We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, nice people, some parts tired.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ormonde House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Upavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice location, nice people, some parts tired.”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Ormonde House is in a beautiful location and we stayed for two nights during the very recent hot spell. We stayed in a room at the top of 2 flights of stairs (no lift!) and found the room’s appearance and facilities tired and not as clean as they could have been. To me, it did not feel like a hotel, nor did it have the facilities of what I consider a hotel to have. It was priced at the top end of the B&B range at £99 per night (standard room), including breakfast and the food was good – not outstanding as some have commented on. Other positives: the location is excellent, the staff, in particular the owner, understanding and friendly. We had to leave 2 days early due to an emergency and he charged us for one extra night only – he could have charged for two. When we asked for an extra fan, one was brought up from the bar for us; the room was very hot. If I stayed here again it would be in a different room and possibly in one of the cottages with my dog – they are very dog friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahBB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    151
    38
    12
    6
See reviews for
57
312
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
south coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2012

our sixth time at Ormonde house We always feel welcomed and look forward to our visits. Staff are always pleasant and caring and the breakfasts are excellent. Its location for the New Forest is excellent and its convenient for Southhapton Cruising

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We booked 3 nights at this hotel. From the pictures on the web site the rooms looked nice. We tried to book the kingsize room that the website said was available, but we couldn't. When we phoned we were told that the room was not available. We were told that a double room was available and it was identical to a king size except that it didn't have a fridge and the bed was smaller. When we arrived we were shown into an attic room that had a very small double bed, a single bed and a sofa all crammed into a very small room. The decor was shabby, the bed covers smelled bad and the carpet was filthy. We checked in at 4 pm and were told that if we wanted to eat in the restaurant that evening we had to choose what we wanted to eat by 5pm - Hardly the first thing on our minds after a long journey! We decided to leave after 1 night and the manager was very reasonable and gave us a refund for the unused nights plus a small discount, which was appreciated. When we commented upon the smelly bedspread the manager assured us it was washed once per month.

Room Tip: Don't trust the pictures on the web-site
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel with lovely staff.
We stayed here for four nights and loved it.
We were in Pinewood 4 - a double and a twin - which has a conservatory where we had a fabulous Full English every morning, with strawberries.
It was brought over piping hot by the hotel's friendly staff.
Also had a delicious evening meal, with a perfectly cooked steak. My son said his chicken was among the best he'd ever had.
The hotel, informal and relaxed, is also very dog friendly. The New Forest is across the road, with a convenient entrance for walkers almost opposite the hotel.
Met Paul the owner briefly and it's a credit to him that his staff are so natural and friendly, particularly Karen at reception, who also doubles up at the bar.
We've already rebooked for next summer!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benbLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This is a nice comfortable hotel, the staff are very friendly and it's very well run. The rooms we've stayed in are attractive and modern with tv and tea/coffee making facilities and there's lots of parking space in front of the hotel. The breakfasts are really good and well cooked, there's a restaurant which served very nice modern food when we used it but we haven't used it recently. There's also a bar with comfy seating area, so if it's raining, or you're tired, no need to go out.

It's position on the edge of Lyndhurst (5 mins walk) makes it very convenient for the open forest and the village centre with its handful of local pubs and restaurants.

We've stayed a couple of times and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We've always stayed on the second floor which has quite steep steps, which is no problem really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cakerider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed at the end of June 2012 for 2 nights. the staff were very welcoming and efficient and helpful. be aware though that there is no lift and the stairs to the second floor where we stayed were quite steep especially when carrying cases.
The food was excellent and the staff very attentive. The hotel is well situated for the town and the forest and had a nice family feel, we would definitely go again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

A well positioned hotel just a short walk to many restaurants and the village. The only downside is that there is no lift and the stairs are very steep. The room was spacious and clean and quiet. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were very friendly. There is plenty to see and do in the area around Lyndhurst .

Room Tip: Our room over looked the main road and yet it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkskupch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
806 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
705 reviews
9.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ormonde House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormonde House Hotel

Property: Ormonde House Hotel
Address: Ormonde House Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ormonde House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ormonde House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ormonde Hotel Lyndhurst
Ormonde House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing