We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ormonde House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

My stay at Ormonde house hotel was wonderful! From the moment we arrived, the staff were friendly and warming right up until we had checked out. The room was clean, bright and comfortable. We had breakfast in the morning which was by far one of the best breakfasts we have had in a long time! The hotel was easy to find and only a few minutes walk to the main shops. I would definately go back to this hotel, mainly because the staff were so helpful and friendly! We had a wonderful weekend! Emma Fernando

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELF22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    150
    38
    11
    6
See reviews for
56
307
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Henlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2010

My first impression of this hotel were not good. After a 4 hour journey through awful weather to get there, we were ignored by the receptionist for a several minutes before she acknowledged our presence and interrupted her private conversation to deal with us. In my view not a favourable start.

Fortunately the three day stay we had was peaceful and relaxing. This is not a hotel for lively people, once dinner is over you can either sit in the tiny bar or go to your room. That suited us. We had a very nice room with a huge bed and tv, and it was very comfortable.
The food and the service in the restaurant is very good. They had an extensive menu that you order before 5pm , so as soon as you sit down they bring it out to you.

We took our dog with us and their are lovely walks just across the road where you can see lots of ponies.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCoulson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2009

Have stayed at this hotel many times over the years and have always been extremely content and happy with the quality of the services provided. Paul and his staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is excellent. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireSkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

The staff here were very helpful (especially Karen!) and wanting to cater to your every need. Rooms were very spacious with 6ft bed - all for £59 per night! Was worried about two star rating but shouldn't have been - it could easily be graded higher. Ideally situated for New Forest and surrounding area. The rerstaurant food was excellent at both breakfast and dinner sittings. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boltonwanderer_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mid sussex
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

Pleasantly located on the outskirts of the new forest with comfortable rooms and obliging staff special offers on accomodation and food made it a value for money stay, a shame that the advertised Wi Fi not in operation (not the end of the world though) have returned now for the fifth year

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMWMidSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

We spent a couple of nights at the Ormonde House hotel for a romantic weekend in the New Forest. The hotel itself is located a brief walk from the centre of Lyndhurst and has plenty of parking as well as facilities to store bikes.

We had a room within the hotel's annexe; a two storey detached house alongside the main building. The room was spacious enough and is effectively a self contained flat, with bed, seating area, kitchen and bathroom.

Unfortunately, the room's heating is provided solely by electric radiators that we found couldn't cope at all, particularly as the windows are single glazed. As such, we tried not to spend much time there.

When it came to getting ready for a Saturday night out, there was no hot water at all, as the boiler is shared by both rooms in the annexe, so we had to wait for ages whilst it heated up.

With a bit of money spent on installing central heating to the annexe, this could be a very pleasant place to stay, but for now either grab a room in the hotel, or look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wotski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

Booked a suite here and was surprised with the size of the room. The bed was huge as was the whirlpool bath.
The food served was very reasonably priced for dinner and like the breakfast was made with local produce.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatbuckslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ormonde House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormonde House Hotel

Property: Ormonde House Hotel
Address: Ormonde House Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ormonde House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ormonde House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ormonde Hotel Lyndhurst
Ormonde House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing