We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cosy weekend at Ormonde House Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ormonde House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great cosy weekend at Ormonde House Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had a great stay in this Hotel we stayed one night at the weekend in a lovely room which was spotless and the decor was fresh and modern and the bathroom had a jacuzzi bath which was a real treat, the Queen size bed was very comfortable so we both enjoyed a good nights sleep, we had a full English breakfast in the morning with a fresh orange juice it was nice, all the staff we met during our stay we're very friendly and helpful. This hotel is a perfect central location to explore the New forest and only a 5 minute walk to the shops, restaurants etc we had a meal at the Imperial China which we would also recommend. We will definitely return to Ormonde House Hotel it's was a thoroughly enjoyable stay :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliot&Kirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    150
    38
    11
    6
See reviews for
56
308
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed as a large group of twenty ex students for a whole weekend, so I suppose we dominated the Hotel to some extent. Rooms, food, location all as expected - very good. However there seemed to be a complete lack of management around the place. The young staff buzz around, and one girl in particular, that we called Kerrygold, because she was so good was on duty when we booked in during the Friday afternoon, then serving dinner and then she was making up guests bills afterwards till midnight whilst we were dancing to music we provided in the lobby. We went down the road to the Italian the following night for dinner. and Kerry was on duty again so I mentioned we'd be back later that evening for more dancing and use of the bar. We got back at 11.05 pm to find the place locked, the bar shut and the place like a morgue. Most of us had left our keys behind in the Hotel, so just as well someone had taken a key to get in.

There was no one on duty, we eventually found a piece of paper with the instruction to look for our keys in the office, but as there were no lights on, we didn't find it easily, ten of our party went back to the Italian restaurant as they still had their bar open. We listened to music off my iPhone till midnight and then went to bed. In future, I'd check what their late evening policy is as anyone could have helped themselves to the room keys and raided our rooms.

Kerrygold was on duty again for breakfast on Sunday morning, some one else was struggling to sort out the bills, which seemed confusing, but all sorted in the end. Whatever Kerry is being paid, she's worth every penny. If I was the manager, I'd consider hiring some night staff, both for security reasons, and the fact that they could have made a small fortune out of us, if they'd bother to open the bar after 11 on a Saturday. I understand they were told in advance to expect to make lot of money out of us, as we'd happily spend it at their bar if it was open.

Nice enough place , good service when its available, but I'd worry about staying there again if it was a open house for keys to rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ormonde9, Owner at Ormonde House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
I'm happy to hear you had a good time at Ormonde House and answer your concerns over the lack of management and security.

I thank you for praising Kerry who was one of 4 duty managers that weekend. She has worked at Ormonde House for the last 8 years and is fully trained for all types of emergencies as are Karen and Richard our Chef who are both over 40 and have worked here for over 10 years. No matter what role my senior staff have in the hotel they are more than capable of ensuring everything runs smoothly. The fourth person was myself and I was on duty Sunday morning and took your breakfast order and checked you out . I have been in the industry for nearly 40 years.

With regards to security, we mention to our guests on arrival that their room key opens the front door and it states in our room browser the following
" The front door is locked between 10 to 11pm for security , so please take rooms key as this opens the front door as well as your room."

As for the issue over room key security. The positioning of the room keys according to our insurance company has to be out of sight of the front desk and if everyone takes their keys when they go out the only room keys left on the key stand are for empty rooms! Master keys are locked away at night .The duty sleepover manager that Saturday night was Kerri.

I find that these and all concerns are much better answered before checking out or during your stay by talking to management . It also removes unnecessary concerns for yourselves and future guests and with it maintains the reputation of my hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed for 4 nights with our boisterous 1 year old Old English Sheepdog, we were made to feel extremely welcome, the room was very clean, well appointed and even a good picture on the television. The hotel is very dog friendly, (they supply additional sheets to cover the beds etc, towels, water and dog biscuits in the entrance) so we were able to relax and not worry about having the dog with us. Breakfast is very good fresh and plentiful. We will be back

Room Tip: Some rooms are on 3rd floor and no lift so check when booking if you have problems with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had a really lovely stay in this hotel. Room was very spacious and comfortable, en-suite with a bath and overhead shower. Had to order our meal by 6pm and book our dining time, good choice of menu and the food was delicious. Very good wine list, reasonably priced. Breakfast was another delight, freshly squeezed orange juice as well as lots of local produce. Altogether an excellent stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiewEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

This was our third stay at Ormonde House and once again I have no complaints. The hotel is situated on the edge of Lyndhurst in the middle of the new Forest and is the perfect base for exploring the area. We had our dog with us and the Forest itself starts opposite the hotel, perfect for a morning walk. The staff were excellent, the room was clean and well equiped and the breakfast was very good. This is a very pleaseant, quiet, relaxing hotel. We stayed in room 17 which is on the top floor, but has the advantage of being very quiet, which is what we wanted. I would recommend this hotel and will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at the Ormonde in one of the suites. The room was clean and tidy and spacious. the breakfast brought to your room was novel and very nice. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. Great central location for exploring the New Forest.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed on a mid-week break and this was our first holiday with our little boy. We stayed in one of the garden suites which was a little dated to what I was expecting. The staff however were very accomodating for us as we opted to have dinner in our room as we thought it would be easier with a little one. The food was lovely especially dinner and there was also a good choice of childrens meals.

Room Tip: Pleasant accomodation but in need of updating
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ormonde House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormonde House Hotel

Property: Ormonde House Hotel
Address: Ormonde House Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ormonde House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ormonde House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ormonde Hotel Lyndhurst
Ormonde House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing