We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ormonde House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Brilliant”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Ormonde House Hotel is one not to be missed when searching for accommodation in a The New Forest. My husband and I, along with our children and grandchildren, have just spent a couple of days here. The whole experience from start to finish was most enjoyable. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are way above basic with incredible shower rooms! I must say though the photos on their web site do not do the hotel justice! Our children stayed in the garden family accommodation which is a terrific idea, they even had a hot breakfast delivered to order each day. The food was excellent. Breakfast was well cooked with plenty of choice and the ingredients were locally sourced. We had an evening meal here one night which was delicious. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to my friends and family. Well done The Ormonde House and great value for money.
Suzanne and Tony Anderman

Room Tip: The hotel is set back from a very busy road, so if noise disturbs you ask for a rear room. I had a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 47Suzieq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    155
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
57
318
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed in the two bed family suites. Utterly brilliant. 2 bedrooms, though we slept our twins in cots and son in one of them.
The bedroom for us had a huge comfy bed. The suite also has a lovely conservatory with fridge/kettle/toaster The suite had an amazing stock of all the ingredients for a continental breakfast with lovely fresh milk and bread daily. Delicious cooked breakfast delivered to the table at a time of our choice.
Great location. Amazing staff (who went out to get bananas for us when they'd run out) Totally home from home. Parents loved their rooms in the main hotel too.
Great great hotel. Thank you for such a great value stay with personal touches.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melp30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

booked 2 night stay for our anniversary. great location, can walk to lyndhurst town centre and the new forest is right opposite.

food was lovely, breakfast cooked to order and we ate once for dinner - great value for money.

staff were friendly and helpful.

floorboards creak a lot! but nice rooms - would recommend for couples and dog owners - not for young children.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Room with whirlpool bath is a winner. I am sad to leave as there's so much to do in the area. The breakfast variety is fantastic and quality ingredients...If their breakfast is that good, their dinner must be great too. I will have to come back.

Great central location, which means you don't have to have a car.

Beds comfy, room clean and excellent whirlpool spa bath. Thank goodness for fresh milk and good tea and coffee in room.

Revisit a must

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

A friendly, professionally-run establishment with value for money accommodation and generous portions of home-cooked food. Clean, decent size room. And dog-friendly too. Would definitely recommend and go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite, although may cost more, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just got back from staying here just for a night as an anniversary treat. On arrival we arrived way too early but were allowed to leave the car till we came back. We stayed in one of the garden bungalows which was lovely. Small kitchen area which had tea and coffee facilities. Ample of breakfast cereals, yogurts, bread, milk,orange juice, all extras for toast in the morning. We opted for the room service English breakfast, which arrived in a big box at the time requested. Little on the small size for hubby but you have the opportunity to double up on what ever you wish. Also any fruit was available. Lovely nights sleep, even though people have mentioned the 2 singles pushed together it was comfortable and makes the bed have plenty of room!! I treated myself to the jacuzzi bit in the bathroom and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience.we didn't eat in the hotel itself as we went out for dinner.

Room Tip: pine garden suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ceeking10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very pleasant stay with the family for son's birthday. Rooms were very spacious and spotlessly clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Comprehensive menu, everything we had was beautifully cooked and arrived at the table quickly. Only 10 mins walk from town centre. Can't wait to come again. Thank you.

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor by e front door was a little noisy but not bad enough to bother us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
818 reviews
6.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,041 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
110 reviews
9.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ormonde House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormonde House Hotel

Property: Ormonde House Hotel
Address: Ormonde House Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ormonde House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ormonde House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ormonde Hotel Lyndhurst
Ormonde House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing