We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here if you want to sleep!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2007

Unlike other posters here - we found nothing about The Crown at Lyndhurst to praise!!!! Everything creeks and I mean everything, from opening the wardrobe door to the bathroom door, the bed-head was insecure and constantly banged against the wall, there was "nasty" woodchip wallpaper used as draw liners! unbelievable and basically just walking up and down the room , gave creak, creak, creak. We had a room overlooking what I can only term as one of the busiest thoroughfares in southern england. Lyndhurst is a village and the amount of traffic that goes through on the one way system is unbelievable. The secondary glazing on the windows is therefore totally ineffective. We were woken each morning at 7am (including Sunday!) so no sleep there! When we closed the windows trying to get some sleep, there was no air conditioning either. We could hear every step taken by the guests in the room upstairs, creaking again. We were unable to turn off the boiling hot towel rail in the bathroom, which made the room very warm indeed. Breakfast was a total disaster - mediocre food kept warm, tables so close to the self service area - that I would actually call to mind the safety aspects of guests carrying occasionally hot food pushing past your table. Ummmm, not exactly 3 Star hotel, in my opinion, The staff, I found, to be pleasant at best and downright dis-interested most of the time. The whole Hotel needs gutting and significant refurbishment needs to take place in order to stop the creaking. We shall not be returning to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Rapunzal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,388 - 1,394 of 1,417 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2007

I stayed at the Crown last week for a wedding. The room was very comfortable. Clean, tidy, comfortable and had a good sized bathroom and excellent shower. The decor in the room was in keeping with what I would expect in a country hotel. The room did lack the benefit of a ceiling fan or aircon, but the hotel also provided the convenience of WiFi, tv and 24 hour room service.

It is true to say that the public areas are a bit overdue for refurbishement with some of the carpets very worn and in need of replacement, and again could do with aircon or fans, but the hotel was spotlessly clean and did not have cobwebs on the light fittngs as a trip to the Ritz in London revealed recently!!

The food was excellent. The evening meal one of the nicest I have experienced in a long time, and trust me I like my food. I had beef which was excellent. The breakfast was also excellent with an extensive choice and unlimited quantity and friendly and efficient waiting staff, for which nothing was too much trouble.

I could not fault the service from any of the staff, including management, chambermaids, serving staff etc. Nothing was too much trouble. I requested some extra towels and they were in my room within 5 minutes. At the wedding breakfast staff were both efficient and courteous. They were discreet and at times I forgot they were there, but when I needed something there was always someone to hand to assist.

Certainly worth a visit so you can make up your own mind.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Jacslk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2007

I have always found a warm friendly welcome when I have stayed at this quaint old hotel, yes some of the floors and doors do creak a little bit but I prefer that to the modern plastic hotels that are lifeless. The quality of the food has always been good and the service excellent. Many of the guests who like me are on regular business trips in the area return time after time . Over the years I have stayed at many hotels both home and abroad and in my opinion The Crown has been up there with the best , it is clean and tidy and in a lovely setting.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Stavross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2007

probably the worst experience i have ever had on every level - the hotel stank of stale bacon fat, the bedroom was freezing cold through the night with no extra blankets provided and the bathroom had mold in the shower - and for the bargain price of £120 a night - there is nothing good that i can say about this hotel except the carpark is a good size! please stay somewhere else if you are visiting this beautiful part of the world and do not book in to stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cvl333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2007

I agree with other comments the staff where good and they made the difference. E.G. we asked if they knew somewhere we could watch football match on TV in town but they didn’t so offered us one of their rooms. They said they will put a TV and chairs in the room and that it was next to the bar if we wanted a drink!

The hotel has an old charm with wood panelled rooms, large fire places and it’s clean throughout. It does seem to be scared of a paint brush and would be improved with a updating of the décor.

Our room was a good size but when booking we asked for a quiet room but where placed above the noisy disco!

The evening meal was a disappointment. The terrine starters where not very good and one person would not eat them. They missed one of the two items mentioned on the menu and we didn’t get the bread we had been told would be with them until we asked for a second time. The main meals were a little better with 1 out of the 3 happy. Of the 2 one said their lamb was over cooked so it was hard to cut and the other had stroganoff that didn’t taste of stroganoff. Neither of us could tell what the carrots tasted of but it was not carrot! Scores of 3 - 5 out of 10 for the meals.

They do allow dogs which was the main reason for us booking it. In summary it is 50:50 if we would stay again. If we did we would specify the room we wanted and not eat there but would have a drink in the bar as the staff as very good!

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank This_field_is_daft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2006

We stayed for the weekend at the Crown in late June.

While we werent actually at the hotel very much, when we were we were met with personal and friendly staff at the bar and reception.

After we checked out on the Sunday, we struggled to find somewhere in Lyndhurst to find somewhere to watch the Wimbledon Tennis final and eat at the same time. We went back to the hotel and the staff opened up a private room for us with a TV in it, and brought us sandwiches.... this is after we had checked out.

It rounded off our stay very well.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank skilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2005

Lyndhurst in a beautiful spot. Needing a place to stay before a sojourn to Portsmouth we booked a late room at The Crown. I telephoned ahead and managed to upgrade to a superior room at no extra cost. I also asked if they were offering an a la carte menu for dinner, at what was the height of the corporate Christmas party season - the answer was yes.

The reality was a little different and put a bit of a dampener on the whole thing. I'd rather they'd have been honest a said that the A la Carte menu, was also the Christmas party menu.

Rooms are OK, but a little faded. For the price of an English hotel room these days I do expect a bit more.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fortune82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
6.1 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
445 reviews
2.3 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
634 reviews
6.7 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,833 reviews
6.5 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
774 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Manor House Hotel

Address: 9 High Street, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range: £74 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Manor House Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Lyndhurst Village, the capital of the New Forest National Park. Our beautiful 15th century listed hotel has been totally rebuilt over the years from modest beginnings to its current impressive, large black and white timbered building.So why choose to Stay at The Crown Manor House Hotel? We offers guests a relaxing English countryside getaway with real log fires, tranquil gardens, attentive service and fantastic locally sourced food, including a great breakfast, combined with a real sense of tradition. All 50 guest rooms, some of which have four poster beds, are well appointed, individually lovingly designed for the 21st century, sympathetic to our period listed building.With a large free car park and being only 3 miles from the mainline railway station, exploring couldn’t be easier. Lyndhurst is brimming with quaint shops, new forest tea room and fantastic pubs. There are walks on our doorstep on picturesque heathlands and bicycling in ancient woods. You can wear riding boots in the morning, wellington boots at noon and golf spikes in the afternoon. Maybe take a 15 minute drive to the beach with the family or even the Isle of Wight. Special weekend breaks are also available to Peppa Pig world, Exbury Gardens. WiFi is complimentary. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, a romantic getaway or precious time with family, The Crown Manor House Hotel is the perfect place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Crown Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
The Crown Manor House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing