We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect overnight base for biking around New Forest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Acorns of Lyndhurst
Ranked #10 of 22 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My husband & I stayed here, based on recommendations on Trip Advisor, and can honestly say the 5 stars are well justified. Lovely place, quiet, well situated, comfortable, clean and great breakfast.

Mel & Fred made us feel so welcome with their wonderful friendly, personal touch. Lots of advice and help for where to go and what to do. Lent us a cycling map of the New Forest which came in very handy and gave us some good tips on where to go in the evening.

We got back from a muddy ride and Fred was on hand with the hose pipe so we could clean the bikes down and cleared a space for us to store them in the garage overnight - another big bonus for us.

If you don't mind that you're staying in someone's family home (run like a professional B&B business though) then this is the place for you. If you love a friendly welcome, personal touch and great attention to detail then there's nowhere better.

Another big 5 Stars! Thanks for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cupcake1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Excellent B&B, very well kept room with massive bed and en-suite facilities. Fred and Mel were very helpful and were able to suggest good routes for walks in the forest. My girlfriend and I had a great time and would thoroughly recommend Acorns to anyone taking a break in the New Forest.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Very good bed and breakfast accommodation. Room was a great size, very nicely furnished and the ensuite was very modern. Great location, peaceful and quiet surroundings and well placed for all tourist sights. Very friendly hosts who made us feel very welcome in their home.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed here for a week in November to cycle and explore the New Forest in its glorious Autumn
colours. The B&B is very close to the town centre, about a 500 metre walk to a wide range of pubs, coffee shops, restaurants and hotels. It is situated in a quiet laneway with some parking for about two cars. The accommodation is great, clean and tidy plenty of room with an en suite.
The house was always warm with plenty of hot water. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. The hosts were friendly and helpful ..offering advice on places to visit and recommending nice places to eat.
Recommended if you are visiting Lyndhurst and want a friendly comfortable B&B

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wooger13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I frequently work around the Lyndhurst area, and stayed at Acorns the first time about two years ago and have been back several times since. Mel and Fred always make me feel genuinely welcome, i would say "home from home" but the truth is i never get a cooked breakfast that compares with what Mel serves up!! The rooms are great and the area is very quiet at night so a good nights sleep is never a problem. Nothing is ever too much trouble for them and i couldn't recommend it enough, and look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gavin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Loved my stay at acorns of Lyndhurst. Me and my boyfriend spent 3 nights there. We have been with them previously but at a different house. We had a lovely stay, the room (Allium) was very specious, nicely decorated, the bathroom was great!! Loved the large shower and the bath just topped it off nicely. Perfect when youve been out in the cold hiking all day! The breakfast was delicious, so many options and all cooked to perfection. Mel and Fred gave us lots of info on the area and things to do, where to eat, which was very helpful!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Mel and Fred run such a lovely B&B. They only have a couple of rooms, but if you are lucky enough to stay here you will not be disappointed.

It really is like a home from home. Our room was well presented and the bed was really comfortable. It is one of the few places that is away from the main road, so it is also really quiet at night.

Mel prepares awesome breakfasts and we were treated to freshly laid eggs and homemade jam!

Great place made special by the owners.

Location is perfect for walking around Lyndhurst and getting to the local bus station and the visitor centre. There are plenty of nearby options for cream teas, which is obviously very important.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyndhurst hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
855 reviews
0.6 mi away
Whitemoor House B&B
Whitemoor House B&B
#3 of 22 in Lyndhurst
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Little Hayes Guest House
Little Hayes Guest House
#4 of 22 in Lyndhurst
209 reviews
0.5 mi away
Temple Lodge
Temple Lodge
#9 of 22 in Lyndhurst
146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clayhill House
Clayhill House
#8 of 22 in Lyndhurst
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorns of Lyndhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorns of Lyndhurst

Address: 6 Shrubbs Hill Gardens, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7DL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Price Range: £68 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acorns of Lyndhurst is a friendly, family run B&B tucked away in a quiet, leafy gravel track, and still ideally situated for all the amenities that Lyndhurst has to offer. With our central location we are only a few minutes walk in any direction from open heath & forest, and even closer to the High Street. So whether you are looking for a relaxing break to explore the New Forest or here on business you are sure of a warm welcome and a comfortable stay. Watch our video on YouTube: Acorns of Lyndhurst - probably the best B&B in Lyndhurst, New Forest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Acorns of Lyndhurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorns Of Lyndhurst New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing