We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ormonde House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“great little hotel”
Reviewed 31 October 2009

just had great 3 day break. Modest hotel but very clean and warm.Breakfast freshly cooked and great choice. Friendly ,helpful staff. Walking distance to village with reasonable choice of teashops and restaurants. Great base for New Forest break.Great value for money.would definately go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 62MrsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    151
    38
    12
    6
See reviews for
57
312
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Booked the Ormonde House Hotel for a weekend break with my husband, daughter, mother and father-in-law and our dog. Had a fabulous time and would highly recommend the hotel to anyone. Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. They are very dog friendly - our dog was even allowed to sit in the bar with us. Food in the hotel was fabulous. We ate breakfast and dinner in the hotel and it was all first class food (especially the scrambled egg served with breakfast!). The New Forest was just across the road and Lyndhurst just a 5-minute walk away. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank destewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Ormonde House Hotel during October 2009.

The AA star ratings awards say this about a 2 star hotel. “All rooms are en suite or have private facilities. A restaurant or dining room serves breakfast daily and dinner most evenings. Courteous service, well-maintained beds, and breakfast prepared with a good level of care”.

Ormonde House does everything that its 2-star AA rating requires – and it does it all BRILLIANTLY well. Our en-suite room was quiet, spotlessly clean, well furnished and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was as good as we have eaten anywhere, with a wide selection of cereals, fruit and a full English (a proverbial blowout at the whole works level) that was beautifully cooked and extremely tasty. We stayed for dinner on one night and were just as impressed. To just describe the hotel staff as “courteous” would be an understatement. They were - without exception - very friendly, helpful and welcoming.

The hotel is situated on the main Southampton road about 5 minutes level walk from the centre of Lyndhurst. The front of the hotel faces out onto a very large area of open heath and unenclosed woodlands (Boltons Bench, White Moor, Foxhill Moor, Mallard Wood etc). Which is all well worth exploring – we spent a peaceful morning following one of the recommended walks from Lyndhurst (see http://www.newforestexplorersguide.co.uk/ , walks from Lyndhurst, walk number two).

We were really, really impressed with this hotel and its location - and we wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again. We’d recommend it to anyone seeking a good value break in the New Forest. All credit to the hotel owner.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMPartialDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2009

We have stayed at this hotel at least once a year for the last 6 years, always in March but this year we decided to go again in September. The staff are incredibly friendly and efficient. The location is perfect - the New Forest is literally across the road and the centre of Lyndhurst is a 5 minute walk. The rooms are clean and well looked after. There always seems to be some improvement going on, but never in an obtrusive way.

The hotel and the staff are very dog-friendly, as are most of the guests! We haven't tried the restaurant in the evening but breakfast is always excellent.

We have recommended this hotel to several friends, all of whom have enjoyed their stay and some of whom have become happy regulars like us.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh, Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

With immediate access to the New Forest and yet only 200-300 yards from the centre of the attractive town of Lyndhurst, we found this hotel's location to be near perfect for our walking holiday. The hotel itself was a surprise - a very pleasant one. Our room was much larger than expected (we think we may have benefitted fortuitously), was presented and kept spotlessly clean & sweet smelling, and was very well equiped (including modern flat screen TV & small fridge). The free bottled water & milk in the fridge on arrival was a nice touch. The kitchen also hit much above it's price weight. The food was beautifully cooked and full of flavour. And the serving staff were far more attentive than one often finds in even some top range hotels these days.Overall the hotel provided very good value for money. We have only a couple of comments on the downside, neither of which affected us to any significant degree. First, there was no lift and the stairs to the 1st & 2nd floors were relatively steep with narrow treads. These would be very difficult for the less able particularly when taking luggage up or down. Secondly, some of the bedrooms would experience a moderate amount of traffic noise.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaffnmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham Uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We stayed for 3 nights with our little westie. On arrival we were taken to our room -on the 2nd floor (A very nice touch-as most hotels these days only give you directions!) The room had everything anyone could want; plenty of refreshments, toiletries, lots of storage and a lovely settee, plus a view over the New Forest-great for sunrises and sunsets. For our dog; near the front door were towels,a bin, water and wipes for after a walk in the New Forest-which is just across the road! In the room-towels and a cover for furnishings.
All the staff were very friendly and informative and the hotel was spotlessly clean.The food was excellent and all locally produced.
We couldn't have asked for anyting more and cant wait to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaGNottinghamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Stayed for 3 nights in a superior room with a whirlpool bath which was lovely. The breakfast and evening meal were excellently presented. The hotel was very clean even though they take pets there was no 'pet smells' The staff were excellent and I would recommend this hotel as a little gem.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
806 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
706 reviews
9.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
417 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ormonde House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormonde House Hotel

Property: Ormonde House Hotel
Address: Ormonde House Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ormonde House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ormonde House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ormonde Hotel Lyndhurst
Ormonde House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing