We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ormonde House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Dreary and stuffy room; building site next door so very noisy with windows open. No privacy due to builders and house opposite overlooking room. Net curtains would be a good idea. Last straw - the kettle was 'contaminated' and all drinks made had a nasty metallic taste. Staff apologetic; full refund given and alternative local accommodation offered, as they had no other rooms available.Bad start to our relaxing break!

Can't comment on service, food or sleep quality as did not stay long enough to find out! Lady on reception was very understanding and helpful.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lorraine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ormonde9, Owner at Ormonde House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Obviously I am disappointed that our quests were disappointed, and I'm glad that the receptionist on duty handled the problem to our guests satisfaction.

For the record the builders were garden contractors laying a pathway for the house next door. The new house adjacent has been completed and the garden will be finished this week.

The dreary and stuffy room happens to be a totally refurbished ensuite room that has received much praised since its refurb and is furbished in fawn , brown and lime green. There is no need for a net curtain as it is virtually impossible to view the room from the house across the road and net curtains in a lit room still enable people to see an image in the room.

During this period of extreme heat , over 31c on their day of arrival , all our bedrooms have had their curtains drawn closed and the windows left ajar. We also leave the fans on 24/7 .During the last 3 weeks we have had no guests check out due the rooms being too hot.

The kettle not emptied is our fault.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

Enjoyed a four night stay at Ormonde House Hotel in July. ALL the staff were extremely friendly and professional. Nothing was too much trouble for them and we had a poitive response to every request. We stayed in Room 12 on the second floor, which had a fabulous whirlpool bath. The bed was very comfortable and despite the hotel being on the main road, it is set back a little and we were not disturbed by traffic - even though we had the windows open due to the heatwave!! The whole hotel was spotlessly clean. Breakfasts and dinners were delicious with POTS of coffee! Yippee!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancesBlodwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed in a standard room for 3 nights with our 1 year old miniature schnauzer, all of the staff had good old fashion customer service. Nothing was too much trouble and they made us feel very welcome; very dog friendly hotel. Easy walk into Lyndhurst and situated opposite New Forest; close to the coast and other surrounding areas. Would love to stay again and will be recommending to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lburr1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a room with a whirlpool bath for one night. The room and bath were great, but the shower was quite useless (no pressure) which was disappointing. The room was at the top of the building which made it boiling hot and it was a very hot July day too which didn't help. We had a fan and windows open all the time but was very hot. The location is great, few mins walk into Lyndhurst town. The staff were all lovely and I loved the breakfast a lot, everything you could want! Would stay again, possibly not the same room!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Good plentiful parking. Clean if uninspiring rooms although flat screen TV was bonus. Good breakfasts. Have stayed here before and it appears that that have tried to improve as staff attitude and friendliness was much improved.
Easy walk into Lyndhurst. On a busy road although set back slightly.

Room Tip: Some rooms are accessed via steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamingsquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We had not originally planned to stay here but due to the arrival of a dog had to look for a dog friendly hotel and decided on this one. Have to say I am very glad we did.

The hotel is situated within 5 minutes easy walk into the centre of Lyndhurst and is set back off the main road enough for the noise of the road not to be a problem. It has plenty of free parking at the front of the hotel. The hotel is very dog friendly providing dog biscuits, water by the front door. Dogs are allowed in the bar and rooms and you are provided with extra sheets to put on the bed and chairs to stop the dog hairs getting over them.

Talking of the room, it was of good size (stopped in room 20 at the back of the hotel) with a comfy bed and pillows and a newly done bathroom. My only very small comment is that the room feels a little dated and could perhaps so with a refurb but thats a very small thing. Another small point was that the UHT milk in the room was to be off but when I reported this the milk was quickly changed although the second lot was also as bad so ended up buying a pint of milk for the coffee.

The staff were very friendly and helpful with good service at breakfast and dinner. The breakfast is very nice and well cooked and presented and locally sourced. They can provide gluten free toast in the morning (perhaps would of been nice to have the option of a GF sausage). We also stopped for an evening meal on one night and this was very nice as well. As the meals are cooked to order you are asked to book before but this was not a problem. Again the food can be tailored for those wanting a GF option. Two courses were £16.50 which seemed a good price.

Overall I was very happy with the hotel for the area the £80 per night B&B was good value and would happily stop again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ianhrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Just stayed a couple of nights here. Clearly dog-friendly as water & dog treats available in the entrance! Our room was up two steep flights of steps - not a problem for any of us, large & comfortable. Open space just across the road - with ponies, cows, donkeys & idyllic cricket pitch - perfect for long & short walks. A 5 minute stroll into the village. Great location. Super breakfast choice & quality too - fab duck eggs!! Thank you.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
2 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
634 reviews
6.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
774 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
883 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ormonde House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormonde House Hotel

Address: Ormonde House Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range: £62 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ormonde House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ormonde House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ormonde Hotel Lyndhurst
Ormonde House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing