We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our third visit and can't wait to return!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ormonde House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ormonde House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our third visit and can't wait to return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

We love this hotel. Fantastic value, service and staff. We would not stay anywhere else in the New Forest-just so sad our third visit to the Ormonde House went so quickly. We cannot wait to go back. This hotel is very special to us! Thank you Ormonde House for another wonderful break away. See you soon! XX

Room Tip: AsK for Room 14 our favourite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justjulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    147
    38
    10
    6
See reviews for
56
302
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

Spent four nights at this hotel in the New Forest. We were made to feel very welcome and stayed in one of their four luxury self-contained suites. Breakfast was served in our room at a time specified by us and we had a very relaxing stay. The New Forest which is opposite the hotel was wonderful for walking our two dogs and we were fortunate to have sunny days throughout our stay. We shall certainly be staying again at Ormonde House as we enjoyed the dinners and the breakfasts which were to die for. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel as one of the best when visiting the New Forest.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra662358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

Ideal location in New Forest. Town is a 5mins walk away. Staff were great and very friendly. Manager made sure we had everything we need for breakfast, eventhough we caught it at the last minute! Room was lovely and very cosy, just what you want for a relaxing stay. I would recommend this place to anyone of any age.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChetV80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

Hello , I don,t know where to start but one thing for sure we had a great time. The hotel staff were wonderful.It was as if we were family.Everyone was chatty, they were all so friendly.The food ........well the chiefs could rival any of the 5 star hotels i,ve ever stayed in. It was beautifully prepared ,fresh,well presented and not a long wait between courses. The wine choice was very good.
The rooms were comfortable. Well appointed. drressing gowns,fridge, FRESH milk. The toiletery /bath accessories were all one could expect and beautifully scented.Fresh white linin and towels.
This was the 1st time we had taken our 7mth cross collie/spaniel on a holiday.He was allowed any where in the hotel (not in the dinning room)There was throws provided in the bedrooms to prevent damage to the linin etc. At the front door poo bags ,towels for muddy feet and a bowl of water. It was more than we expected.He had a great time which made our holiday
We met lots of lovely friendly people and dogs staying at the hotel. It was one big get together....the atmosphere seemed to bring in out...I put this down to the hotel owner ,Paul and all the great staff who will spend time with the guests. Nothing is to much trouble. (I had to have a gluten free diet)
We will most certainly be rebooking another break at Ormonde House Hotel
Many many thanks Paul. Karen,Michelle and all the staff

Room Tip: book early ,you may not get in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiehelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

We have just returned from our 3 night break to the Ormonde House - we were there in August as well. The self catering apartments are really good value with all the facilities it is possible to put into the space. The staff can't do enough for you, the food is excellant and the proximity to the Forest outstanding. We took 2 dogs with us and their needs are catered for as well. My husband was ill and all our meals were served in our apartment which was lovely for me as I didn't want to eat in the restaurant alone. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, the accomadation is spotless and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammie07071966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

Have just returned from a visit to the New Forest and stayed at the Ormonde House hotel. Would recommend this hotel for its location. Only a short walk to the village of Lyndhurst and a short drive to the motor museum in Beulieu. Our hotel room was lovely and warm, which was a concern of mine after all the snow and low temperatures we had been experiencing, but as well as the radiator it also had an additional electric heater, so we were very warm. The food was very nice and breakfast very filling, also the bottle of champagne with dinner on Saturday was great.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warlingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

We only stayed 2 nights but would recommend this as a very good place to stay. All staff were efficient and friendly, the food was excellent and very well cooked with plenty of choice and as much as anyone could reasonably want. The room was very comfortable. The bed was perhaps a little hard for some tastes but generally accommodation was roomy, clean and all amenities you could want. We stayed on a very cold weekend but the hotel was kept at a very pleasant, warm temperature. A little care was needed on the stairs up to the second floor, but fine for most people. Situated close to the town so away from noise but town easily accessed. We certainly plan to go again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyA78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ormonde House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormonde House Hotel

Property: Ormonde House Hotel
Address: Ormonde House Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ormonde House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ormonde House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ormonde Hotel Lyndhurst
Ormonde House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing