We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We have discovered a fantastic little retreat !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ormonde House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We have discovered a fantastic little retreat !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

Booked a last minute 2 night stay for me and my family, dog included. Managed to get a great deal for the late booking and couldn't believe the value for money.

We were allocated one of the Linwood Suites to the rear of the hotel and it was like having our own private cottage. Spacious rooms, fully fitted kitchen including dishwasher and washing machine and a fantastic whirpool bath in the bathroom ! There is also a lovely kept garden with seating which you share with the upstairs suite, but we ended up having it all to ourselves all weekend.

Breakfast is the real gem here. Not only is FRESH milk and orange juice already in your fridge, along with stacks of cereals, bread, jams & marmalades, but you also get a cooked breakfast delivered to you each morning at the time of your choice along with fresh fruits and croissants ! Unbelievable value and everything is replenished daily.

The hotel itself is great, very friendly hard working staff. Location couldnt be better. Literally 5 minutes walk from Lyndhurst town centre. Across the road and you are in the New Forest.

Only 2 minor grumbles. The beds are very hard and not what I am used to and the garden area was not enclosed, which meant we had to keep an eye on our dog all of the time. These are very minor though !!!

Already planning a return visit ! Cannot recommend enough.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bookem_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    150
    38
    11
    6
See reviews for
56
308
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed at the Ormonde House Hotel in July 2011 and found the hotel staff extremely helpful - they couldn't have done more to make our stay a pleasant one. The hotel is convenient - just outside of Lyndhurst and within easy walking distance of the shops, pubs etc, and the car parking makes it very easy to get around. The breakfasts were freshly cooked and lovely! We had dinner in the hotel one night and that was very good as well. All of the people were very friendly and we woudl definitely come back again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgreenwood_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east Anglia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

We Have just returned from this wonderfull hotel after spending the weekend there. This is a real find , Hotel staff very friendly & very obliging nothing was too much Trouble.
The Rooms were very clean & well epuiped and most important the beds were really comfortable & a good nights sleep were had by all. especially after a few drinks in the hotel bar after a very good evening meal & the Hotel.
The Location was just a few yards outside Lyndhurst with about a 5 min walk to the village centre.
There is nothing bad about this Hotel to report
They are also very Dog Friendly
Will definatly be returning to this lovely location

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyriceastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

We came to Ormonde House because of the Tripadvisor reviews and we aren't disappointed. The hotel is truly dog friendly as opposed to dog tolerant, and the staff/owners 'get it' in relation to guests with dogs, without the hotel being off-putting to guests without pets. We stayed here with our three labradors. Dog towels and throws were provided. The dog bowl and towels in the porch said it all. With the exception of the restaurant, well behaved dogs are allowed in all public areas, and if you want your pet with you when you eat, you can eat in the conservatory adjoining the restaurant. The staff make a fuss of the pets and make you feel at ease immediately you arrive.
We benefited from a three night DBB rate and it was great value. There was always a selection of around 10 choices for dinner, including daily specials, and we have never had meals in a restaurant where the food arrived so PIPING hot!! You book your dinner by 5pm and can eat at a time of choice on the half hours up to the last sitting at 8pm. Service was friendly, and the room was really comfy - nice laundry, decor, toiletries and adequate parking. Great wifi access for the IPad/laptop. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt really pampered, without fuss. Location is just great - cross the main road, and the dogs can be walked straight on to the New Forest Heath. Lyndhurst shops and pubs are within 5 mins walk. All in all, we have added this to our satnav's favourites 'cos we WILL be coming back... next weekend! Seriously.... we are impressed enough to be coming back next week with our friends and their four legged friend!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchbrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

I stayed at the hotel with a friend for two nights. Excellent base for exploring the beautiful New Forest, and close enough to Lyndhurst for a night out. Our room was excellent. A standard rather than a superior, but still well proportioned and everything had been thought of. Plenty of tea bags by the kettle! Extractor fan was quite noisy but there was a handy light above the mirror in the bathroom to save turning the main light (and fan) on in the middle of the night. Superb breakfast with plenty of choice (even my vegetarian companion was well catered for). We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening but the menu looked nice with a good selection of dishes. Great personal touch and service without being intrusive. I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

We had a great stay our room was very clean and comfortable toileteries and hairdryer were supplied which i did not expect a bonus.Plenty of tea and coffee in the room.
The breakfasts and dinners were excellent lots of choice with good presentation.
all the staff were friendly and helpful.
Thankyou all we will be back.

Room Tip: popular good value so book early to get a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank appple68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed in the hotel, bathroom was fantastic and newly refurbished, room was very depressing, no clear window to look out, mind you if you could have looked out there was iron steps outside so perhaps that was good you couldn't see out!
Sheets cover the top of the dressing table, not even a nice lacy top! Staines on the pillows.
The conservartory was nice but not cleaned very well, cobwebs, dead files laying in the corners of the room.
The bar area was very dark, the wines and beers was mainly warm not chilled enough, we would have expected them to be chilled especially seeing the prices of them!
The positives where that the food was fantastic, dinning room very clean. Great choice, the breakfasts was also excellent so foodwise you couldnt fault the hotel. The staff where lovely.
Of course this is a great place if you have dogs, but not for the people who don't have them.

Room Tip: Great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newforestlover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ormonde House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
It appears we are guilty with regards to the cleanliness of the conservatory fortunately our quest found the restaurant clean.

With regards to other points mentioned. the window does have a poor view hence the frosted glass.
The new bedrooms furniture still awaits toughened glass tops after 5 weeks so hence the table napkin covers.Lace would allow coffee to seep though onto the table surface.Sorry it had a coffee stain. The pillow should have a second cover to preven stain going through to the pillow.
We have chillers and fridges in the bar !
On the whole not our finest hour but I'm glad you enjoyed our breakfast and the staff were lovely.
Must try Harder!!

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ormonde House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormonde House Hotel

Property: Ormonde House Hotel
Address: Ormonde House Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ormonde House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ormonde House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ormonde Hotel Lyndhurst
Ormonde House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing