We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toby & Jess from Rochester, Kent”
Review of Rufus House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rufus House
Ranked #5 of 22 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Toby & Jess from Rochester, Kent”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We both wanted a quiet break away from work, we booked two nights at The Rufus House and it was just what we wanted. Staff were very friendly, the room was lovely, spacious and bed was comfy. A mini fridge that actually works properly and tea making facilities. Ensuite was good, powerful shower! Breakfast was lovely, would recommend you have breakfast when you stay, good price and quality food. The main road can be noisy at times but this shouldn't put you off, the forest is literally yards away and the owners hospitality more than makes up for this.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 21jess21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    80
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
42
257
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Hotel is well located for Lydhurst, with only a few minutes walk into town, and is also directly opposite the trail for the beautiful Lyndhurt Parish Walk. However, it is also right next to a busy main road, but if you get a room near the back you wont hear a thing.

Breakfast was excellent, the room i had was excellent, the hotel was very clean and nicely decorated, it was quiet, and the owner, Ernesto & Etsuko were lovely people.

Would definately recommend it.

Room Tip: Get a room near the back of the hotel to avoid noise from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Very friendly good service would recommend if you like quite and peace with the forest on the door step

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevski2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Had a really nice time. Hosts were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Room was very clean and well maintained, actually looked much better than I expected from the photos on their website. Good location to explore forest and to go out for meal and drinks in the evening. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luca1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed here with my 18yr old daughter for a long weekend. The accommodation was very clean and everything seemed like new. The owners were very hands on and very welcoming, nothing was any trouble.
My only suggestion, but by no means a criticism, would be to extent the breakfast time in the mornings, 8-9 could be a little early for some on a weekend, maybe breakfast could be available to 10am.
Thank you for a very comfortable and enjoyable stay we both enjoyed it very much

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Nice friendly hotel situated opposite the start point for great walks. Staff great, large comfortable spotless rooms. Just outside town but still only 5 mins walk to town centre, great restaurants (make sure you book at weekends).
Would recommend the Waterloo arms pub, lovely food & relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Lovely place - good size rooms. Just across the way from start of great walks.

Mini bar in the room was much appreciated - excellent breakfasts too.

Hosts were welcoming, friendly and knowledgable.

Look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whatachuffnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
454 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,041 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
110 reviews
6.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufus House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufus House

Property: Rufus House
Address: Rufus House Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufus House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With acres of exceptional woodland and open heaths as our front garden, Rufus House is the perfect location to explore the New Forest and surrounding areas of natural beauty all year around. Enjoy a relaxing break in peaceful surroundings overlooking views of the forest, ponies, cattle, donkeys. A grand Victorian house ideally located in the cent re of the New Forest. Many good restaurants and pubs are all walking distance from Rufus House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rufus House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufus House Hotel Lyndhurst
Rufus House Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing