We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ormonde House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“5 Star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Ormond House Hotel for 2 nights and had a very present stay. The staff were always friendly and polite and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed B&B and the breakfast we had was delicious both mornings. The room was very comfortable and very well presented and especially clean. We were only a short walk from the town and located nicely to drive to some of the New Forest attractions. The price you pay for the facilities offered is a true bargain and if we come to the new forest again we would certainly use this hotel. Thank you for helping to make our long weekend enjoyable and relaxing.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KJUZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    151
    38
    11
    6
See reviews for
56
308
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here about five years ago and had a lovely break so decided on staying again on our recent break. It is a nice hotel with all the staff being helpful and friendly. Our friend turned up on our second morning to visit and it was no problem for him to join us for breakfast. The breakfast was varied and well cooked. The rooms are clean and tidy. The pricing is reasonable and have stayed in worst places for a lot more. The owners should be proud of their hotel and the staff that work in it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank spiderman40186308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel over the New Year. Opted for the dinner, bed and breakfast and the food and service were great. We stayed with our dog and she was made very welcome with towels at the door and biscuits. Also found that the drink prices were very reasonable too. The only thing we would have changed was the weather! Will certainly be returning - thank you to all the staff and other guests for a great break and New Year.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Totty33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed her for New Year's Eve and went out into the village. It has an enviable location. The rooms are clean and furnished to a good standard. The staff are friendly and professional. It really is well located for the village, new forest or heading further south.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

I organised a group trip and the staff were so helpful and nice. The hotel us pretty basic but comfortable and gas a lovely bar area. Perfectly located for a trip to the New a Forest and especially Lyndhurst. Lots of nice pubs and restaurants within walking distance.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Vicky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I saw the reviews for this B&B on trip advisor and decided to give it go. As a family we love little breaks but want something a little bit special when it comes down to accommodation. It's often hard to combine the convenience of self catering ( separate rooms so that children can be asleep and parents relax, eat and watch TV without disturbing the kids) with the added extras of a B&B (room cleaned daily and breakfast and or dinner in the comfort of your accommodation)
So Ormonde House is a real treat. If you ordered before 6pm you could have a meal delivered to your apartment and they were so accommodating in that children's meals could be made earlier so that you could keep with your normal routine. Meals were delicious and a good varied local menu was on offer.
The accommodation was spacious and the added space of the conservatory(although a bit chilly in January and noisy due to the heavy rain) was a bonus as you didn't feel that you were eating and sleeping in the same room.
Staff were friendly and accommodating, although a gentle reminder to order breakfast would have been helpful. Location was perfect as you could walk into Lyndhurst, and pop across the (busy) road to see the new forest ponies, which delighted our 2 girls.
A lovely B&B and one which I'm sure we'll stay in again next time we visit the New Forest.

Room Tip: pinewood. Apartments 4 was a double and twin bedded lodge with conservatory space and lead onto a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greekmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

A two night stay, just back, with family.
Stayed in 2 bungalow rooms which were really well furnished, clean and comfortable.
Kitchen areas included dishwasher, laundry washer/dryer as well as everything else needed if you wanted to self cater.
Plenty of hot water and central heating working well
Clean fluffy towels each
Breakfast included plenty of variety and cooked requests delivered to the room with generous portions
Generous spirit in the presentation and welcome

The staff were really helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Chose bungalow rooms because of independence and not good on stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1248mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ormonde House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormonde House Hotel

Property: Ormonde House Hotel
Address: Ormonde House Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ormonde House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ormonde House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ormonde Hotel Lyndhurst
Ormonde House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing