We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficiently run, reasonably priced, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ormonde House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Southbourne, WestSussex
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Efficiently run, reasonably priced, good location”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We had a spacious, comfortable double room with a wonderful bed, sparkling en suite and felt welcomed by all the staff during our short stay. We had one very good evening meal, breakfast was promptly served, good choice. The small lounge was comfortable, nice conservatory and garden in front. The hotel is a five minute walk from the edge of Lyndhurst so well situated and allows dogs, yet was very clean throughout.

Room Tip: The stairs to the first floor might have been a bit steep for some
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldie064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    155
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
57
318
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
British Isles
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Visiting Bournemouth Ch dog show this was a speculative choice as we had no idea what it was going to be like. It is near a very busy road but that did not bother us too much. The ground floor studio room was ideal for the dogs, with it own kitchenette and washing machine. Great breakfast. The staff were very helpful, would definitely return.

Room Tip: You need a garden room if you have dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lollythebolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2011

we found ormonde house to be a very friendly and well run hotel the room/ king size bed was extremely comfortable and the full english breakfast especially the duck eggs were the best we have tasted. the new forest was the view we woke up to from our bedroom window each morning which was absolutely gorgeous as you can imagine. the staff were very pet freindly and there were several dogs staying at the hotel lyndhusrt town was an easy 10 minute walk away and has lots of places to eat and drink.

Room Tip: we paid an extra £10 per night to have a superior double room which was well worth it as the room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weymouth
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed in this hotel at the end of September - having read some of the trip advisor reviews. It's a small hotel - situated about 5 minutes walk from Lyndhurst. We had a spacious ground floor room - spotlessly clean - 2 single beds joined together making a huge double bed plus a sofa as well. A partcularly nice touch was the small fridge in the room - with a bottle of water and fresh milk for tea and coffee making. Breakfast was exceedingly good - plenty of choice and all freshly cooked to order - so much better than many of the hot buffet styles offered in the larger hotels. There were several set choices for dinner - plus some 'special's' each day - and because the hotel is quite small guests were asked to choose their selection for dinner after breakfast - this wasn't an issue and much of the food is sourced locally.
It probably does need a bit of updating - it is on a main road and without double glazing there is some road noise during the day- but not enough to be a problem. We found this to be an ideal base from which to explore the New Forest and we would go back again - the staff and the owner were all very helpful.

Room Tip: No lift so less mobile travellers may need to ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeymouthHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We visited this hotel 11 years ago and can't imagine why we left it so long to return. Everywhere was so clean and tidy. We had a large bedroom with a huge bed & sofa. Whilst the bathroom was on the small side, it was quite adequate with clean towels every day. There was some noise from the busy road but, although we have zero traffic noise where we live, it didn't bother us at all. This can be solved by asking for a room at the back.
The food was excellent. The breakfast was quite amazing. The best we have ever had in a hotel.
We shall recemmend this hotel to friends & family and will not leave it another 11 years before we return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKTouristNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

What a wonderful find for us ths hotel was.Very well posotioned for all attaractions in the New Forest. Rooms were spotless and spacious. Faciities excellent. Breakfast in morning was fatastic and all staff from arriving to departure were welcoming, polite and friendly.
I would recommend this hotel, however not too much as we really want to go back and need to ensure that they have a room for us. If you would like a chilled relaxed weekend, the Ormonde can certainly provide this. PS try teh Italian within a 5 min walk of hotel excellent food.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Ormonde House provides excellent service to human and dog visitors. Very clean. Cooked breakfast delivered to rooms. separate suites in grounds. Pleasant and helpful staff. Made us feel welcome. Highly recommend this hotel in centre of New Forest especially if you want to take your dog with you.

Room Tip: I only stayed in one of teh suites separate from hotel which was excellent - semi self catering but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
818 reviews
6.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,041 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
111 reviews
9.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ormonde House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormonde House Hotel

Property: Ormonde House Hotel
Address: Ormonde House Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ormonde House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ormonde House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ormonde Hotel Lyndhurst
Ormonde House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing