We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Wedding”
Review of Rufus House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rufus House
Ranked #4 of 22 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Family Wedding”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My sister, her husband and myself flew down from Newcastle for a family wedding and decided to stay to see a little bit of the New Forest. We were welcomed by the very friendly owners and were able to use our rooms straight away, even though we arrived much earlier than check in time. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and the mini fridge was ideal to keep our water cool. The ensuite bathroom with shower, washbasin and toilet was clean and all you would need. We did experience the cooked breakfast offered and we were not disappointed. It was very good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back were quieter. This hotel is on a busy road which is the main route through the Ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    80
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
42
257
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Easy to find, good car park and road parking available too, owner happy to help with bags and very responsive to any request. Good freshly cooked breakfast. Room not massive but very acceptable and good value. Bed good. Location close to Lyndhurst, restaurants and right on the edge of New Forest. Short car drive to Beaulieu and not too far to Brockenhurst or Lymington. Very happy to find this and an excellent stay. Homely!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alphasilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Good location for village, shops, restaurants and local pubs. Also easy access to the forest to sample what the New Forest is about.

We were given a ground floor room but hardly any noise from the main road. TV worked with a functioning remote, mini fridge useful for own supplies.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is a lovely guest house in an excellent location. The room is exceptionally clean and the breakfast delicious. But what sets this apart from other places you might stay is the genuine hospitality of the owners. I don't think we've ever been made to feel more welcome by two such delightful people. Thank you. Tim and Elaine.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Been coming here now for approximately 8 years, and Ernesto and Etsuko never fail to please.

This B&B is truly home from home, exceptionally clean, breakfast amazing, all with the loveliest of hosts. The things we love the most is that you get a fridge in the room to keep your drinks cool or you can purchase from the mini bar. - the high quality complimentary toiletries in the bathroom and the massive bath-sheets - lovely comfortable beds. On the outside, plenty of parking and great that you can leave your car on the day of departure so that you can enjoy a final walk. Just cross the road and you are already in an outstanding area with ponies, cows and lovely walks, our favourite being one to the lovely New Forest Inn at Ashurst.

How other travelers can leave such negative reviews because it is situated on a main road is unjustified - let's face it, Lyndhurst itself runs through a very busy main road, it's unavoidable and most of the other B&B's in this little town are in the same predicament... So please be warned, if you wish to stay in Lyndhurst, you probably won't find a hotel/B&B that isn't on the main road.

Thanks again for another enjoyable stay. xx

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing, but we particularly like the upstairs rooms at the back of the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beeniecrew-182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014

To call it just a B&B would be too understate it. Yes it is only a B&B but what a bed and what a Breakfast. Very comfortable and very clean. Trouble has been taken with the décor, the whole place shouts quality. We stayed for 4 nights and I had a full vegetarian breakfast every morning, and I mean full. Plus a carafe of freshly made coffee, brown toast and some lovely local marmalade. Really set me up for the day. What could we say about our hosts Ernesto & Etsuko, couldn't ask for better.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Phoenix_Cards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed here for a few nights whilst in the New Forest. Our room was a decent size, I found the bed comfortable my wife didn't (unusual as it's normally the other way around). The bathroom was also a decent size. Car parking was easy with space in the front and rear of the property. It is a well positioned property being just a few minutes walk to the small town centre where there were a reasonable number of places to eat and drink.
My only real negative was that the room was noisy due to the traffic on the main road outside, and because it was hot we had to leave the windows open, so sleep was often hard to come by. Maybe investing in some floor standing fans would help in the admittedly rare hot spells we have in the UK.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishlee0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
454 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,041 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
111 reviews
6.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufus House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufus House

Property: Rufus House
Address: Rufus House Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufus House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With acres of exceptional woodland and open heaths as our front garden, Rufus House is the perfect location to explore the New Forest and surrounding areas of natural beauty all year around. Enjoy a relaxing break in peaceful surroundings overlooking views of the forest, ponies, cattle, donkeys. A grand Victorian house ideally located in the cent re of the New Forest. Many good restaurants and pubs are all walking distance from Rufus House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rufus House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufus House Hotel Lyndhurst
Rufus House Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing