We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Quick' lunch ...”
Review of Stag Hotel

Stag Hotel
Ranked #28 of 51 Restaurants in Lyndhurst
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“'Quick' lunch ...”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Who knew a tuna sandwich took 45 minutes to prepare? Slow service, food not even particularly worth the wait ... 2 stars because yes, once the food arrived it did the job of filling a hole.
Wouldn't recommend .......... Although location is ideal for visitors in the high street .

Helpful?
Thank Georgia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    89
    42
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pub Food”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Good pub food. Friendly staff. Great wine selection. Excellent location, walking distance to New Forest

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Skimble2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bussum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just a meal”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Good food and friendly staff. Staff was a little bit slow in response to order the food. the food was of good quality, it's really value for money.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A comfortable friendly hotel”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We booked a last minute overnight stay at the Stag Hotel and were really happy with our choice, the staff were friendly and welcoming & the food was good value & tasty, we had the half roast chicken, salad & new potatoes & the 12 oz steak, which was tasty and succulent. The breakfast was also good, full English, although I would have liked croissants/continental. The room we had was spacious, with two sofas tea & coffee making facilities and a really comfortable bed. There was lots of hot water & the iron was available to borrow. Our room was at the front of the hotel, so there was some traffic noise as the hotel is situated right on the main road but al in all a good choice in a truly beautiful part of the country.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ranz0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The main course was lovey, I had the lamb shanks and my husband had the steak and ale pie. I had the treacle sponge dessert which was on special but it was over microwaved and one half was rock hard which was such a shame as the first half was delicious. The service was very friendly and polite.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stag Hotel also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest
Lyndhurst, New Forest
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest
Lyndhurst, New Forest
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to Stag Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing