We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, friendly & unpretentious hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ormonde House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent, friendly & unpretentious hotel”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

My wife and I spent last Saturday night at this charming hotel. We were late arriving but were immediately made to feel most welcome by Charlotte on Reception who showed us to our immaculate and well appointed room.
There is nothing swish or fancy about this hotel but it offers good parking; warm, clean rooms; excellent service and certainly in our case, a first class breakfast.
Being no more than a 3 minute walk from the New Forest, the hotel's location was perfect as we had our two dogs with us. They too were made to feel most welcome.
We shall be returning soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    151
    38
    11
    6
See reviews for
56
310
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, England.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I stayed with my husband on a 3 night break for the price of 2 nights which included dinner, bed and breafast.
We had room 14 on the ground floor with a little lounge area and a further door which led to the front garden - which was very useful as we took our small dog with us.
The room is probably due for refurbishment at some point but the bedding and towels were clean, bed was very comfortable. Plenty of cupboard space, a mini fridge and our bathroom had a double whirlpool bath. I would say the room was fairly clean - we did spot one or two cobwebs and did find a couple of doggie bags (unused of course) just under the bed which we would say doesn't get a vacuum underneath.
Food - Really good. We had 2 courses each evening which was plenty for us. Nice choice of fresh vegetables with each meal. Would definitely recommend having a meal here or go db&b as we did. They obviously have a very good chef.
It's a 5-10min walk into Lyndhurst, straight road and there are a few nice shops to browse and places to stop for coffee or light lunch.
We both agreed that we would both return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a superior room on the ground floor. I think there are other rooms which have been refurbishe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldwire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I stayed here for 1 night with my partner. (A little Valentines treat!) I cannot fault this Hotel. The staff are lovely and friendly. We had a gorgeous room which quite clearly had been recently renovated, and it was imaculate. The bathroom was large and modern, with a great big shower. All the fixtures and fittings were of great quality. The bed was incredibly comfortable.

Although the hotel is Dog friendly, its clean and fresh and certainly not unclean.

This hotel made our weekend. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We had a great time at Ormonde House, excellent service, delicious food and our dogs love sharing our holiday with us. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and will look forward to going again. Hotel very dog friendly and the rooms and clean and welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I took my wife here for our anniversary and we stayed in one of the Pinewood Suites. To be honest it is probably not the place to go for a Romantic break. As we stepped through the threshold were were greeted by a sign indicating where to find doggy poo bags. Whilst relaxing in the bar after dinner other guests brought in their dogs. Don't get me wrong, I love dogs and we have one ourselves but the hotel is too "dog-orientated" and wouldn't recommend it unless you are accompanied by your dog.
Notwithstanding our comments, dinner was good and breakfast adequate. We did find our room fairly noisy due to passing traffic,

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveanddore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed in Pinewood 1, as we have a 4 month old, teething, German shepherd puppy.
We fitted Mia's full size crate by the front door, on the wooden kitchen area, which made it easy to clean up any swampy, muddy walked in dirt, and she could also see us from there too.

We saw that the weather was going to be wet, cold & windy, so thought a suite would be best and we were right, it was perfect. There is a choice of two small gardens for dog toilet times. The kitchen area is fully fitted, with T&CMF, and even has a washing machine with drying function, which was really handy! The lounge / bedroom is wonderfully spacious, with a nice telly, brilliant electric fire, rather soft sofa (sofabed) and huge bed. The bed is firm, but we got used to it by the 2nd night. There are plenty of pillows and extra blankets. There is a nice large wardrobe and drawers too. If you feel cold, don't miss the thermostat above the telly wall to heat the room, and put the radiators on "V".

Hot cooked breakfast is brought to the room every morning if you order by 11pm, dinner, which is just delicious, must be ordered by 5pm, and is eaten in the hotel. I had a terrific sirloin steak!

The bathroom is sizeable and has his & her sinks, and a big whirlpool bubble bath. The shower is also very good, (a necessity in my book). The towels are fluffy and nice and big.

Suffice to say, this place has everything you could want, a polite and friendly service, it is clean (daily housemaid service and replenished bread, milk and cereals), very serviceable, is in a great location being across the road from a big New Forest park and 4 minutes to the high street on foot. There is an outdoor shop in town too.

If you have a dog, book now, don't bother looking anywhere else.

Thank you for a lovely 3 night break away from it all.

Room Tip: Pinewood 1 is perfect for a larger breed dog as it is quite spacious and accessed independently of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShagratBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Nothing was too much trouble from the staff that worked at The Ormonde House. We had dogs with us which at some hotels can be a bit tricky but they were welcomed with open arms.I could not fault anything, the staff have to be the outstanding feature and the breakfast was delicious. Thank you for a lovely weekend, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miles E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ormonde House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormonde House Hotel

Property: Ormonde House Hotel
Address: Ormonde House Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ormonde House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ormonde House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ormonde Hotel Lyndhurst
Ormonde House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing