We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ormonde House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights at the end of January at this really good, little hotel. We took a Pinewood Garden Suite, which provided most excellent accomodation: generous sleeping area, comfortable settee and coffee area, fully-equipped (open-plan) kitchen and meals area with table and chairs, and a really good bathroom. Heating was very good too (needed to be because the weather wasn't!). The owner, Paul, and the staff are all very friendly. Lyndhurst itself is very well positioned for visiting the New Forest, and the hotel is conveniently located on the outskirts of the village (walking distance). I would certainly go back there.

Room Tip: If you want more space, pay that bit extra (not much) and take one of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeathTikvaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in Jan 2013. The room was great value and had everything you could want from a hotel like this. Small negatives of the room would be that there are no hooks in the bathroom to hang up your clothes or bathrobe, the TV was a wee bit small and the decor in the room could be more colourful but these are minor points. The staff were very polite and helpful, especially the girls who served our delicious breakfasts. I'm a great believer in you get what you pay for but in this hotel you feel like you've got slightly more than you've paid for

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We visited in nov 12 for 3 nights with our dog,we had a garden suite which was warm clean
and welcoming.
Our breakfast was deilverd to the room and was perfect,nothing was to much trouble for
the management
All in all a great few days

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We predominently stayed here as we got a bookings.com £29 deal for room only which seemed amazingly cheap & the reviews were all good.
We got an excellent deal as our room was lovely - very big.
The hotel's only just outside central Lyndhurst amongst other guest houses on the Southhampton Rd so great location although not right in the centre of the town.
We arrived late & ended up having dinner there. They like you to pre order dinner but were accommodating to us, arriving at the end of the dinner service. We ate there mostly for convenience but were very impressed with our lovely main meals & desserts, all home made & delicious.
We didn't have the breakfast that wasn't included as part of our room rate as we didn't have time. It woudl probably have been quite good.
Everyone was very friendly & we'd definitely return if heading down to the New Forest again, even without the rediculously amazing bargain.

Room Tip: We were in room #18 which was right at reception - maybe a tiny bit noisy (we were in off season) bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed in annex which was very private nicely furnished large and roomy ,had breakfast delivered from main house full English /as well as continental tea/coffee available in annex television everything needed for a short break ,in the New Forest .We choose a half board break ,the evening meal was excellent with sweets to die for ,had coffee in the lounge which was served with cookies all in all a good break in middle of New Forest

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stayed here with some friends a couple of nights ago, and what a great place. Two of us are wheelchair users and the staff were very helpful and ensured that our rooms were suitable and met all our needs. The rooms were clean and very well presented with very nice tea and coffee facilities. However the real gem about this place is the food. I can only describe it as 'Amazing'. I had the king prawns in white wine with garlic and spring onion and every mouthful was heaven!! We all ate different dishes and all were equally excellent. The bar and lounge area were very pleasant and free newspapers were provided in the bar area. If you're staying in Lyndhurst, do yourself a favour and don't miss this hotel, it's lovely!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FoggyFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We had a 2 night stay here as my partner was taking part in a cycle ride. The hotel was warm and friendly. Was the room in need of some modernising, yes, but that did not mean it was was not clean and have a good standard of facilities. Shower and bath, comfortable bed, television, fridge etc.An early breakfast was provided for my partner, something other places had promised, but never delivered!
I would stay here again, particularly in this room. Thank you Ormonde!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsWMch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
2.0 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
593 reviews
6.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
856 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,098 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ormonde House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormonde House Hotel

Address: Ormonde House Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range: £70 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ormonde House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Ormonde House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ormonde Hotel Lyndhurst
Ormonde House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing