal for 2 nights , it very clean and comfortable. The shower was wonderful. There was even air conditioning. The breakfast was a buffett and lots of variety. The staff were very helpful. Good location as you were able to walk to the local shops and bars. Plently of spaces to park your car in their own car park.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hzy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Claiming possibly the oldest hotel lift in England, this charming old hotel is quite a gem. The interior is an eclectic mix of modern, old and something in between and it really works - makes it quite "boutique". The welcome was not so great; quite a wait at an empty reception and when someone did arrive I don't know if the chap was stressed, but he was certainly rather brusque and we thought this might not bode well. However, the staff thereafter were fine, if not great.
Our rom was comfortable if not very big, bathroom modern and clean. Breakfast plentiful and waiting staff excellent. The small restaurant was really rather good.
Situated on the high street, you really want a room out the back to avoid traffic noise, but it is really convenient for strolling into the small town and the New Forest Visitor Centre.

Room Tip: As for a room at the back as those at the front overlook a busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StigB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel is exceptionally comfortable and atmospheric. Real thought and effort has gone into making the visitor experience lovely (some very small but significant touches), and we were genuinely sorry to have to leave the hotel. Clean, spacious, comfortable - with attentive, friendly staff (and even a remarkable lift!).

Room Tip: A bit worried that our room overlooked the busy high street, but the double glazing was quite adequa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wildschwein2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have just returned home after staying at The Crown Manor Hotel Lyndhurst. This is our fourth time of staying in this hotel, we have always found the staff very pleasant and polite and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are all very clean and the beds are very comfortable.The breakfast was a buffet with plenty to choose from.
The resturant food is amazing and good value and the puddings are excellent.Our waitress Susie was very helpful and also Maciek.I would suggest you book for the resturant as it gets quite busy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on the 4/5 June with my girlfriend. Excellent rooms. Nice and clean. Beds are comfy. Bathrooms clean and inviting. Plenty of choice from breakfast buffet and very nice sausages, yum yum. Restaurant 10/10 food was excellent as well and the service. Hotel was clean and tidy lovely old place to rest after a days walking. Plenty of parking. Staff friendly helpful making out stay that much better... Can't wait to return for another visit. :)

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank olliebrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed here for one night with my partner recently. It is very well located with lots of parking. The hotel itself is absolutely lovely, I really like the decor and it feels very luxury. The staff were very attentive, friendly and helpful on arrival. We went to our room immediately and were impressed with what we got for our money, the room was lovely and had a great view of the church opposite. However, there was an adjoining door to the next room and they had a very young baby in there that we could hear crying loudly, such a shame! We spoke to reception and they offered us another room which was smaller but was all they had, we appreciated the option and took it even though it was not quite as nice (but still nicely done). We were happy at first as it seemed very quiet however when we actually went to bed there was a loud constant noise which sounded like water gushing through pipes, it lasted well over an hour and I could not sleep while it was doing it so did not sleep that well.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening. The food was delicious and I would definitely recommend this. The morning breakfast was also nice, it was a buffet style breakfast. I personally prefer knowing the breakfast has been cooked especially to my order but the quality was good but nothing fancy. There was a very good choice though.

I think I would try and stay here again despite the two noise issues we had as it was so lovely, however my partner wasn't so sure he'd like to.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
6.5 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
759 reviews
6.1 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
415 reviews
3.5 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
864 reviews
2.3 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
600 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Manor House Hotel

Address: 9 High Street, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range: £70 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Manor House Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Lyndhurst Village, the capital of the New Forest National Park. Our beautiful 15th century listed hotel has been totally rebuilt over the years from modest beginnings to its current impressive, large black and white timbered building.So why choose to Stay at The Crown Manor House Hotel? We offers guests a relaxing English countryside getaway with real log fires, tranquil gardens, attentive service and fantastic locally sourced food, including a great breakfast, combined with a real sense of tradition. All 50 guest rooms, some of which have four poster beds, are well appointed, individually lovingly designed for the 21st century, sympathetic to our period listed building.With a large free car park and being only 3 miles from the mainline railway station, exploring couldn’t be easier. Lyndhurst is brimming with quaint shops, new forest tea room and fantastic pubs. There are walks on our doorstep on picturesque heathlands and bicycling in ancient woods. You can wear riding boots in the morning, wellington boots at noon and golf spikes in the afternoon. Maybe take a 15 minute drive to the beach with the family or even the Isle of Wight. Special weekend breaks are also available to Peppa Pig world, Exbury Gardens. WiFi is complimentary. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, a romantic getaway or precious time with family, The Crown Manor House Hotel is the perfect place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Crown Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
The Crown Manor House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing